We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Step Back Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Step Back Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 66: English reviews
Start your review of Step Back Inn
 Click to rate
New Mexico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Step Back Inn in Aztec very recently with a group of friends. My room, including the bathroom, was very comfortable, spacious and clean. The nice upstairs communal lobby and communal balcony with tables and chairs were used and appreciated by my group. Across the street is a grocery store and next door are several restaurants, one,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthwesternLass
Port Lavaca
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very nice and a step back in time. the 2nd floor is by stairs only which could be a problem for some. The cinnamon rolls are fabulous The dining room is something you need to take the time to read and look at all the pictures and china.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BuzzL
Susan Weckbaugh
Reviewed 20 October 2016

The bed, the bed, the bed. Found out it was a Serta Perfect Sleeper and I want one. Lovely antique decor, great shower. Didn't try the cinnamon buns but they smelled great. Very helpful and friendly staff. Sink a bit slow in draining; hope they remedy that per my suggestion. Felt like being in a home.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suporto
Management response:

Thank you for your very kind words and we hope you visit again. T. Blancett

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We stayed here one night in late September 2016. We read the TripAdvisor reviews about WIFI and other issues but had limited options so took a chance. It is the kind of small business we like to support. Though an older building, the hotel and room were very clean and well supplied, with a spacious bath and comfortable bedding. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
Management response:

Thanks for staying with us. Sorry you had issues with the back door. We haven't had that problem in the past. Thanks again.

Salida, Colorado
Reviewed 23 September 2016

My husband and I rode our motorcycles from Taos, NM to Aztec, NM on Monday and stayed at the Step Back Inn. We were greeted by Bobbie Joe and felt a home instantly. Much to my dismay I started feeling sick. So we decided to stay an extra day. On Tuesday my husband rode his motorcycle home, to Salida, CO,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BMWmotorcyclewoman
Management response:

So glad to help and thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your nice review. T. Bl

Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We were pleased with the comfort of the beds, plenty of hot water for the shower and enormous cinnamon rolls for breakfast. The staff was personable. They don't require credit cards for reservations. The place is older decor but well-maintained and very close to the Aztec ruins. If you don't want a hotel-chain experience, this place will work for you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cy2020
Management response:

Thanks for staying with us and the nice review.

Pleasant Grove, Utah
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Not much to say here. No pool or Jacuzzi, but a cozy little place. And it's right next to the Indian Ruins. So it makes it worth staying at. There is a really nice balcony off the 2nd floor. The place is riddled with pictures with historical information about the towns earlier residence.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hdanger
Management response:

Thanks so much for staying with us. T b

Reviewed 17 August 2016

A relative living in Aztec made reservations for me at this neat little inn for my visit. It is an old, but well kept building with clean, antique furniture in good repair. Each room bears the name of a family who settled the area. The inn has no wi-fi, which is in keeping with its historic character. Prices were reasonable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MT F
Management response:

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience of your stay and the mix up at check out. We do not charge for children and I can only think that with a couple of new employees that wires were crossed. I would like to refund your additional charges on the room. The no cinnamon rolls is new to me so...

Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewed 31 July 2016

When looking for a place to stay, we consider first who runs the establishment. Our preference is to support local business. The Step Back Inn fit that criteria, and that made our choice to stay there an easy one. I called to reserve a room a couple months ahead of the trip, and the process was simple. Prospective guests can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2WanderingSouls
Starkville, Mississippi, United States
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We have stayed here when visiting family in Aztec. It is an excellent base of operations within an easy walk to town. The rooms are clean and themed to early settlers of the valley. It is bigger than a B&B, but not a Chain motel. The staff are attentive and helpful. There is easy access from Highway 550. With fast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob C

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aztec
2.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Aztec Farmington North
18.6 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Farmington / Bloomfield
13.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Territorial Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 23 in Farmington
137 reviews
12.9 km away
Super 8 Bloomfield
Super 8 Bloomfield
#2 of 2 in Bloomfield
174 reviews
18.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step Back Inn is a Victorian decor hotel with each room named after an 1800's pioneer in the Animas River Valley. We are within walking distance to the World Heritage site..Aztec Ruins and the wonderful Aztec Museum on Main Street. There are seven eateries within walking distance as well as several trails and parks. We have a very safe and friendly community and there are lots of things to see and do while you are in our area. As you start your day we served homemade cinnamon rolls and fresh juice, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. No rubber eggs here. Our rooms are very quiet and clean and we know you will like your stay with us. Thanks, T. Blancett-owner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Step Back Inn

Address: 123 W Aztec Blvd, Aztec, NM 87410-1947
Region: United States > New Mexico > Aztec
Price Range: $130 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Step Back Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Step Back Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step Back Hotel Aztec
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Step Back Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Step Back Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“my room was small but nice. you do step back in time with the decor.”
BuzzL, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are about the same.”
Hdanger, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ground floor toward the front”
361bobc, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are great you can not go wrong with this one.”
141reginac, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“No view on the East side at least. Ample parking.”
texas77374, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5