We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Vyvant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Vyvant
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

649 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vyvant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 578: English reviews
Sycamore, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

This is a quaint boutique hotel that is right next to the Little Italy section of San Diego. I'd stayed here a while back, and returned for business in the area. It's a very nice place. Parking is on the street- just identify which overnight can work for you due to local street cleaning. There are plenty of nearby options,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Chuck - That you for your compliments about our quaint inn, and Denise and her team. It was great to have you stay with us again, almost all our guests are repeat guests, and we love welcoming them back. Thanks for the business. David. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Perhaps not on this site, but on Google and Booking.com the hotel is advertised as having 'free parking'. WARNING: THE HOTEL HAS NO PARKING. Also, it's in a bit of a sketchy area, so if you decided to try a bit of street parking, it's very possible your car will be broken into or stolen. So, if you need to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Otto F
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Otto - There is free parking in the area, plus pay parking. Third party web site don't provide a lot of options as to how we check boxes for our listings. In no way do we ever intend to imply that he hotel owns its own parking. While there are always risks involved - even in a hotel lot, the... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Great hotel with welcoming friendly people. In good area near to many restaurants and bars in little Italy. Room very comfortable and clean, nice continental breakfast. Staff very helpful when we had a problem with car. Nice outside area to relax in .

Helpful?
Thank 32Lilly17
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Lilly - yeah - thanks for your kind words about our friendly team in San Diego. We so enjoy meeting guests like you! Glad we could assist with you car problem and get you pointed in the right direction. We appreciate your business. David. More 

1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Get in and find out. It´s extraordinary. Awesome. We loved the style and and the flair. The staff was very, very friendly. Be aware that you have a nice, single bedroom – but you have to share the bathroom with the room next door. Don´t worry: bathroom is separated.

Helpful?
Thank Harald H
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Harald, thank you for your review, we love that you loved the hotel! Thank you also for your kind words about Denise and her team. They enjoyed having you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you again next time! David. More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is very modern, clean and comfortable. The shared bathroom is also clean and well kept. I wouldn't hesitate staying here for a short break again. The location is within a mile or so from the harbour front and it is very close to the Little Italy part of the city. Hotel parking isn't available however on street parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank CharlotteKirsch
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Charlotte, thank you for taking time to review our hotel. While most room types have a private bath our economy rooms do share a bathroom which we strive to maintain. We're glad you enjoyed your break, and look forward to welcoming you back the nice time you take a well deserved "San Diego break". More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

The pictures are very misleading. Our rooms were very dirty, filled with fruit flies and mosquitoes. The bathroom and rooms smelled like cleaner in a stuffy room, the floors turned our feet black, and there was almost no room for us to walk anywhere. The only upside about our stay was that the beds were pretty comfortable and there were... More 

Helpful?
Thank iqueenxme
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about the hotel. It certainly is not our intent to mislead any guest with photography. If my room smelled of chemicals, and had flying bugs - I too would be concerned. I apologize for your experience and will ask Denise, our General Manager to research those concerns immediately. We are located adjacent to the I-5... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Great place to stay when visiting San Diego! What a convenient location! It is within walking distance of the Harbor, Downtown, Gaslamp District, Seaport Village, etc. When we checked in Denise went out of her way to make us feel at home, even spent the time to explain how to use the Keurig machine to me, plus she is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank aztrose
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Dear Aztrose - Thank you for your kind words about Denise, our General Manager. I'm so pleased she took the time to welcome you and explain everything you needed to know! We are glad that you've found your "new place to stay" in San Diego, and we look forward to welcoming you back on a regular basis. David. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Pro: I really liked the vibe this place has. Casual and relaxed and very welcoming. The location was great and very accessible to Little Italy and the waterfront. The room was spacious and it even had a little kitchenette area. And cute little breakfast served in the morning. I seriously want to rent a room here. Cons: spacious room due... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mikey B
DSCornish, General Manager at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Mikey - Thanks for your constructive feedback. I will ask Denise to check the refrigerator and Keurig machine. We've never experience either issue before and will resolve ASAP so other guests are not inconvenienced. Glad you appreciated the room size, breakfast and location. Thank you for staying with us. David. More 

1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Great location. Everything is walking distance for nice restaurants in the heart of little Italy. Smaller room but clean and has a kitchenette to make up for it. No cooking stove though. Denise made us feel at home and she deserves a raise! great hotel if you dont want to spend ALOT of cash for a hotel stay. My only... More 

Helpful?
Thank sean s
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Sean - Thank you for your kind words about Denise, our General Manager! Hotel VyVant truly is in such as great "walking distance" for everything in Little Italy. We truly appreciate your patronage, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in San Diego! David. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights here, and it was great. The rooms are adequate, bed was top notch! Sharing a bathroom was a concern, but was not an issue. Only suggestion would be a mirror in the room, for make up or one last check before heading out. We would stay here again without hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. As you mentioned, our economy rooms do share a bathroom - just like a small European B&B, but it's rarely an issue since the standard configuration is only two rooms sharing one bathroom. We will follow up on your suggestion for a mirror - I agree all rooms should have a full length mirror in the... More 

414 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Other (73)
Viewed
Queen Room (13)
Viewed
Queen Suite with Kitchen (35)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Single Room (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#107 of 283 in San Diego
1,855 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#80 of 283 in San Diego
471 reviews
Old Town Inn
#23 of 283 in San Diego
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 283 in San Diego
798 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#15 of 283 in San Diego
3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Vyvant is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in downtown San Diego. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with genuine hospitality and an authentic San Diego experience. We are located in the hip and vibrant neighborhood of Little Italy where you will find some of the local’s favorite restaurants, bars and shops; and within minutes of the San Diego Airport, Convention Center, the World-Famous San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Harbor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Vyvant

Address: 505 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Little Italy Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $114 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vyvant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vyvant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Vyvant staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Vyvant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room with a bathroom is a plus.”
 of 5 bubbles satisfied-visitor_11, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you get bothered by noise request a room in the back of the hotel, the front faces the freeway.”
 of 5 bubbles Valerie13472, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quite room and you´ll be happy.”
 of 5 bubbles 200haraldh, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book early -- ask about the kitchenette "apartment"”
 of 5 bubbles Mike714Jill, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“along alley behind may be less noisy; rooms are small and have little or no seating.”
 of 5 bubbles deem720, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay