Charlesmark Hotel

Charlesmark Hotel

Hotel Entrance
Traveller (236)
Room & Suite (184)
Charlesmark Lounge at the Charlesmark Hotel
Dining (26)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#62 of 96 hotels in Boston
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Bar / lounge
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Boston Logan International Airport
Worcester Airport
66.1 km
See all flights
Copley
1 minBoston T
1,060Review12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 442
  • 418
  • 109
  • 60
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ilaria B wrote a review Aug 2022
Pistoia, Italy
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room is nice and clean. The location is perfect to visit Boston. Very kind staff.
A simple breakfast is included in the room rate, just pasty/bagel and coffee, but the service is very poor: first day there was only one pasty and no spoons, no plates, no napkins, no sugar, second day same bagel and 2 pasties not fresh; nobody takes care of breakfast servister neither waiters nor receptionist. We reported to the reception desk as well during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AdamL-Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 24 Sept 2022
We are working with the Cafe that manages the Coffee & Pastry/Bagel we have in the morning. Thank you very much for your feedback so we can get better for the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Niamh W wrote a review Apr 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Picked this hotel for the location and price and was very happy with my stay. The location in Back Bay was ideal for my first trip to Boston, easy walking distance to Downtown and a minute from Copley T station so very handy when you are all walked out and need to get the subway back. The reception staff were all very helpful & friendly, in particular the delightful Lily, who I met one evening. The staff behind the bar, who serve breakfast by handing out your complimentary pastry were sadly not up to the same standard. The rooms very a little on the small side, but perfectly adequate and in honesty I rarely go on holiday to spend time in my hotel room. It would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room but I know this isn’t standard. Overall I was very satisfied & would return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 12 Jun 2023
Stanleytic, Thank you for your kind words and great feedback. We are super glad to hear about your great experience with Lily. We will pass on your feedback about the Cafe team members. When you do get a chance to come back to the area for your 2nd (and 3rd) trip to boston you can call and book directly with our front desk team we can provide an extra discount as a returning guest that booked direct. +1 617-247-1212
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carsandquilts wrote a review Oct 2021
New York City, New York
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first trip to Boston and we wanted to able to walk to all the tourist attractions. This hotel offers that, however, the hotel is very bare bones, no lobby or lounge. Breakfast was just coffee, juice and breakfast bars, nothing else, so we had to go our for breakfast. Our room faced the street and was very noisy with trucks unloading food to restaurants in the middle of the night. Lots of homeless sleeping across the street at the public library and some nights they were very loud. The room was very basic, no dresser drawers for storage, just shelves. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom also very efficient and clean. The staff were very friendly and let us store our bags at checkout so we could spend the last day in town. Overall a good experience but next time will stay further out to save money and take the T (very good subway system) into town.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: rooms facing street very noisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2022
carsandquilts, Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback, I'm happy to let you know that after some renovations we have a great cafe that operates our lounge and bar and has a full sit-down menu in the attached restaurant (next door). The Landwer Cafe also now serves our guests fresh pastry and coffee in the morning, and offers a discount on all other menu items to our guests. I'm happy to hear that our staff were friendly and were able to help you with your luggage. As a note we do have rooms that are less costly and do not directly face the street so if you would like to consider one of our Standard rooms, or one of our Cabin rooms instead of our Queen rooms you may have less city noises. Thanks again for staying with us and if you do decide to come back into the city and stay with us again, give us a call at 617-247-1212 and we'll make sure to give you our best direct booking rate.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eum_12 wrote a review Jul 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The receptionist didn’t even bothered to look to us in the face. Zero sympathy or empathy, clearly we were disturbing her “peace” by checking in. No explanations about breakfast, wifi, check in/out times….if you want to now and you don’t ask, she won’t tell. Room small, smelly, and with a tiny double bed. Noisy in the night as was facing the service street in the back of the building. Complimentary breakfast is included but was a real deal to understand how and to whom to request it without being charged. The location is PERFECT, everything has a bright side. In any case I just pray that I will never be charged what I have been charged for a place like this. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AdamL-Innkeeper, Manager at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 29 Jul 2022
I'm sorry to hear your experience wasn't what you expected or what we strive to provide. If you would like to reach out directly to myself or our other manager, please feel free as we would like to have more details so we can use to further ensure that other guests don't have the same experience you did. We really do hope all of our guests enjoy their stay and would like to ensure that if you were to ever come back you would be happy, again we'd love to hear some more details directly from you so we can help make it better for the future. I've included my email, the operation manager's email, and our main guest service email below. adam@charlesmarkhotel.com / mike@charlesmarkhotel.com / info@charlesmarkhotel.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marina C wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is situated directly across from the Boston Public Library, in the heart of Boston, only a short walk from Back Bay station. The rooms are renovated and very comfortable.

The front desk staff were absolutely amazing. Friendly, and genuinely eager to make our stay as nice as possible.

When the bar opens back up after Covid, this is one of those hotels you *want* to hang out, relax and unwind in. I did just that, walking to some fantastic places to eat.

BOSTON IS BACK ☺️
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2022
Mariana, Thank so much for the kind words about our front desk team! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in the area and got to have some relaxing and unwinding time throughout the area. Hopefully we'll see YOU back soon! When you do come back don't forget to call our great front desk team at 617-247-1212 and book with them for the best returning guest direct discount.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kathleen c wrote a review Jan 2024
Asheville, North Carolina
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I would like to begin with the positives. The location is great, if you want to be in the heart of Back Bay. Two of the front desk staff, Johann and Lilly were top notch professionals, and took extra care of my concerns. Although two other women (don't know names), appeared that they would like to be anywhere else but at the front desk. One who checked me in, was aloof and impersonal. Another, I will site later.

I want to be transparent. I worked in public relations in the hospitality business for over 30 years. I represented high end luxury properties and destinations but I knew I was not staying at a luxury hotel so of course my expectations were much lower. Having said that, nothing is more important than the front desk experience, no matter what the rate. Johann and Lilly (and one other gentleman I only saw twice) were exceptional and they belong in the hospitality business, others do not.

I stayed a total of three nights, my first two nights were interrupted by constant banging. Lilly did all she could do find the source of the problem but to no avail. It was determined after two nights of this that it was construction next to the hotel which the City of Boston allows from 7 am to 12:30 am. Johann moved me to another room, not fun to move everything for one night but I was exhausted. He couldn't have been more accommodating and did say they probably should have moved me sooner. My previous room was much smaller, neither the TV nor stereo worked and the view was on of the brick wall out of the window. But I never said anything about this because the noise was a much bigger problem. The carpet on the third floor outside the elevator was in dismal shape, still, sleep was all I wanted. When I returned to my new room at the end of the day, the main light did not work, then two men were at my door, assigned to my room. When I called the front desk (this is the other person) she apologized about assigning my room to others but did nothing about the light. I then received an email from her that I received days before confirming my arrival date. When I replied that I had been there for three days she said they had adjusted the rate (it was $16 lower than the rate - how they determined that number I have no idea, I should have been comped at least one night). So instead of bothering to send a new email she took an old one, never changing the date, subject line, content explaining the room rate change - she should find another job. Thank you Lilly and Johann, sorry, I won't see you there again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 18 Jan 2024
Hello kcasheville2016, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback about your recent stay at the Charlesmark Hotel. We genuinely appreciate your insights and apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your visit. We're glad to hear that you found the location great and that Johann and Lilly provided you with exceptional service. However, we're truly sorry for the inconveniences and disruptions you faced during your stay, including the construction noise, room changes, and issues with the room and lighting. Your comments about the front desk staff are valuable, and we will use them for training and improvement. We take your feedback seriously and will work diligently to address the issues you've raised to ensure a better experience for our future guests. We truly appreciate your understanding, and if you ever reconsider staying with us in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly at 617-247-1212 for personalized assistance and arrangements.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stanleytic wrote a review Mar 2023
Rufford, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The big positive of this hotel for us was its location. Back Bay is such a great base for exploring Boston, it’s close enough to the centre to walk but it’s also opposite Copley T Station so you can get anywhere easily if tired after a days walking, as we often were! It’s got a very laid back vibe and there are great bars and restaurants nearby.

Other positives were the reception staff, all very helpful and friendly. Slightly less friendly was the lady behind the bar in the morning, we were told in no uncertain terms we were only allowed one pastry even though we hadn’t asked for more than one! Breakfast at the main cafe was really good, though you have to pay, you do get 20% off.

The room and bed was comfortable, the shower was great and the temperature was fine. The downsides were not a lot of wardrobe space, there was no in room coffee making facilities (meaning I had to face the grumpy lady in the morning and got scowled at when I asked if I could have a larger cup from behind the bar rather than the small cup provided!!) and the TV wasn’t great. However, they do provide a huge library of DVD’s and VHS (back to the 80’s!) that can be borrowed presumably. Being a boutique hotel I guess the rooms differ so maybe this was just the case for our room.

However, those were minor things and we definitely enjoyed our stay, I’m sure there are better hotels around Back Bay but not at the rate we paid. We didn’t spend a lot of time in the hotel so unless you are specifically looking for a hotel experience, this is a good choice.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 12 Jun 2023
Stanleytic, Thank you for your kind words and great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and the convenient location, staff, and comfortable beds. We will pass on your feedback about the Cafe team members. We are planning an update of our TVs in our smaller room types so when you come next time that should be an improvement to look forward to. When you do get a chance to come back to the states if you call and book directly with our front desk team we can provide an extra discount as a returning guest that booked direct. +1 617-247-1212
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marlon M wrote a review Feb 2024
McKinney, Texas
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was very clean and right in the middle of Copley Square. Easy access to metro and walking distance to many of Boston’s beautiful sites. Well worth it. It’s better to have a room for 2 people, but we had 3. One guest used a pull out futon which wasn’t very comfortable. The house keeping staff was very responsive to any requests we had.

The coffee and pastries are okay. Not the best but good enough.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 25 Feb 2024
Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you appreciated our clean facilities and prime location in Copley Square. We apologize for the discomfort with the pull-out futon for the third guest and are glad to hear our housekeeping staff was helpful. For your next visit, please call us at 617.247.1212 for a special discount. We look forward to hosting you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hernando D wrote a review Oct 2021
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Promoted as a chick boutique, it felt like a way overpriced, deceptively marketed budget motel. The only good thing was the location (excellent). Otherwise: small room, dated furniture and dirty looking carpet, dark hallways, small reception with amateur attendants, and room cleaning only upon request.
The so called continental breakfast was a joke (see picture).
I do not recommend for the price they charge.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2022
Hjdiazesq, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. Our rooms are smaller than most suburban cookie-cutter hotels, we do our best to ensure they are functional and have all the amenities you would expect in moden hotel. Our website describes our rooms as "Very stylish and functional but not large". As many may know the city of boston (and the state in many cases) had some restrictions on what we can serve for breakfast during the pandemic. Unlike many of our competitors who removed all food items we wanted to get our guests started for the day with something. If you can provide us with some details (feel free to call me) on how we could better set your expectations we would be happy to talk with you as we try to be very honest in what photos we post, and how we describe our product on our website. For example our website listed exactly what items we could serve for breakfast and what was included in the room. Thanks again for your feedback, if you end up coming to stay in the city again feel free to call me and I'll do my best to make sure you don't feel deceived again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KDHC wrote a review Sept 2021
Tavernier, Florida
1.0 of 5 bubbles
1 out of 5. We check in to learn that the bar and restaurant was under renovation. The first room the air did not work. When we check in the temp was 74. It increased to 75. We went out for dinner and ask the front desk rep to look into it. When we returned 4 hours later the temp was 78 degrees - the woman at the front desk was gone.

The man at the front desk quickly move us to another room and apologized for the renovation and lack of disclosure.

Very disappointing…..can’t wait to see what the free breakfast looks like tomorrow. Stay tuned…..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be honest about the condition of the property
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adam Lombard, Innkeeper at Charlesmark Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2022
KDHC, Sorry that your stay was less than awesome. I'm glad that the 2nd agent was able to resolve the issue and made sure that you had a room that was fully working the way we expect it to. I'm also happy to let you know that Cafe Landwer has completed their build out and are fully operational at the bar, the lounge and the attached restaurant next door. All our guests get a discount, and they also now serve our included breakfast items. If do ever want to return free free to call me and I'll do my best to ensure you have a better experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim L asked a question Jan 2023
London, United Kingdom28 contributions22 helpful votes
Is there an elevator?
Answer from Adam L
2 helpful votes
Yes, there is an elevator.
Tyler C asked a question Jul 2018
Saco, Maine43 contributions47 helpful votes
What's the parking situation at this hotel?
Answer from Leah R
35 contributions61 helpful votes
There’s no parking, but there is parking on side streets or a parking garage.
maple247 asked a question Jun 2017
Vermont USA13 contributions9 helpful votes
What is the closest T stop and how far is it from the hotel?
Answer from stringer13
Dennisville, New Jersey9 contributions2 helpful votes
It is right across the street. The hotel is in an excellent location.
Answer from upstny
Vestal, New York33 contributions18 helpful votes
What's so "premium" about it? I got a room on an upper level with a window facing a brick wall. It was quiet, but even facing the brick wall, there was limited light. It was one of their least expensive rooms, maybe because it was so small....but it was still pretty quiet.
Answer from Brenda L
Apollo Beach, Florida105 contributions24 helpful votes
We stayed there last October. Took the Back Bay Logan Express which is bus transport and operated by the city from the airport to Copley Square which is where the hotel is located. Great, inexpensive way to get to the hotel; only $5 per person. The subway system is great to get around town but to get to the cruise port, we took a cab. Not very expensive.You would have to take the subway and bus to get to the port from the hotel. Great little boutique hotel. We enjoyed our stay there. We got to the hotel before check in time and they took our luggage so we could go sight seeing and it was in our room when we returned.
FarAway559486 wrote a tip Apr 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Call the hotel directly for your best rate"
Read full review
carsandquilts wrote a tip Oct 2021
New York City, New York41 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"rooms facing street very noisy"
Read full review
KDHC wrote a tip Sept 2021
Tavernier, Florida12 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be honest about the condition of the property"
Read full review
FRS wrote a tip May 2019
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Location is amazing and in the middle of the action. My basement room had no windows and was smelly."
Read full review
Dubinwales wrote a tip Jan 2019
39 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room at the front great to watch the world go by"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Boston area.
PRICE RANGE
S$356 - S$574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
charlesmark hotel boston
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsBostonBack Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHARLESMARK HOTEL: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 423 Photos (Boston, MA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Charlesmark Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Charlesmark Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Boston Public Library (0.08 km), Back Bay (0.09 km), and Newbury Street (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Charlesmark Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Charlesmark Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Charlesmark Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Charlesmark Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Charlesmark Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sorellina, Atlantic Fish Co, and The Friendly Toast.
Are there any historical sites close to Charlesmark Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bites of Boston Food Tours (1.2 km), The Printing Office of Edes & Gill (2.7 km), and Old North Church & Historic Site (2.7 km).
Is Charlesmark Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Boston HotelsBoston Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BostonHotels near Charlesmark Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire