We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 346: English reviews
Glendale, California
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Stayed here so I can bring kids to San Diego Zoo. The hotel's location and value are major factor for choosing this particular hotel. Arrived and was immediately shocked by the rate of their parking, it is about $ 30.00+ per night, valet only. There is no self park, you are more than welcome to park off site but, park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rio E
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Rio, Thank you for staying at the Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown! I am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our property during your trip to San Diego. Our great location offers many dining and sightseeing options within walking distance for our guests. Again, thank you for writing this review I will make sure to share...

Dillingham, Alaska
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Great location, cozy rooms, Spacious. No fridge and no microwave. Small gym, and lousy pool but Friendly staff. Easy to walk around thought the popular locations San Diego has to offer. Free Wifi. Drawback is we ordered food from the restaurant downstairs and the first night the potatoes with the steak was raw. They did remake the potatoes which were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deven L
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Deven, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I apologize our Food and Beverage outlet did not meet your expectations. I would like to reassure you that this has been addressed immediately. I thank you for staying at our property and hope you give us another chance in the near future. Best, Sonam C. Assistant...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 24 November 2016

It was the staff who made this trip and hotel do perfect. Alexis, Javier, Louis and the entire staff went above and beyond to make my staff as enjoyable as possible. Thank you to everyone at Four Points for making my trip so perfect!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dqm2
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

dqm2, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team, especially Alexis, Javier and Louis. Our associates take great pride in their work and receiving reviews like yours truly fuels our passion! Thank you for staying at the Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown,...

Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

It's a good 8/10 block walk to the waterfront from this location. Getting into the parking lot can be an adventure as it's not particularly well marked. There was an issue with housekeeping. They didn't show up until almost 5pm. The room in general was fine.Now the good stuff. The front desk took care of the issue and comped our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank reptilevancouver
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

reptilevancouver, Thank you for your recent stay at the Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown! I apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. I am happy to know the front desk was able to rectify the issues before your departure. Our hotel Bar is truly a hidden gem with great beers on tap that compliment our happy...

satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

I have written reviews for this hotel before but I would like to compliment three outstanding hotel clerks that make a difference in your day.. Javier, Louis, and Anna Lise are outstanding employees and they make a difference in all that they do.... Thank you for your above and beyond service. Sincerely, Matthew Read American Airlines

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Matthew R., Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! I will make sure to share this with Javier, Louise and Analise. Thank you so much and we look forward to see you soon! Sonam C. Assistant General Manager

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Stayed here for a few nights with my cousin for our holiday, it was clean comfy and fabulous for what we paid. It was perfectly located near Little Italy and was only about a 10-15min walk into the Gaslamp district, which for me a little walk never killed !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sammy W
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Sammy W., Thank you for your recent stay at the Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown! I am delighted to know you enjoyed your stay at our property during your visit to San Diego. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 13 November 2016

Maybe my rating of an average hotel might be a little harsh, but the 4 start hotel in downtown San Diego I stayed at previous to this stay was much better. For one, I walked from downtown San Diego to this hotel and there was a woman on the steps adjacent to the main entry who was strung out on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LocoChristopher
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

LocoChristopher, On behalf of the Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, I would like to personally thank you for leaving such a useful review for us. We take pride in being able to make our guests happy and apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The issues you encountered during your stay have been addressed to the appropriate...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Staff are perfectly nice, but it's an old property desperately in need of renovation. Rooms aren't dirty per se but you certainly wouldn't wish to walk across the carpets barefoot! It does have a pool but you would not want to swim in it or sunbathe by it. Would not return. The Four Points brand is generally better than this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank InkTraveller
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown. I apologize we did not meet your expectations during your stay. I would like to further discuss your stay, when you have a moment please contact me at (619)239-9600. Sonam C. Assistant General Manager

London, Canada
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

We didn't get to spend much time at this hotel since we had an early flight, but we were lucky enough to get upgraded to the 15th floor and the view was amazing! Great location to visit Little Italy! Clean rooms and airport shuttle was great (but doesn't start until 6 am)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaytravel82
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

kaytravel82, Thank you for staying at the Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown. I am pleased to know you enjoyed your short stay at our property. We hope to see you soon. Sonam C. Assistant General Manager

Arvada, Colorado
Reviewed 5 November 2016

My wife and I stay here for our 25th Anniversary and everything was great, The staff was really friendly and make you feel really welcome. The room service was the best. The only con is you have to pay extra for parking, but that is a very common situation in San Diego and they are very clear on this so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ggarciao2001
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

ggarciao2001, Happy 25th anniversary! I am delighted to know you enjoyed your anniversary in San Diego. We hope you stay with us again in the near future! Sonam C. Assistant General Manager

340 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Bay View with King Bed (36)
Viewed
Bay View with Two Double Beds (27)
Viewed
City View with Two Double Beds (22)
Viewed
King Executive (36)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#78 of 278 in San Diego
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The recently-renovated Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown is located minutes away from Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, and Seaport Village. We also offer a free shuttle to/from the airport ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Address: 1617 First Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $212 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood and Travelocity so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure to ask for a view of the Bay!”
 of 5 bubbles beachbunny59, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get a room on the higher floors and south side. We were on north side and could hear the traffic outside.”
 of 5 bubbles jodylk, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“higher floors so you can be away from the freeway noise.”
 of 5 bubbles RioE, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“a high floor as it's noisy. Right by the highway and flight path”
 of 5 bubbles InkTraveller, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stay at the top floor and the view was great!”
 of 5 bubbles ggarciao2001, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5