We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Mission Bay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

511 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 457: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2015

I like Best Western when I travel for business, clean comfortable, convenient...you pretty much know what you get. This place was a disappointment: the window to the outside corridor did not lock (Room 314), Saturday night noise from drunken guests woke me up, and while I enjoyed the breakfast, the other guests were just too much. I realize the price... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 244edwine
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I apologize the window did not lock, I have pass your comments to our Maintenance Team and have asked him to inspect and repair the issue immediately. I'm... More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Nice rooms and great breakfast. In the middle of nowhere though with a pretty complicated and unreliable bus system so a car is a must. Nice pool and hot tub to chill out in. Lot of hotels in this area though so shop around

Helpful?
Thank Colin D
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you... More 

Ceres, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2015

My husband and I had a few days to get away. We searched for and chose this motel for the location and the fact they served a breakfast. We certainly were pleased with the location, the breakfast, the cleanliness of the rooms. We would definitively recommend this motel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lona S
Leidy P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Best Western Mission Bay! We are so glad your enjoyed your stay and thank you for your wonderful compliments. Hopefully we will see you again if you ever return to the San Diego area! Sincerely, Madison Guest Relations Manager 619.275.5700 More 

chesapeake, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Moldy, dirty dump. Don't use coffee machine, it has crud inside. Had to buy Clorox spray at store and hose down room before sleeping. Lots of stains and overall nasty place. Staff was polite but what can they do ... this thing needs a bulldozer. $90 for a night at this dump, are you kidding me?

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank David H
Leidy P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay here at the Best Western Mission Bay. On behalf of our entire staff, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I'm so sorry for the inconvenience you experience. If you have a moment I will love to know which room number... More 

vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights. The location is terrific if you have a car and dont mind a 10 to 30 minute drive to the action. We drove downtown, old town, SeaWorld, ocean beach and pacfic beach in 10-15 min. Coronado and oceanside are about 25 -30 min away. La Jolla in 15. This is an older property in good... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrucefromVancouver
Leidy P, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Best Western Mission Bay! We are so glad your enjoyed our neighborhood and convenient location. Hopefully we will see you the next time you're in the San Diego area! Sincerely, Madison Guest Relations Manager 619.275.5700 More 

Salt Lake City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2015

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of other times in the past 6 years. They have remodeled the rooms and upgraded their breakfast since the last time I stayed. Very nice. This hotel is very convenient for my visits to San Diego. Great access to freeways.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda J
Leidy P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Best Western Mission Bay! We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel over the years and hope we can continue to provide you with excellent service for years to come! Sincerely, Madison Guest Relations Manager 619.275.5700 More 

Long Beach, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2015

The hotel and staff are very nice. However, the hotel because of it's proximity to Sea World is always fully-booked and crowded. If you do not mind barking dogs, screaming kids, and terrible traffic noise---this is the ideal place for you. If you are a business person wanting a quiet, peaceful place to relax and get your work done----this is... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
Phoenix
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2015

If you are looking for a great place to stay in San Diego this is the one. This hotel is clean-great Breakfast-clean rooms. Great price good location and and never any bums hanging around. :) You will be pleased

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Monica M
Leidy P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments about our hotel! We certainly strive to provide excellent service to every guest. Hopefully we will see you again the next time you return to San Diego! Sincerely, Madison Guest Relations Manager 619.275.5700 More 

Barry's Bay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Wonderful wknd. in Mission Bay, San Diego, before embarking on a cruise line. The breakfasts were always delicious. Not too fancy, but readily available or make your own waffles! The staff were helpful and the rooms very clean, with comfortable beds. It might need an upgrade with a touch of paint, etc. but comfort and cleanliness is more important and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christina B
Leidy P, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mission Bay, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Best Western Mission Bay! We are so glad your enjoyed your stay and thank you for your wonderful compliments to the hotel and the staff. Hopefully we will see you again next time you return to the San Diego area! Sincerely, Madison Guest Relations... More 

Blythe, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2015

I enjoyed my stay here. It is right at Mission Bay near Seaworld. Easy access to Interstate 5 with plenty of parking. Don't worry about coming late, you will have a spot. The swimming pool is nice. The rooms are nice but seem a little old. I liked the room and the bed wasn't bad. I wasn't impressed with the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark B

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#41 of 283 in San Diego
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Mission Bay is a family-oriented, pet-friendly property centrally located in the heart of San Diego, just minutes away from all San Diego has to offer. We are a SeaWorld Vacations Preferred Partner hotel and our rooms feature soothing decor, quality furnishings, and modern amenities for entertainment, business, and traveling convenience. With Spanish-Mission inspired architecture and contemporary style, the Best Western Mission Bay’s spacious accommodations are within walking distance of beautiful Mission Bay. Relax on San Diego’s 70 miles of beautiful sandy beaches, enjoy an invigorating sail, explore Mission Bay’s 14 miles of peaceful paths, go deep sea fishing, play a round of golf or view a spectacular sunset. Our 99 room hotel delivers an inviting mix of warm, Southern California ambiance and modern efficiency. Enjoy lifestyle enhancing services and amenities – Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High-Speed Internet, Fitness Center, Business Center, Cable TV with HBO Programming, Outdoor Pool and Whirlpool Spa, Activity Desk and Free Parking. Every room is equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee/tea maker, iron and board, AM/FM alarm clock and complimentary toiletries. With easy access to all attractions, visit SeaWorld San Diego, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Wild Animal Park, Legoland, Old Town San Diego, the Gas Lamp Quarter, Little Italy, downtown San Diego, and Seaport Village. Watch the Padres take the field at nearby Petco Park, or see the Chargers play at Qualcomm Stadium. Attend an event at the San Diego Convention Center, soak up the sun and surf at Pacific Beach and Mission Beach, take a shopping trip to Tijuana, Mexico, or take a sail from one of the many marinas along the Bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mission Bay

Address: 2575 Clairemont Drive, San Diego, CA 92117
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $110 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mission Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Groupon, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Mission Bay staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Mission Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure. . . just go over the room before you move in.”
 of 5 bubbles Chuck8700, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ok hotel if you are on the go.”
 of 5 bubbles Matchalatte1, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“3 floors we were on the 3rd floor on the north side- was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles macmarill, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ask for a top floor so you don't get noises from people above”
 of 5 bubbles carlyd979, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The top floor has no noise from overhead bumps & thumps. East side was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Charber321, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay