We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lucky D's Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lucky D\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 526: English reviews
Start your review of Lucky D's Hostel
 Click to rate
Toronto Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

What a great and friendly place! The staff are amazing and super helpful. I am an older traveller, and just want an affordable and cozy place to stay. This place was perfect. The price was awesome, the beds were comfy and the wifi was more than adequate. There were 2 showers and 2 bathrooms on the floor and I never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cokechick21
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good hostel, fair price, rooms good enough, comfy beds, clean showers and toilets and a great common kitchen. Staff is friendly and helpful who joins in on the parties. Location is great. I do recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marko K
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! So glad you enjoyed your time with us, come see us again!

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. There are two showers per floor which can be quite crowded but usually it was fine. The hostel has plenty of activities throughout the week and I had a great time with the staff in my last visit. When I was there in December the volunteers were not the most open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shimishredel
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback! Our hostel is located in the historic Gaslamp Quarter, a vibrant, thriving social community in downtown San Diego. Unfortunately there's not all that much we can do to monitor the noise from the establishment below; we do have complimentary earplugs available at our front desk, and Bootlegger (the aforementioned establishment) tries their best to be good...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lucky D's is probably the most friendly backpacker hostel at which I have ever stayed. The staff and other guests could not be more kind or more welcoming. With only 4 beds to the communal rooms it is also much easier to get a good nights rest then in the 8 bed plus rooms offered but most hostels. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottJefferis
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks Scott, we were glad to have you! Safe travels, come back soon.

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was EXACTLY what I was looking for. I was attending the ACP Conference at the convention center 3/30-4/1/17 and wanted a place walking distance. Staff were lovely and kind. The shared shower was perfectly clean. The private room was simple but just right. It was a bit noisy on the weekend, but free earplugs were nice :-) I slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chloeshanley
LuckyDsHostel, General Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, Chloe; glad to see you had such a lovely time! Come back and see us again when you're in San Diego.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well I had been travelling a lot and has over the years stayed in all kinds of hotel ranging right from 2stars to 5 stars. This time since I was travelling solo for a conference and was quite tight on my budget I decided to look for the cheapest options and it is then I saw this hostel in booking.com...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wahid K
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive feedback, Wahid; glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we'll see you again sometime!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff here are awesome! They really helped create an incredibly inviting and fun environment. The hostel itself is pretty basic but the retro decor and atmosphere makes for a charming and enjoyable stay. The hostel is a little rough around the edges and the wifi is a little slow but it didn't detract from the fun vibe and good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

A huge part of the environment here is our staff, and we're glad you loved them as much as we do! Safe travels, hope to see you again sometime.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is located in the dead center of the Gaslamp District - close to eateries and public bus access. It gets loud on weekend nights but I slept fine with the windows closed and earplugs on. Staff was helpful and the place was fairly clean. Great find in downtown SD.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly I
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for a great stay. Happy that you were able to make the most of our central location. Safe travels. Michelle

NEWMARKET
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Single woman traveller, felt safe and included in the activies - staff were friendly and went above to make sure guests had a good time. McFaddens pub night is must with the hostel! Wifi was strong throughout, rooms clean - private rooms on 4th floor are the quietest and least busy for shared washrooms. Not too noisy at night but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CTWB
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

I am so glad that you were able to make use of the many different amenities and services that we offer. We love being able to help you make the most of your time in San Diego, a city that we love so much. Regards, Michelle

Salzburg, Austria
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Lucky'D Hostel is a lovely place where you feel like at home. Clean, save, very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, special activities offered every night. Great kitchen cooking experience. Will come back for sure and highly recommended if you like “Hostel flair at it's best“.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BernieEastwood
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for getting involved. We love it when our guests are able to join us on our nightly activities and hang with us cooking together in our huge kitchen. Best, Michelle

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
1,903 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come for the party! Stay because it feels like home. Lucky D's Hostel is a top San Diego hostel, and it is a guaranteed good time. When is the last time somebody promised you that? Lucky D's is fun, comfortable, clean and safe. It has an amazing atmosphere and a perfect location. Lucky D's has a wonderful team on staff. They are knowledgeable, helpful and will make sure you have a good time. San Diego is a fantastic city and Lucky D's is in the middle of the action. There are fun things to do every day, a party every night. We are conveniently located just steps away from the Gaslamp District, home of San Diego's hottest nightlife, restaurants, bars and shops. It's close to all of the city's attractions and the best beaches are a quick bus ride away. With Lucky D's, you'll have so many new friends you won't know what to do with them all. Why are you still reading this? Go make a reservation already. Lucky D's Hostel in San Diego has it all and we're waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lucky D's Hostel

Address: 615 8th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6405
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Price Range: $49 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lucky D's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Lucky D's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky d`s Hotel San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lucky D's Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Lucky D's Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can, ask for rooms on the side of the kitchen / bathrooms.”
shimishredel, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“414 - private and near 2 v. clean BRs. Thin walls; window opens above kitchen/common area, but didn't bother me.”
chloeshanley, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“4th floor rooms most quiet but only private rooms available, no elevator”
CTWB, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No elevators available.”
kevinbX6435NJ, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“avoid rooms facing 8th ave unless you like to spectate as homeless folk argue about minor incidents of disrespect”
HumanVector, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5