We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

726 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
See the most recent reviews
Showing 694: English reviews
Bellevue
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Please do not stay at this hotel. I was a recent hotel guest and was,locked out of our hotel room at 1am in the morning with all of our personal belongings in the room with no reason or explanation by hotel staff. We were then told we needed to relocate down the hall to a different room which was smaller,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you for your review and feedback. We are sorry to hear about the issues you had while staying with us. We will be sure to look into it. You deserved better as our guest. We are always on a path of continual progress and improvement, and so feedback like yours helps us achieve that goal. Again, thank...

Irvine, California
Reviewed 8 February 2017

The only big issue was the shower situation. The bathroom door did not allow for much privacy when in such a small room either. Our espresso machine turned on around 4am by itself, which was eerie. The room was small but worth the price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasmineh673
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Dear Jasmine, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that we provided you with a pleasant stay, and that you realized the value that we offer. We appreciate your comments on our shower and espresso machines as well. They are unique features; the shower area is designed to fit a 'European Loft' design; it takes some getting...

Pittsburgh
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Chose the hotel for it's location near the convention center.Staff members were each welcoming and professional. Location in Gaslamp Quarter was perfect for 1st time visitors to San Diego. The area was easily walkable with many dining, entertainment, and shopping options within just a few blocks.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J280LMtomc
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

All of us at the Keating appreciate your review! We work hard to provide a unique and enjoyable hotel experience for our guests and appreciate the compliment. We are so happy that you enjoyed our ideal location in the heart of the Historic Gaslamp Quarter as well! We would love to see you again the next time you visit sunny...

Calgary
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Great: location (close to Shops and food), Staff (very friendly and helpful), Coffee machine (I think I have an espresso addiction now) Good: size of the room (plenty of space to move around), cleanliness (room was not spotless but was fine), Internet (easy fast enough to stream Netflix) Not good: Elevator (being an old building, this was expected, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Larry B
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Dear Larry, Thank you for your review and feedback. We are sorry to hear about the issues you faced while staying with us. Our staff works hard to give our guests great service, and so we are glad to hear you had a good experience with them. We appreciate your feedback in regards to our elevator, mattress arrangement, and noise...

Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Interesting hotel. Small contemporary rooms. Fantastic shower!!! Right in Gaslamp district. Some cool features in rooms, lights, expresso machine, interesting closets, they slide out. Great coffee shop on sidewallk. Not a typical hotel. Room was fairly clean, not spotless..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 01/18/1954 T
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that we provided you with a pleasant stay. Guests often comment on our bathroom amenities, proximity to the Gaslamp, contemporary features, and espresso machines, and we are pleased that you enjoyed these features as well. Thanks again for your review and feedback, and we hope you’ll stay with us again!

San Diego, California
Reviewed 24 January 2017

No privacy, wet towels, broken faucets, Jets didn't work in hot tub, window to the outside was open, description didn't match the room, windows two other rooms could see in ours area, we could see in other rooms...etc

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Needprivacy
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are sorry to hear about the issues you had while staying with us. We will be sure to look into everything you mentioned, including the bathroom problems, and window privacy issues. We are always on a path of continual progress and improvement, and so feedback like yours helps us achieve that goal....

Long Beach
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Excellent service .... what I REALLY loved were the windows ..... they opened 2 ways : from the top for air or from the side to adjust the blinds. They were at least 6 feet tall ..... staff was extremelyl cordial ....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Royce B
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Dear Royce, All of us sincerely appreciate your review of the Keating Hotel! We are delighted that you recognized that we are not your typical cookie-cutter hotel, our widows included! Thanks for the shout-out for our dedicated team as well; we will be sure to share your kind words. We hope to see you again the next time you travel...

Gstaad, Switzerland
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The Staff who work here are the reason that if I find myself in San Diego again I will stay here. They were awesome, really helpful and knew San Diego really well. The location is PRIME. They are right in the center of the Gaslamp District, which is where all the bars are at. Super easy to move around. Super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jakim08
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Dear Jakim, We sincerely appreciate your terrific review of the Keating Hotel! We are delighted that you were pleased our prime location in the heart of the Gaslamp, as well as our dedicated team! We will be sure to share your kind words. That you consider us to be "awesome" make our day!

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Good hotel, friendly staff on all levels. Nice restaurants just around the corner. Good infrastructure also for business work (Apple Computer and black & white laser printer for free use). All in very good condition.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard S
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Dear Bernhard, Thanks from all of us at the Keating for your review! We work hard to provide a unique and enjoyable hotel experience for our guests and appreciate the compliment. We would love to see you again the next time you visit beautiful San Diego.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The location is great and easy to get to everything. We had a beautiful corner suite! The rooms were very modern, yet comfortable. The bed was very nice. The staff was super friendly and quick to assist us with anything we need. I will stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meghan J
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Dear Meghan, Thank you very much for your review and recommendation of the Keating Hotel! We are pleased that you enjoyed our ideal location right in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, and you enjoyed your room with it's unique decor. We take pride in providing our guests a wonderful hotel experience and your kind words about our dedicated team...

325 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (238)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Chic Loft Suite (57)
Viewed
Imperiale Suite (42)
Viewed
Stanza Vista (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
The Macallan Suite (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#68 of 279 in San Diego
1,460 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
San Diego’s first true luxury boutique hotel that transformed the Gaslamp District from bland to chic. Situated in a building dated from 1890, The Keating is Pininfarina’s first hotel creation -world-renowned master designer behind Ferrari and Maserati. The result is a rare fusion of past and future. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Address: 432 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6118
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $241 - $725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keating Hotel San Diego
Keating San Diego
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Decatur, Georgia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Spa rooms are a treat!”
 of 5 bubbles debbfox, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors will have less noise from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles 195meghanf, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You will hear and maybe feel the music from Patricks if your room is close to that side.”
 of 5 bubbles shdan, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful views from the top Left Corner room”
 of 5 bubbles 358lexieg, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Face the street for views of the action, but noise to match...”
  • Corner room - great size!
 of 5 bubbles RSebastianxy, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5