We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 435: English reviews
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Restaurant staff is fantastic. Our server Amy, was very personable, friendly and helpful. She was great. David and Harold the cooks, made a great breakfast skillet. The hotel is very clean, modern and in a great location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank randallray
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your staying with us while visiting the area. Our Holiday Inn & Suites Team enjoys greeting our guest with a sincere smile and try to make every stay one to remember. Guests often comment on how delicious our breakfast is and are amazed how many healthy items...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My 1st complaint is simply that this hotel is not really downtown. It is not within walking distance! There is a shuttle to the center but it only runs 4 to 11 p.m. There are a lot of great activities in Asheville during the day. My 2nd complaint is that this hotel does not recognize elite members beyond thanking you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindbloom
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your staying with us while visiting the area. We our proud of exceeding the high expectations from our guests, IHG and our Holiday Inn & Suites Associates and will review procedures to ensure that we continue to exceed the high standard that are expected. We look forward...

Hurricane, West Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this Holiday Inn when we were traveling to Asheville. We thought we were sacrificing a the location for the price. We were wrong. Downtown is a mile away. A simple drive through a tunnel and you are at the Vance Monument. Here is what makes this hotel so awesome. From 4pm to 10:30pm, they offer a free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WildWonderfulWander
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your staying with us while visiting the area. Our Holiday Inn & Suites Team enjoys greeting our guest with a sincere smile and try to make every stay one to remember. We look forward to your returning to our hotel in the future. Until then Happy Travels.

Antioch
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I traveled down with a group to participate in an educational conference held off-site. The staff were very friendly and helpful upon our arrival. We received greetings as we left and when we returned. I did not take advantage of the breakfast since we had to be at our destination earlier than it was offered. The rooms were clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne E
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we truly appreciate your staying with us while visiting the area. Our Holiday Inn & Suites Team enjoys the opportunity to make everyone's stay one that they will remember. We look forward to your visiting us again soon...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Great 1 night stay at the Holiday Inn Asheville. Welcoming staff. Clean rooms, very spacious. Used the complimentary shuttle into downtown. Worked out perfectly well. The driver provided some useful tips for touring around. It's not a long walk either, the tunnel is definitely distinct. There are some fast food options nearby, perfect for quick eats. Booked through Express Deals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobS2011
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! i take pride in the fabulous team members we have and the true care they take with our guests! We hope to see you again when travelling to Asheville!

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 25 October 2016

This hotel is out of the downtown area and not surrounded by great scenery and the furnishings need to be updated...........BUT........Our stay at this hotel was GREAT. The staff here are the best and the hotel is spotlessly clean. The staff at the front desk are welcoming and helpful and go out of their way to answer questions or help....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dexter590
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you! What a great review of our hotel, the Holiday Inn & Suites. We look forward to assuring every guest has a pleasant stay and one to remember. Please visit us again when in the area... Thanks again and HAPPY TRAVELS!!!

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We stayed four nights here as Hurricane Matthew put a stop to our original holiday plans. Firstly the staff were very good to us and did their best to ensure we had a room during a very difficult time for us. We were in a suite which was spacious and clean and comfortable. The location was fine for us and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23betty
HotelManager2008, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our location. We certainly appreciate you mentioning our staff. We are delighted to hear that we could provide you with a great stay despite the circumstances of your travel. Thank you again for choosing us, and we hope you get a chance to visit Asheville again soon.

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Don't get discouraged by the terrible easement from the road...just pull in to the cracker barrel and you can get to the entrance. The rooms are very nice and clean. I stayed in a suite so it was extra nice!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coulomb67
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

You will feel right at home upon checking in... Our friendly Holiday Inn & Suites Associates love to make guests stays one to remember. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we look forward to you returning soon.... until then, happy travels.

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 29 September 2016

My husband and I have been on a two-week road trip through the southeastern U.S., and we stayed in another Holiday Inn Express property last week and were very happy with that experience. This hotel was such a disappointment. Advertising that they are "downtown" is a complete falsehood. They are at least a mile and a half away from the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Trencita_12
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

I am so sorry that we did not exceed you expectations during your recent stay. Our hotel description clearly states that we are 1.5 miles from the heart of downtown but if you did not see the description, I apologize. We also have complimentary shuttle service for our guest so they can go to downtown and not have to worry...

Virginia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

This was a below average stay for us. - Brought our 9 month year old and stayed for 3 nights. The room reeked of smoke when we checked in during the evening. Of course they had no other available rooms then and we had no choice but to stay. This seems absolutely unacceptable, especially at over $200 for that Saturday...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dispatch891
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Price Range: $158 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for an upgrade to a suite-they have plenty of them”
 of 5 bubbles lindbloom, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“604 was a great room.”
  • King Room
 of 5 bubbles WildWonderfulWander, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask the front desk which rooms provide the best mountain scenery for photos.”
 of 5 bubbles yvonnee962, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were room 305. Far away from elevator. Quiet”
 of 5 bubbles gritgirldery, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't expect any city or mountain views from this hotel. You may get a room that overlooks the lobby rooftop below (as mine did).”
  • The view out my window.
  • The high table that did not serve well as a desk.
 of 5 bubbles 974toma, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay