We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

726 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
See the most recent reviews
Showing 694: English reviews
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Overall wonderful experience. Too bad I didn't get to experience the burlesque shows. My only issue was that the AC didn't seem to work that well. I loved the location of the hotel inthe downtown area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 397LAP
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you had a 'wonderful' experience with us, and were able to enjoy our ideal location in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter. Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate you letting us know about the temperature in your room; we will look into it. We do hope...

League City
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Difficult time. Nice place to stay in a difficult time. The staff is attentive and professional. The hotel I quiet and private. The sheets rock. They have hair dryers. And you can walk anywhere but rose rand cemetery.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angelgT109ZX
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your highest review of your most recent stay at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, even though it was during a difficult time for you. All of us are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay worth coming back to. We often hear good things about our location in the heart of the Gaslamp...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 14 May 2016

Stayed here for my birthday in November. We stayed in a suite, it was clean and pretty spacious although it only had 1 king bed. The hot tub in the living room was a cool touch, but it took a long time to fill up. I did love that they gave us comp champagne at check in. When I got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susie G
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Dear Susie, Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious room with it's unique decor. Your valuable feedback is appreciated. We wanted to also mention that all fees or taxes that were charged to your bill are the same as all hotels in the Gaslamp Quarter. We should have done a better job...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Worst experience I've had... The hotel smelled... Everything was broke in our first room so we were switched to another room (upgrade) which had a broken faucet.. The floors suck cause there is no carpet! Would never sty here gain for that amount of money

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maira R
Andi C, Front Office Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

First and foremost, I am very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at our hotel. It is always our goal to exceed guests' expectation, and I apologize that you did not receive the level of excellence you deserve. I encourage you to reach out to me directly at acornelius@thekeating.com to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 10 May 2016

I really wanted to like this place and try something other than your basic hotel for the weekend. The vibe is "hip", but very dated. We stayed in the room with the jacuzzi tub and it felt awkward and sterile. I guess that is a good thing, but felt almost to massive with bad lighting and horrible color throughout the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Momma O
Andi C, Front Office Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Thank you Momma O for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoy your close proximity to local nightlife and attractions and felt our hotel to be a unique option in the Gaslamp. We also appreciate your decision to share feedback regarding areas of improvement within the room. We certainly...

Muskoka District, Canada
Reviewed 4 May 2016

It tries hard, but fails. Fun and funky is fine only if the basic things are present and working. 1- It is LOUD here. The adjacent bars play loud music until midnight at least, and in the mornings, cleaning crews start at 5am and play music that resonates throughout the hotel. 2 - The room lighting is awful. Dimmers do...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James S
Andi C, Front Office Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

James: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Keating Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at our hotel . All of the areas that you addressed - from room amenities, operational functionality of hardware/furniture, to entertainment - are absolutely elements that should have been present and...

San Diego
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Too many maintenance issues! Room could be so cool- but it isn't. Needs major cleaning! The hot tub wasn't working which was the entire reason we stayed there. Gap under the door let a huge roach in our room. Gross!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 473reggiew
Imperial Beach, California
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed here a few years ago for my birthday and the service was great. This time around I surprised my bf with a weekend getaway and the service was remarkable! They made sure everything I asked for was met. I had some last minute request to surprise my bf and they planned it beautifully! Things could not have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sexcpiseas
n/a
Reviewed 2 May 2016

I was highly disappointed with the service I received upon staying at the Keating. From the site, it looks like a cool, modern and trendy hotel that has all the amenities. I made my reservation in January for a stay at the end of April. I arrived early at 10am, and while I couldn't check in early, I was able...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 995meganc
Andi C, Front Office Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Megan: Words cannot begin to express our sincere apologies for the of series of miscommunications that lead to your overall experience described here. As our General Manager Shane Pappas noted during your conversation, what you experienced is certainly not reflective of how we operate our hotel. We appreciate your willingness to speak with him and allow us the opportunity to...

Valencia, Spain
Reviewed 2 May 2016

nice design place but no gym and no lobby and no bar. in gaslight district that is really loud. 'lively' but not always fun. rooms are cool but no instructions for coffee machine which is not an intuitive thing. oh, and no gym, not really.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank asdf a
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our unique decor as well as our convenient location in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter. Thanks for your valuable feedback on the coffee machine, we will look into adding instructions. Some of the noise you mentioned is what we call 'urban chatter', part of being in...

325 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (238)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Chic Loft Suite (57)
Viewed
Imperiale Suite (42)
Viewed
Stanza Vista (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
The Macallan Suite (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#68 of 279 in San Diego
1,460 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
San Diego’s first true luxury boutique hotel that transformed the Gaslamp District from bland to chic. Situated in a building dated from 1890, The Keating is Pininfarina’s first hotel creation -world-renowned master designer behind Ferrari and Maserati. The result is a rare fusion of past and future. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Address: 432 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6118
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $241 - $725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keating Hotel San Diego
Keating San Diego
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Decatur, Georgia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Spa rooms are a treat!”
 of 5 bubbles debbfox, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors will have less noise from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles 195meghanf, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You will hear and maybe feel the music from Patricks if your room is close to that side.”
 of 5 bubbles shdan, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful views from the top Left Corner room”
 of 5 bubbles 358lexieg, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Face the street for views of the action, but noise to match...”
  • Corner room - great size!
 of 5 bubbles RSebastianxy, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5