We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Vyvant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel Vyvant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

660 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vyvant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 582: English reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We really loved our room it was dated but that's what made us like it so. We could walk every were. Loved the Little Italy area. the ppl at the desk were awesome. I don't know about the parking we used Uber and taxi's while we were there. Will stay there again next time were in San Diego.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug L
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Doug - Thank you for your kind work about our hotel and team members. We also appreciate the comment that you'll stay we us again next time you're in San Diego. We look forward to welcoming you back! David.

Temecula, California
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Had the customer service not been so great, this would have been a 1 star review. We are so confused by the almost 5 star rating of this hotel. The lobby and upstairs rooms looked nice from the outside (we didn't see in these rooms). Unfortunately we were taken to the bottom floor Urban Flat 1 which is literally down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L S
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

L.S., thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate the kind words about our team. I just had our VP of Operations visit the property two days ago to follow up on your other comments, and we will ensure they are addressed. I apologize that you did not have the best experience with us. David.

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

I had a group of 5 for a 5 day 4 night stay. It was the best time of my life. The hotel staff there is very friendly! I got to know them by name. They always smiled and went outta there way to make my stay amazing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malibu s
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Yeah - thank you for such kind words about our team, and we are all so pleased that you had such an amazing time with us and in San Diego. We look forward to welcoming you back again! David.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

this hotel was nice room was lovely but hadn't realised until I got there I had booked a shared bathroom and unfortunately small hotel so no upgrade available also thought there was parking but when we got there we were told we had to find parking outside on the street was told we could park outside that hotel had arrangement...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoseAnn1957
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Thanks for your review RoseAnn. As I have written here before, all our booking websites define whether the accommodation include private or shared bathroom. However, we're all human and can miss the details. That said, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found the room to be a lovely one. David.

Sycamore, United States
Reviewed 1 October 2016

This is a quaint boutique hotel that is right next to the Little Italy section of San Diego. I'd stayed here a while back, and returned for business in the area. It's a very nice place. Parking is on the street- just identify which overnight can work for you due to local street cleaning. There are plenty of nearby options,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Chuck - That you for your compliments about our quaint inn, and Denise and her team. It was great to have you stay with us again, almost all our guests are repeat guests, and we love welcoming them back. Thanks for the business. David.

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Perhaps not on this site, but on Google and Booking.com the hotel is advertised as having 'free parking'. WARNING: THE HOTEL HAS NO PARKING. Also, it's in a bit of a sketchy area, so if you decided to try a bit of street parking, it's very possible your car will be broken into or stolen. So, if you need to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Otto F
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Otto - There is free parking in the area, plus pay parking. Third party web site don't provide a lot of options as to how we check boxes for our listings. In no way do we ever intend to imply that he hotel owns its own parking. While there are always risks involved - even in a hotel lot, the...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Great hotel with welcoming friendly people. In good area near to many restaurants and bars in little Italy. Room very comfortable and clean, nice continental breakfast. Staff very helpful when we had a problem with car. Nice outside area to relax in .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 32Lilly17
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Lilly - yeah - thanks for your kind words about our friendly team in San Diego. We so enjoy meeting guests like you! Glad we could assist with you car problem and get you pointed in the right direction. We appreciate your business. David.

Reviewed 24 September 2016

Get in and find out. It´s extraordinary. Awesome. We loved the style and and the flair. The staff was very, very friendly. Be aware that you have a nice, single bedroom – but you have to share the bathroom with the room next door. Don´t worry: bathroom is separated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harald H
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Harald, thank you for your review, we love that you loved the hotel! Thank you also for your kind words about Denise and her team. They enjoyed having you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you again next time! David.

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is very modern, clean and comfortable. The shared bathroom is also clean and well kept. I wouldn't hesitate staying here for a short break again. The location is within a mile or so from the harbour front and it is very close to the Little Italy part of the city. Hotel parking isn't available however on street parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteKirsch
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Charlotte, thank you for taking time to review our hotel. While most room types have a private bath our economy rooms do share a bathroom which we strive to maintain. We're glad you enjoyed your break, and look forward to welcoming you back the nice time you take a well deserved "San Diego break".

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

The pictures are very misleading. Our rooms were very dirty, filled with fruit flies and mosquitoes. The bathroom and rooms smelled like cleaner in a stuffy room, the floors turned our feet black, and there was almost no room for us to walk anywhere. The only upside about our stay was that the beds were pretty comfortable and there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iqueenxme
DSCornish, Owner at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about the hotel. It certainly is not our intent to mislead any guest with photography. If my room smelled of chemicals, and had flying bugs - I too would be concerned. I apologize for your experience and will ask Denise, our General Manager to research those concerns immediately. We are located adjacent to the I-5...

417 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (161)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Other (73)
Viewed
Queen Room (13)
Viewed
Queen Suite with Kitchen (35)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Single Room (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#79 of 278 in San Diego
498 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#111 of 278 in San Diego
1,895 reviews
Old Town Inn
#22 of 278 in San Diego
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Vyvant is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in downtown San Diego. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with genuine hospitality and an authentic San Diego experience. We are located in the hip and vibrant neighborhood of Little Italy where you will find some of the local’s favorite restaurants, bars and shops; and within minutes of the San Diego Airport, Convention Center, the World-Famous San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Harbor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Vyvant

Address: 505 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Little Italy Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $114 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vyvant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Vyvant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Vyvant staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Vyvant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room that doesn't face Grape Street.”
 of 5 bubbles HelloWY, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I would guess a room higher up in the building would be less noisy and rooms not facing the street.”
  • Bathtub
  • Cupboard in the kitchenette
  • Kitchenette with microwave oven, coffee maker and fridge
  • Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles LarsRo, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not get a corner room near the highway. Loud traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 541susanl, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A room with a bathroom is a plus.”
 of 5 bubbles satisfied-visitor_11, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you get bothered by noise request a room in the back of the hotel, the front faces the freeway.”
 of 5 bubbles Valerie13472, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay