We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,174: English reviews
Long Beach, California
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We stay here as often as we can. We arrive on Amtrak and look forward to taking the trolley and a short walk to the hotel. Its a car-free weekend and the Doubletree is central to the fun. We don't use the hotel restaurant, there are so many other places in the area. Love the balcony, and enjoy both the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

I didn't want to continue on a theme of my reviews but hopefully will give people some warning before arriving. My flight arrived late into LA, and after getting down to the Doubletree late at night, tired after an international trip, all I needed was a bed, despite having a confirmation number, I found out I didn't have a room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Warren2112
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Warren2112 Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again...

YOUR CITY, United States
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Cleanliness significant issue noise level from the hallway was disruptive Internet service was spotty Food was HORRIBLE Convenience store treated guests rudely Towels had stains on them Don't stay for business or pleasure; EXTREMELY DISAPPOITING AND OVERPRICED

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arianna P
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Arianna P Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guest room. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff...

Los Angeles, United States
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Unable to use the free wifi during my 3-day stay. Had to use my own jet-pack at my own expense. Air conditioning did not work well. It happened to be hot and humid during my stay. Tough to sleep in a hot room.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
Reviewed 18 October 2015

ABSOLUTELY TERERIBLE!!!!!!! If you didn't have a bad back when you check in here----you'll have one when you leave. Mattresses terrible...no support whatsoever. Check the reviews for this hotel and believe them. This is a real nice Motel 6

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank neilgw
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Neilgw Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again...

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed 15 October 2015

I can't understand how this property can remain Hilton----problems too numerous, but for starters tried 3 rooms---all rooms has sliding doors that did not close properly---thus all night long I listened to freeway traffic and airplanes....one hand towel in room....breakfast typical of Hampton Inn...on hold for 12 minutes trying to get shuttle from airport....and on and on and on................... The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil W
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Neil W., Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we sincerely apologize for the issues that you experienced during your stay. We will be sure to take your comments about our property under consideration as we re-evaluate guest needs and continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us...

Parker, Colorado
Reviewed 11 October 2015

From a loyal Hilton Honors Customer: Waited 3 hours for room; Presidential Suite-I have stayed in better rooms at Holiday Inn. Light bulbs not working; not enough towels or pillows for family of 4; bugs in room; aching back from beds; Zero intentions of returning. Worst investment of $445. I will give the brand one more try in Boston this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DocKelly_Momof2
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

DocKelly_Momof2 ~ Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry for the issues that you encountered with your room. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the...

Cerritos, United States
Reviewed 9 October 2015

First, our room was not ready at the check in time at 4:00pm. The parking was horrible. Did not feel comfortable in our own room. Was asked to keep the noise down when we were not being loud or out of the norm.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzette D
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Suzette D., Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we sincerely apologize for the issues that you experienced during your stay. We will be sure to take your comments about our property under consideration as we re-evaluate guest needs and continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again...

san diego, United States
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Hotel needs a major overhaul / refresh, staff needs to up their game (not very competent at check in), mattresses sagging. Location is around the corner from "little italy" but away from most of the action in town.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brendan William C
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Brendan William C, Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we sincerely apologize for the issues that you experienced during your stay. We will be sure to take your comments about our property under consideration as we re-evaluate guest needs and continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Only there for 1 night but it was an enjoyable stay, all was good, from check in to internet use to check out, no complaints. I would definitely stay here again or recommend this hotel for other co-workers or friends.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francesco C

272 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#78 of 278 in San Diego
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#110 of 278 in San Diego
1,895 reviews
La Pensione
#113 of 278 in San Diego
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Address: 1646 Front Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View)
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Price Range: $268 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask the front desk to recommend a good view. However, they are probably all good views, especially higher up”
 of 5 bubbles Freeperson01, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had the two room suite with spiral staircase. I would NOT do it again. Too much trouble.”
 of 5 bubbles HappyTraveler0109, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go up high for a view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles GallowsThief, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors better. Only has three older elevators, and they run slow, one shimmering at the 20th floors”
 of 5 bubbles gish0503, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask to face west. South is next best.”
 of 5 bubbles Tall-Traveler6ft7, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay