We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
10 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$389
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/08/22
Expedia.com
US$389
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/08/22
Trip.com
US$380
View deal
Hotels.comUS$389
TravelocityUS$389
Agoda.comUS$389
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (846)
360
Panoramas (73)
Room & Suite (792)

About

#30 of 97 hotels in Boston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Discover a hotel that is throughly Boston in all the right ways, Hotel Commonwealth blends urban vibrancy with unscripted hospitality to create a bold definition of luxury right in Kenmore Square. In the center of it all this hotel is near Boston University, House of Blues, as well as the city's most prominent medical and technology areas. From spectacular rooms & suites, to impressive event spaces and expansive outdoor terraces the stylish and sophisticated brilliance of this Boston Hotel shines. This Back Bay hotel features 245 guest rooms and suites that provide guests luxurious comfort and unparalleled service. Amongst it's inventory of 23 suites are six signature suites, each with a bold vision, a bit of local flavor, and an eye for detail. Hotel Commonwealth is proud to be the only official hotel of the Boston Red Sox.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand films
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
43Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
26Attractionswithin 0.5 km
5260Reviews46Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,023
  • 864
  • 235
  • 93
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Robin A wrote a review 1 Aug
3 contributions
My eldest son and I visit Boston every summer for Patriot’s training camp and always head to Boston to catch a Sox game. We have stayed at the Commonwealth every year. It never disappoints! Nick at the check in counter made visit extra special by solving a Pats autograph mystery for us! Thank you Nick for your amazing kindness and generosity!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ali DeMilia, Other at Hotel Commonwealth
Responded 1 week ago
Nick IS wicked awesome; we couldn't agree more! We appreciate your loyalty over the years and look forward to many more visits.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David S wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
I was scheduled for a convention at Hynes in back bay. Commonwealth was the perfect place to stay! The Green line just outside the door made it easy to do business, yet stay in a clean, comfortable and perfect room. Perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ali DeMilia, Other at Hotel Commonwealth
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for this wonderful feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
barranqtraveler wrote a review Jul 2022
Barranquilla, Colombia77 contributions79 helpful votes
Good hotel but some services are missed. They don’t offer a restaurant service at breakfast, rather they send room service for the purpose, which is very uncomfortable as the rooms are not equipped to have breakfast. On the other hand, I found the room to be a bit noisy as it overlooked a highway. Service was good, tough. I would stay again if a good rate is offered
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Mulkern, Owner at Hotel Commonwealth
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We certainly hope to reinstate an additional breakfast option soon. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to exceeding your expectations in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SLKspingirl wrote a review Jul 2022
Texas513 contributions220 helpful votes
I was disappointed in this visit. The lobby and elevators looked beat up. The room was gray and sterile not “luxury” as advertised. Biggest complaint, no coffee maker in the room. I like to make a coffee in the morning and a tea at night. Coffee was offered on the second floor in the AM and I was not the only person there in my PJs to get a coffee. Just put coffee makers in the room. Good location if you’re going to Fenway but otherwise, I see no reason to go back. Nothing special.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Mulkern, Owner at Hotel Commonwealth
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We will certainly use this feedback to improve the areas you mentioned.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary W wrote a review Jul 2022
Stony Brook, New York15 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel Commonwealth Google review summary 4.5 Excellent 1,335 reviews Rooms 4.0 Location 4.4 Service 3.5 What guests are saying "Great service, location, rooms, super comfortable beds and great pillows." "On almost all occasions staff refused to bring my delivery upstairs." "Staff is warm and friendly and Eastern Standard was great for food and drinks!" More Families 4.4 Couples 4.2 Business 4.2 Solo 4.3 Priceline 9/10 · 311 reviews Trip.com 4.6/5 · 38 reviews Reviews Search reviews People often mention G Walsh 2/5 a day ago on Google I will admit I was fooled after staying here once before during the off season in the Red Sox baseball room, which as a baseball fan was pretty cool. We planned this trip to come back to town for a game at fenway and I figured why not go for one of the more upgraded fenway park suites and I went with the best available fenway suite they had. This was a completely disappointing experience and it Feels like I was robbed. Besides being a short walk to the ballpark I can't think of another reason I would stay here again. This much more expensive and upgraded sweet have little to no tie into the Red Sox or fenway park except that you could see fenway park across the highway from the balcony. The room esthetically looks nice and everything but when you sit on this big beautiful balcony that you have there is no way to watch the baseball game whether on a television or listen to it on some sort of broadcasting audio system and connect into the ballgame atmosphere-basically making it nothing more than just a balcony overlooking a highway. They charge an amenities fee but they were no amenities provided. The suite had absolutely nothing to offer. I even had to call downstairs for bedding. There is no coffee maker, no microwave, no iron etc... nothing that you would expect in a regular hotel room of a much less price. Now you can get these items if you call downstairs and ask for each and everything that you need. But when you pay a mortgage payment for a room for 2 nights you shouldn't have to do that, that's part of the luxury experience. Everything you need should be present and readily available in the room without having to make calls and wait for someone to come in and out of the room. The shower functionality was a little weird too. Save your money and stay.somewhere else. Totally not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Mulkern, Owner at Hotel Commonwealth
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read about your experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly L wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Superb location to walk to Fenway. Everyone from valet, bellmen and front desk was on point! "S" ( super employee:) was so lovely and always smiling. He was able to not only help with luggage but manned the front desk to check us out! We will return!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Mulkern, Owner at Hotel Commonwealth
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to your return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jrmag2 wrote a review Jul 2022
Fort Collins, Colorado3 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed here for 7 days and we could not have been happier! The hotel is so conveniently located next the T line, BU, and Newberry St. which is lined with excellent shops, restaurants, and beautiful buildings. Our room was very spacious, clean, and modern. The bathroom was incredibly large and the water pressure was the best we've ever experienced. ALL the staff ( the bellhop (S), the doormen, and esp. the front desk (esp. Nick & Jeff) were incredibly friendly, helpful, and accommodating. They were able to let us check in at 6:30am (bc we flew in on a red-eye) and let us check out late til 2pm (and even kept our luggage late so we could spend more time in the city before our flight in the evening). They even provided a huge roll-out bed and microwave in our room within minutes of our request (at no charge). And to top it all off, Nick was able to get us reservations at a very popular sushi restaurant for a party of 7 on a Saturday night when there had been none available. This hotel and its staff are an absolute gem and we highly recommend it! We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Room Tip: Corner rooms on the higher floors are more spacious and have the best views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Mulkern, Owner at Hotel Commonwealth
Responded 3 weeks ago
Best in Boston? We couldn't agree more! Thank you for this great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sjuhawks19 wrote a review Jun 2022
North Wales, Pennsylvania15 contributions11 helpful votes
Only stayed for a night, but the hotel is clean, very up to date in amenities, and the staff was absolutely wonderful. The check-in was great, the man helping us went out of his way to make sure my kids felt welcome and excited (we were going to a Red Sox game that night). The beds were comfortable, room was big, and we had a view of Fenway which was really nice. We ordered breakfast in the room the next morning and it was excellent as well. You also can't beat the location if you are going to a Red Sox game. My kids want to go back, and we will definitely stay at this hotel when we go to Boston again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Mulkern, Owner at Hotel Commonwealth
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to read about your experience and look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andreaQ3281BC wrote a review May 2022
New York City, New York4 contributions3 helpful votes
We are still at the hotel, checking out tomorrow after a 4-night stay. Prices higher than usual as it was graduation time at Boston colleges and universities, $400-$500 per night during our stay. For that, you basically get nothing — no robe or slippers, disposable plastic cups wrapped in plastic, old towels, no mini bar or snacks, no piece of chocolate or turndown, no in hotel restaurant or even buffet or self serve breakfast options. (and no place to eat nearby, a Dunkin Donuts and 7-11) are only walkable options) Not even paper and a pen on the desk or bedside table!! Totally no-frills! Two bottles of water were provided on our first night but every night after we’ve had to call down and ask for water to be brought to the room. I Ieft a note today for cleaners asking for water bottles to be left in the room and there were none when we returned. Despite having recently been renovated, the rooms are dark, look tired and cheaply furnished with dirty caulk, wallpaper peeling in spots, furniture nicked. Cheap light and plumbing fixtures on par with a Days Inn or similar 2-star property. Valet and front desk staff were nice but otherwise had no interaction with anyone. Lobby has been spruced to create a modern vibe but, in my opinion, the space is uninviting and soulless. Trying to look like a Kimpton hotel but they don’t pull it off. Definitely won’t be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Mulkern, Owner at Hotel Commonwealth
Responded 31 May 2022
My apologies for your poor experience and greatly appreciate your detailed feedback which will help address these issues
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ira C wrote a review May 2022
Dover, Vermont206 contributions122 helpful votes
I stayed at the Commonwealth about 10 years in a room overlooking Fenway Park, it was amazing. But not this time…..We went to the Red Sox- Astros game and booked a room advertised as overlooking Fenway, my wife was very excited as she had heard my praises of the view for all these years. Opening the door we had a very different experience. The room was on the third floor and our Fenway view, well as you can see by the photos was bad…no view of the stadium as before, all we really had was a view of the graffiti and stadium lights! The view did not at all match the photo on the hotel’s web site nor was there any disclaimers that some rooms would have primarily thruway/graffiti views. Very very disappointing. The staff, especially the valets, were very helpful. We did ask for a coffee machine per other postings (none are in the room) and it arrived quickly. Not sure we will stay here when we come back for an August baseball game, there are other options close by.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Mulkern, Owner at Hotel Commonwealth
Responded 31 May 2022
Thank you for your feedback
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$386 - US$684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
commonwealth hotel boston, hotel commonwealth
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsBostonKenmore / Fenway / Kenmore
NUMBER OF ROOMS
245
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Commonwealth
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Commonwealth?
Nearby attractions include Fenway Park (0.3 km), Key To Amaze (0.06 km), and Commonwealth Avenue Mall (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Commonwealth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Commonwealth?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Commonwealth?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Commonwealth?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Commonwealth?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bleacher Bar, Cask'n Flagon, and Hojoko.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Commonwealth?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Commonwealth?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Commonwealth?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Commonwealth offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Commonwealth?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.