We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Western Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Western Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 87: English reviews
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. The main thing about this place, it is exceptionally clean. It really stood out compared to the six other hotels I stayed at during my trip. Yes, the parking is a bit tight. The bed was comfortable and sheets were very soft. There rate was fair as this was definitely off season. Yes, I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaptainUncleRick
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write review about us.

Reviewed 29 September 2016

Overall my stay at the motel was fine, until the morning of checkout I sat on the plastic toilet seat lid to tie my shoes, which then cracked. 2 days later I found a charge on my credit card for $50. A new plastic toilet seat & lid costs $14.48 at the local Ace Hardware store. A bit unreasonable if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zach P
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

At the time of your check out ,you accidentally forgot to report the damage to the toilet. I'm wondering why ? When you called me after receiving the charge of $50.00 for the damage, you started to argue that the damage occurred under normal use, well if that was the case than we would have to replace every toilet seat...

Reviewed 28 September 2016

Basic accomdations, but clean, and the staff was friendly. The heater was a little noisy, but on the plus side it worked very well and kept the room comfortable. I was on a motorcycle trip and the Western keeps a supply of rags for cleaning bug splatter off your bike. I thought it was a good value and reasonably convenient...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard A
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of Western Motel. We try to accommodate and treat our guest as part of our family, therefor we go beyond our normal services.

Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed in room 305. The bed was comfortable, the carpet, bathroom, and linens were all very clean. The HVAC unit was quite, and modern. The décor of the room is dated, but this is nothing uncommon when staying in a MOTEL. Christina the owner is a jewel. She is very friendly, and kind. I am going to stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ihavethepower
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fine review.

Colorado
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I would expect a place like this to be slightly cheaper, the rooms are very basic, but it's clean and the bed is comfortable. Tight parking for large vehicles or trailers. You can walk to downtown, although it is a little ways. Nice park across the street. Breakfast was mostly a danish and some coffee. No pets.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda G
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our motel. For your info. are aware of the real estate taxes in downtown district ? perhaps it may may worth while to spend some time and research it. Our rates are based on the cost and that's the reason for the rates, which accidentally are lower than other Gunnison Motels.

Melbourne Beach, Florida
Reviewed 23 August 2016

But sometimes there is too much of a good thing, as soon as you enter the room there was a very strong odor of bleach, we left the door and windows open but nothing got rid of it, but the room was quite clean. Hot tub not working and the other down side is the shower, I could only get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kaylee4848
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

Thank for your review. We have instructed our housekeeping staff not to use to much bleach. Shower was repaired and the hot tub is shut down for winter season. The reason it was down because someone put panties into the inlet and burned down the motor. It's fixed now, but will not be open until next summer. Once again, thank...

Paulden
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Old world European style hospitality was extended to Doug and I (David) during our stay. The room was spotless. We appreciated the attention to detail. The beds were comfortable and the linens were spotless. Excellent continental breakfast and really good coffee. The owners take pride in their business and it shows by the way they maintain the property. Hope to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davidgI3608ZX
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our mgt. and staff take it a pride to keep this motel as a family friendly place. We appreciate our guest and their review's, which help us to correct any problems that we may mist. Our motto is guest in our motel is a family in our house.

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

The rooms are very small and they kind of have a lingering smell. The sheets were clean though. We didn't want to pay $200 for the holiday inn so we stayed here. It was $100 with tax and very basic. Free coffee in the morning. Would not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liza C
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. I'm sorry that you did not like our room's, so far you are the only one that complaint about the size of the room's but you liked the price. In your review you answered you comments about the price.

Langwarrin
Reviewed 5 August 2016

This is a budget motel situated in the middle of Gunnison. The friendly staff were very helpful sorting our booking mix up and the rooms were clean and comfortable. It is walking distance to the supermarket and right next door was Sherpa Cafe a Nepalise restaurant serving excellent food. This motel is worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your to review our motel.

Redding, California
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Never done this before because we usually take things in stride but we stayed two nights and got very little sleep. The beds are left over from the 17th century. The floor was more comfortable. They should have spent some of that remodel money on good beds. Will not stay next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1cent13
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that our beds did not meet your expectation. We change our bed's every four years and it just happen, that this spring, we changed all of our bed's. During the year we accommodate few thousands guest without one complaint.

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gunnison hotels
2.7 km away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
1.8 km away
Days Inn & Suites Gunnison
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
132 reviews
1.7 km away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#6 of 12 in Gunnison
169 reviews
0.0 km away
Quality Inn Gunnison
Quality Inn Gunnison
#9 of 12 in Gunnison
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Western Motel

Address: 403 E Tomichi Ave, Gunnison, CO 81230-2031
Region: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Price Range: $116 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Western Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Western Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Western Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Western Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 305 has a good bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Ihavethepower, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The street can be quite noisy so ask for a room in the back”
 of 5 bubbles Kaylee4848, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with best Wi-Fi reception if this is important to you”
 of 5 bubbles davidgI3608ZX, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lower floor close to the lobby where breakfast is served.”
 of 5 bubbles 486iann, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with only one bed are tiny.”
 of 5 bubbles astrobob, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay