We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (94)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (21)
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good22%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“common room”(56 reviews)
“big kitchen”(8 reviews)
“free earplugs”(7 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (748)
There are newer reviews for Lucky D's Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
419
132
53
31
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
419
132
53
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roombig kitchenfree earplugsfree breakfastgaslamp districtnoisy at nightnight lifethe location is perfectgreat place to staycomic conbalboa parkthe gas lamp districtconvention centerbackpackersnetflixdormsd
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
131 - 135 of 653 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017

The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. There are two showers per floor which can be quite crowded but usually it was fine. The hostel has plenty of activities throughout the week and I had a great time with the staff in my...More

Thank shimishredel
Response from LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's HostelResponded 25 April 2017

Thanks for the feedback! Our hostel is located in the historic Gaslamp Quarter, a vibrant, thriving social community in downtown San Diego. Unfortunately there's not all that much we can do to monitor the noise from the establishment below; we do have complimentary earplugs available...More

Reviewed 6 April 2017

Lucky D's is probably the most friendly backpacker hostel at which I have ever stayed. The staff and other guests could not be more kind or more welcoming. With only 4 beds to the communal rooms it is also much easier to get a good...More

Thank ScottJefferis
Response from LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's HostelResponded 20 April 2017

Thanks Scott, we were glad to have you! Safe travels, come back soon.

Reviewed 5 April 2017

This was EXACTLY what I was looking for. I was attending the ACP Conference at the convention center 3/30-4/1/17 and wanted a place walking distance. Staff were lovely and kind. The shared shower was perfectly clean. The private room was simple but just right. It...More

Thank chloeshanley
Response from LuckyDsHostel, General Manager at Lucky D's HostelResponded 20 April 2017

Thanks for the great review, Chloe; glad to see you had such a lovely time! Come back and see us again when you're in San Diego.

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Well I had been travelling a lot and has over the years stayed in all kinds of hotel ranging right from 2stars to 5 stars. This time since I was travelling solo for a conference and was quite tight on my budget I decided to...More

Thank Wahid K
Response from LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's HostelResponded 20 April 2017

Thanks for the positive feedback, Wahid; glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we'll see you again sometime!

Reviewed 1 April 2017

The staff here are awesome! They really helped create an incredibly inviting and fun environment. The hostel itself is pretty basic but the retro decor and atmosphere makes for a charming and enjoyable stay. The hostel is a little rough around the edges and the...More

Thank Steven L
Response from LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's HostelResponded 20 April 2017

A huge part of the environment here is our staff, and we're glad you loved them as much as we do! Safe travels, hope to see you again sometime.

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (94)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (21)
Amenities (61)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
motyeldarb
31 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from LuckyDsHostel | Property representative |
Hi, our guests are primarily in their early 20ies - so if you want to stay with us - you are more than welcome to do so - but please expect music and party going on most of the day and also at night. So please when you want... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Go for a private room"
Read review
"4th floor and rooms on the left side are more quiet. There is a bar on the 1st floor and rooms on right side..."
Read review
"Should be remodeled and cleaned"
Read review
"Try to get a room on the top floor where the noise is less terrible."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing