We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
674 Biltmore Ave, Asheville, NC 28803-2513
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (322)
Room & Suite (63)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 29/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cedar Crest Inn
Updated 29/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#9 of 84 hotels in Asheville
Travellers' Choice
The Cedar Crest Inn is a bed and breakfast in Asheville, NC, that, going on 34 years in business is the longest running Asheville B&B. Feel free to read our many positive TripAdvisor reviews - we offer a safe, clean, convenient and an overall fun place to be - and this definitely shows in our stellar TripAdvisor reviews. Asheville, North Carolina has a lot to offer its' visitors. This city has incredible restaurants, a lifetime of outdoor activities, has been named Beer City USA 3 years running, and of course more arts and crafts than one could ever dream of. The great news our BnB boasts the best location to all there is to offer in this beautiful and vibrant city. Our Asheville B&B is on a meticulously manicured 3+ acre property located just three blocks from the entrance of the Biltmore Estate and the famous shopping and restaurants at Biltmore Village. Additionally, we are just one mile south of Downtown Asheville where restaurants, galleries, and shops
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
647Reviews0Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 479
  • 107
  • 37
  • 18
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kermit2945 wrote a review Yesterday
Charleston, South Carolina76 contributions32 helpful votes
It was the perfect weekend to experience the fall leaves changing, the crisp mountain air, visit Biltmore and more! The Cedar Crest Inn is located perfectly between the Biltmore Village and Downtown Asheville (walkable if you are that type as parking is limited in both areas). We chose the CCI as our lodging to keep with the PINK theme/tradition from our wedding night thru this 15th year anniversary - we started at the Palmer Home on 5 East Battery and then Palmer's Pinckney Inn (CHS) until both sold. CCI is a beautiful Victorian home that has seen many changes and the accommodations were great! We stayed in the house (Queen Anne Room) the first night and then the Cottage (Room 1) the second night. The only complaint I would have is the water pressure in the cottage is minimal. The breakfasts, wine happy hour and staff are amazing! Highly recommend to anyone visiting Asheville!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Sleep Quality
Ski1998 wrote a review Aug 2020
Mount Sterling, Kentucky46 contributions49 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This was a wonderful Mom’s getaway to see the Biltmore Estate for the weekend. We had a beautiful room here at the Cedar Crest Inn. Our room was called the Tower Room and it was at the top so you do have to go up several flights of stairs. Our room had a large King bed and a twin which was perfect for the three of us. There is a nice tv but we never used it and a nice size closet. The bathroom is up two stairs within the room but it is beautiful. There is no shower, but it does have a handheld shower head. There is however a beautiful claw foot tub. The staff is so nice and the breakfasts are wonderful even with all that Covid has brought us where restaurants are concerned. We ate both breakfasts out on the veranda and enjoyed the view and conversation. Please explore the grounds while you are there. The living areas with fire places are gorgeous and that staircase! Wow! We highly recommended Cedar Crest and I personally hope to return with my family.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Response from Kelly Thornton, General Manager at Cedar Crest Inn
Responded 15 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for the glowing recommendation! It was lovely having you ladies with us and the Tower Room is a delight for a party of 3 staying together. It is such a unique room as it is connected to the tower you see on the house. We look forward to hosting you and your family in the future!
Read more
WebmanPoconos wrote a review 17 Oct
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania218 contributions63 helpful votes
A Bed & Breakfast should not rely upon previous reviews when it explains poor service. We just celebrate significant birthdays and anniversaries with another couple and selected the Cedar Crest Inn because of the TripAdvisor rating. Unfortunately, the ratings were provided by guests before the Inn changed hands from a caring family to an Investment Group whose only interest is cutting costs and disappointing guests. The historic and beautiful building is still on Biltmore Avenue, but any trace of the warm, caring and homelike atmosphere is GONE. Now, the Cedar Crest Inn is all about budgets and not guest experiences. A traditional Bed & Breakfast prides itself on incredible breakfasts, the current owners pride themselves on singular breakfast choices that are tasty but small. The website describes breakfast as being two courses, sounds great --- the first course is a small blueberry muffin or a cup of fruit yogurt. The second course is a single scrambled egg, a single slice of bacon and a tiny biscuit. Please DON'T ask for another blueberry muffin or biscuit -- you are told that they only make one for each of the guests, just trying to cut costs. Now, we all know that when we have company over for breakfast we allow for an extra muffin, biscuit or bagel for our. guests -- NOT at the Cedar Crest Inn. When breakfast is done, you're left with an empty feeling because you had something between a grab-and-go breakfast and a McMuffin. We pointed this out to one of the staff who said "things changed when the new owners took over, they are now all about budgets." Our friends who were also at the Inn sent them an email of concern about the disappointing stay. The Cedar Crest Inn GM's response was, "we have great TripAdvisor ratings and, if you didn't like our Inn, please feel free to stay in a more traditional B&B when in Asheville in the future." Our friend, by the way, was a global director of special events for one of the nation's largest hotel chains -- traveled the world five-times over and worked with every hotel group in the world. So, PLEASE select a more traditional B&B or even the Residence Inn Hotel across the street from the Cedar Crest Inn when you are in Asheville.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Book at another B&B
See more room tips
Response from Kelly Thornton, General Manager at Cedar Crest Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your experience at Cedar Crest Inn and I am sorry that your expectations were not met. Cedar Crest Inn does not provide poor service. Our 10 plus years of great reviews and our highly experienced staff does indeed speak volumes to the service that we provide on a daily basis to all guests that choose to stay with us. As I addressed your travel mates, yes, we are privately owned and all of us here are incredibly happy to work with such a great company. All businesses operate within a budget. And that certainly does not come across in our food options. I have spoke to all of the Innkeepers and staff that you interacted with during your stay and the statements that you have made above are completely out of context. Breakfast seemed to be the only issue you experienced while staying with us and every attempt to offer other options was not accepted. It is rare that we ever receive unfair comments about our breakfast menu items, service, staff and ect. In speaking to your friends and realizing that there was little I could do after the fact to reconcile the experience , I simply referred them to the wonderful Bed & Breakfast Association that we are a members of. I sincerely hope that if you travel to Asheville in the future you will be able to find a more traditional B&B to better meet your expectations. Best wishes, Kelly
Read more
Joan A wrote a review 14 Oct
Pottstown, Pennsylvania1 contribution
This is NOT the place to stay in Asheville if you're looking for a lovely B&B experience. This is now owned by a corporation. Not a lovely "host on property" true B&B! One of the best parts of a true B&B is the sumptuous breakfast. This is truly not the case here. There is one item served - and they call it two courses. A blueberry muffin one morning was the first course and then a slice of quiche and small salad for the next. One day we were given a tiny biscuit, some eggs and 1 slice of bacon. And when we asked for another biscuit, we were told sorry, we only make one of everything per guest. Really!?! We did not pay the exorbitant price for a tiny room and a meager breakfast. This was to be our treat in Asheville. It turned out to be a huge disappoint. My advice - find a real B&B in Asheville. Apparently, this is now owned by a corporate entity . NOT a true B&B at all. It's run by a greedy corporation and not inn owners. One more thing - they tell you masks are required. However, this was not enforced at all.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Room Tip: Corporate owned - not a true B&B
See more room tips
Response from Kelly Thornton, General Manager at Cedar Crest Inn
Responded 1 week ago
As I have already addressed you privately, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Cedar Crest Inn is an Inn with a main house, carriage house and guest cottage which classifies us as an Inn, due to capacity of the guests we can accommodate. Yes, we are privately owned and we are honored to have such a supportive entity to grow our business. As with any business, it is impossible to please everyone. Our staff strives daily to create a memorable experience for each and everyone of our guests. Cedar Crest Innkeepers and staff always go out of our way to correct any issues guests may have during their stay. Had we been aware of your disappointment, we would have certainly been able to hear you out. In speaking with my staff, every attempt to please your party failed. Our staff and guests most certainly adhere and enforce the mask mandate set by the city of Asheville. Guests are allowed to be unmasked if eating or drinking in the common areas. We do not have issues with anyone following these rules. As you can see from the years of fantastic reviews, that this is solely your opinion. I do hope that if you visit Asheville in the future, you will find the accommodations that suit your particular taste and requirements.
Read more
Raleighdiva wrote a review 13 Oct
1 contribution
This is definitely the best place to stay in Asheville if you want to experience the whole Biltmore vibe without the biltmore prices. Clean, charming, beautiful, and homey. Would definitely choose a small business like this over corporate hotels any day .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
US$183 - US$235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
1891 cedar crest hotel asheville
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsAsheville
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cedar Crest Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Cedar Crest Inn?
Nearby attractions include New Morning Gallery (0.7 km), Cathedral Of All Souls (0.8 km), and Biltmore Village (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cedar Crest Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Cedar Crest Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Cedar Crest Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cedar Crest Inn?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cedar Crest Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Biscuit Head Biltmore, Fig Bistro, and The Corner Kitchen.
Are there any historical sites close to Cedar Crest Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Biltmore (3.6 km), Grovewood Village (5.4 km), and Thomas Wolfe Memorial (2.8 km).