We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Aberdeen Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Aberdeen Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Aberdeen Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 74: English reviews
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2014

We stayed here last weekend with a group of 8 people. After reading all of the reviews I was nervous about Tom. I found Tom to be very nice and hospitable. He gave us recommendations on where to eat, tips on visiting the Biltmore and anything else that we asked. He was very accommodating and let us check in early... More 

Thank DKC88
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Reading these reviews, you have to wonder if people are so delicate, maybe they should just stay home? But I digress... Aberdeen Inn is located in a middle-class, non-HOA, non-cookie cutter neighborhood that you would find anywhere in the country. It is NOT a bad neighborhood. The Inn's grounds aren't manicured, but they are well maintained. The innkeeper Tom is....interesting.... More 

Thank Florida_kes
Thomas B, Owner at Aberdeen Inn, responded to this review

We thank these guests for a very candid review. Yes it is an old house and yes some of the conversion from single family to B&B done in 1978 is wearing thin. We have done some updating as time and money have permitted. The guests are right I do not wear well with all the guests but I am trying... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Tom the miserable "Innkeeper" should change his Mission Statement from - We want to always make our guests feel like it's your home away from home to We don't care! Our first impression of the Inn was a nasty phone call from Tom informing us we were late for check in and he wanted to go to bed (it was... More 

3 Thank Saladgirl1954
Thomas B, Owner at Aberdeen Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that the two guests did not like their stay at the Aberdeen Inn and obviously Tom. None of the food served to our guests is prepared in a microwave oven or bought already prepared. Yes I may prepare the food at 7:00 AM because there are going to be 12 for breakfast and yes I will... More 

Lebanon, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We went to the Aberdeen Inn on our anniversary, which was the least expensive of the B&Bs close to downtown Asheville. Our first experience with our host, Tom, was a little disappointing, but as we got to talk to him further, we found him to be very charming. Our breakfasts were truly "out of this world", and prepared very lovingly... More 

Thank Andrew L
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Aberdeen Inn sits in a not-so-nice neighborhood; however the grounds of the Inn are impeccable. There are flower boxes and roses, neatly trimmed lawns and a wrap around porch with comfortable furniture. The Inn is also very clean and our room was pretty. Tom, the Innkeeper, has a difficult personality that made breakfast time uncomfortable to say the least.... More 

2 Thank 974Sue
Thomas B, Owner at Aberdeen Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that Greg and Sue were upset with My (Tom's) banter. We do have a policy of availability for guests to have breakfast earlier than the normal breakfast hour. All we ask is to be told the night before. We chide guests who skip breakfast because we want them to receive all that they have paid for. As... More 

Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We wanted to see the Biltmore flowers in bloom, but found that most reasonable hotels were booked. Others wanted $300+ per night. We saw a couple of good reviews on Tripadvisor for the Aberdeen Inn, and decided to give it a try. I think that some of the reviewers who were put off by Tom, the owner, did not "get"... More 

Thank Nonny_12
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

here for a early xmas trip with the family and we rented 4 separate rooms. The rooms were adequate but a little cluttered for my taste and that really applies to whole place. The location was ok and it was clean enough. I thought the host was a little obnoxious. He bragged about his culinary skills, but I found his... More 

Thank Joe L
Thomas B, Owner at Aberdeen Inn, responded to this review

We are sorrythat these guests feel as they do. I do feel that the guests might have been offended by what was intended as humor. Obviously I missed and for that I apologize. I do hold Masters status as a chef and yes I am proud of my accomplishments over 44 years of cooking successfully. I do rtealize that you... More 

Green Bay, Wisc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I wish I would have read the reviews about Tom, the host, before booking. But even that would not have prepared us for the misadventure. We arrived in the late afternoon to a looked door and called him. When he answered the door he said "We woke him up, but he probably would help us anyway." Really? That was his... More 

3 Thank evildoug13
Thomas B, Owner at Aberdeen Inn, responded to this review

I do apologize to this guest. I did awake from a nap and certainly should have been friendlier. Yes I do probably talk to much but there legal and others matters of safety that must be covered and possibly they asked question that got met started. I was wrong in the discussions of myself. Guests are often chided when they... More 

Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed at Aberdeen Inn for 2 nights. This was my first visit to Asheville and to a small B&B. I was very happy with the Inn. My room was exactly as it looked on-line. The entire Inn was very clean. Loved the outdoor patio, and wrap around porch. Tom is a great cook! Loved the breakfast, cooking is Tom's... More 

Thank ShellyH501
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This was our first visit. We chose Aberdeen Inn because of the good reviews, and quite frankly, because they were offering a 25% off special. I was really surprised that they were the only ones listed on Tripadvisor that had any type of specials. Driving to the house, we were a little nervous about our choice, due to the sketchy-looking... More 

1 Thank gjslhs

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (31)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Room/Suite (8)
Bathroom (4)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#8 of 40 in Asheville
670 reviews
Historic Montford
Rankin House Inn
Rankin House Inn
#26 of 40 in Asheville
62 reviews
Princess Anne Hotel
#14 of 40 in Asheville
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albemarle Inn
#24 of 40 in Asheville
698 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Five Points
ASIA Bed and Breakfast Spa
ASIA Bed and Breakfast Spa
#12 of 40 in Asheville
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Aberdeen Inn

Address: 64 Linden Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1352
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Price Range: $172 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Bed Breakfast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aberdeen Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cottage was quite and comfortable, although I could update furnishings to coordinate.”
 of 5 bubbles lraborn, 5 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Can't remember the names of the two rooms with the balconies. But, they are not private. Guests can come through the main hallway door.”
  • room name
  • toilet and sink
  • tight squeeze, but not an issue
  • king size bed
 of 5 bubbles jamiekaty, 25 Jun 2015 | Read review
“The Rose Room was large, well equipped, and quiet during the time we were there. There were five other rooms occupied at the time.”
  • Rose Room canopy bed
 of 5 bubbles Nonny_12, 13 May 2014 | Read review
“I had Mountain View room, great view, larger room. Highly recommend it.”
 of 5 bubbles ShellyH501, 2 Oct 2013 | Read review
“I would suggest a room at the end of the hall. 2 of the rooms are at the top of the stairs, and the stairs are quite creaky, so you can hear every time someone goes up or down. Also, any noise from downstairs travels up to the top of the second floor, so you can hear most of the conversations in the foyer/sitting area.”
 of 5 bubbles gjslhs, 20 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5