We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hotel Redland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Hotel Redland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Redland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 98: English reviews
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Hotel Redland is located about 20 minutes from the Homestead entrance to the Everglades, and about an hour from Shark Valley. The owner was friendly at check-in. Our room was on the top level in the corner. It was clean and well-maintained, although it was a little dark in the evening. We could hear noise from the roads, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank barnet38
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing,, we enjoyed having you with us. we are so thrilled that you had a great experience! Please come back!

Reviewed 18 February 2015

Our experience at Hotel Redland was delightful! We were warmly greeted by the owners, felt comfortable in our moderately sized and well-maintained room, and given helpful direction for nearby places to eat (unfortunately, the highly rated Whistlestop restaurant was closed during the days we visited). The continental breakfast is simple but sufficient (breads, bagels, fresh fruits, cereal, and coffee); the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth D
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Redland we are so happy that you had such a wonderful time with us. We really appreciate our guests and you were delightful! best regards and please come back

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 12 February 2015

When we travel, we primarily want/need a place to sleep and clean up. We are usually out exploring the area and seeing the sights, not spending much awake time in our lodging. Room 202 was comfortable and clean. It is on the busy highway side of the building and traffic noise could be a problem for some. It did not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dnalsi N
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us. you will have to come back and sample some of our old fashioned home cooked food! Thanks again

Reviewed 12 February 2015

This is a very friendly hotel. The owners go out of their way to make you feel at home. The meals in the Whistlestop Restaurant in the hotel are homecooked, inexpensive and delicious. The bar has a very good IPA on tap. It's only 10 miles from the entrance to the Everglades National Park. We recommend rooms facing the back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review

So glad you had such a wonderful experience and loved the home cooking as well. Would love to have you back. Thanks for posting a review.

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2015

We weren't really expecting that much for the money to be honest, but we were still disappointed when we were shown our room. It was very small, and was so dark with the blinds drawn when we got in it felt damp. We opened the blinds (eventually as there was no mechanism to do this )to find filthy windows,a broken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimNevard
Key West, Florida
Reviewed 6 February 2015

My husband and I went up to Homestead to attend the rodeo. We live in Key West and every once in a while need to leave the island to get away from all of the winter noise and traffic here. We got the last room available at the Hotel Redland. Yes, it was small but for the two of us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BethieKW
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting . We are so happy you had a wonderful stay We are thrilled you loved our restaurant and had such a great meal. Please come back as key West is not that far away! best

Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 23 January 2015

Room is tiny, double bed very tiny ! Free wifi and parking. Breakfast included, but only a few fruits/yoghurts and orange juice, nothing special. Not far from Key Largo (30 min by car). The owner has a restaurant in the hotel but we didn't tried it (heard positive feedbacks though)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesvoyageurs2011
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Friendly staff. Good restaurant and bar. Hope you meet the mother and daughter bar staff. Very friendly and shared some good local advice. Excellent location for day trips to the everglades. The upstairs staff was great and went out of their way to show me a selection of rooms since we plan to return. This is an excellent base for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank goodie7415
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We got a nice welcome when we arrived. The hotel has an older look with a large restaurant. Staff was kind, he walked us up to the room. The room was normal size. It was clean but did not have a fridge or anything. Luckily they had an ice machine for the food in our cooler. Wifi didn't work that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kaat88
Reviewed 30 September 2014

If you are looking for a cheap hotel then this is your place. It is clean but that's where things end. This is an old hotel in a very old part of town. The rooms are very small and other than a T.V. there are no other amenities. Furnishings are old, bedding is old like staying at Grandmas. The continental...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K5692

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homestead
1.6 km away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#3 of 14 in Homestead
583 reviews
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
4.3 km away
Courtyard Miami Homestead
Courtyard Miami Homestead
#2 of 14 in Homestead
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
1.1 km away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Redland is an Historic hotel, built in 1904 it is the oldest building in The City of Homestead. We have 12 rooms 11 are located on the 2nd floor, the only hadicap room we have is located on the first floor. located inside the hotel on the first floor is a restaurant and bar called The Whistle Stop Restaurant. We are centraly located between The everglades National Park, The Florida Keys, and Biscayne National Park. This makes our place the perfect spot to stay as you explore South Florida. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hotel Redland

Address: 5 S Flagler Ave, Homestead, FL 33030-7328
Region: United States > Florida > Homestead
Price Range: $124 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Redland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redland Hotel Homestead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hotel Redland staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Illinois
8 days ago
Virginia Beach, Virginia
11 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Hotel Redland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms that have balcony access are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles johnnya515, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles on_the_road_CDN, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“211 (King Bed Room) was quiet but not totally private with the deck area.”
  • Slider behind curtain to deck area
  • deck view from room 211
  • Deck area view from room 211
  • Some older furniture
  • King bed
 of 5 bubbles scoutdreams, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“good quality, good service....not a chain hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jesnel, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room opened onto a patio, which was loud at night with patrons. Also, the curtains do not block view into the room.”
 of 5 bubbles D7335DPanthonyp, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay