We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Iris

Show Prices
#204 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Iris
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Iris
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2016

I stayed here for one night having found the hotel via another website, not TA where the reviews seemed better. On the surface all seemed OK (I arrived at night) but when I got to my room there was a slightly unpleasant smell so I decided to take a closer look at how clean the room really was. I found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme H
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

We appreciate and welcome all guest feedback as we consider it an opportunity to address the aspects our guests find most important. We are grateful you took a chance on our accommodations. However, we are extremely saddened to know we did not meet your expectations nor our standards. We encourage all guests to notify us of any and all issues...

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 16 December 2016

The Hotel was conveniently located, well equipped, clean and reasonably priced. I stayed there with my family from Germany and we were all very comfortable. Recommended for anyone that wants to by-pass the high priced budget hotels in San Diego.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Disappointedsept
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind thoughts with us! Your recommendation of our property is an honor to receive. We are thrilled you found our accommodations provided you with the comfort, cleanliness and location you were seeking, all at an affordable price. Next time you are visiting San Diego, we hope you keep us in mind!...

Reviewed 9 December 2016

I was so disappointed having to book the hotel through trip advisor. The hotel was already fully booked and for some reason trip advisor "reserved" us a spot at this hotel. When we got there a guy from the front desk he couldn't find our reservation and asked where/what site we used to booked, he said that he never got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia P
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

Olivia, Thank you for notifying us of this recent incident. We are terribly sorry for the confusion and miscommunication that occurred between our systems. We encourage all travelers to book directly through our website or by reaching out to us, to guarantee availability and the best rate. We regret not having the chance to accommodate you. Hopefully, you will consider...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Terrible room. Smelled of cleaner trying to mask cigarette smoke. Pool was freezing and hot tub not working. No safe. No closet. Some cheap chairs on wall to hang stuff which is just a cheap solution for no closet. There were no towels or wash cloths in room. Room didn't even have a secure latch!!! Just a deadbolt to lock...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cameron57clark
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

Cameron, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We aim to use guest comments to continually improve our accommodations, therefore, we are grateful for the opportunity you have given us. We are very sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel, so we apologize...

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We came in on a Sunday and left on a Tuesday. It says dog friendly but everyone looked at us as the hotel was pet friendly. It's a revamp of the old Vagabond Inn. Our room was clean. The odd wallowing of a woman staring at you in bed was creepy. Also, there wasn't a dresser for clothes. The other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

Thank you Amanda B for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at the Hotel Iris San Diego-Mission Valley. I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations during your visit with us. We hope you give us another opportunity in the future. If you do just for your reference we do have rooms that do not have...

Waterford, Michigan
Reviewed 4 September 2016

The room served its purpose and was close to the attractions we wanted to visit. Our room was ready and clean when we arrived. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Our room needed extra towels and coffee but were given plenty upon asking. Our room also had the deck chairs mounted to the wall. I thought it added...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharpmom23
Los Altos, CA
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The weirdest thing about this hotel is that there are no closets in any of the rooms. Instead most have 2 deck chairs mounted on the wall, and you're supposed to ask at the front desk for hangers to hang your clothes on the rungs of the chairs. I wouldn't have believed it if I hadn't seen it and asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina A
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I apologize for the experience that you encountered it is definitely not what is expected or a normal experience for the property. We do have restaurants in the immediate area, there are dozens with in a less than 5 min drive or a 15-20 min walk. As well as a few in the neighboring hotels...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 15 August 2016

I needed to stay one night before a conference. What a mistake. This is not a boutique hotel, it is a motel. For over $100, I stayed in a room that smelled terrible. My room opened right into the parking lot, which attracts seedy folks after hours. I am not usually afraid to stay in places by myself, but I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank LINDSAY H
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback, it is valuable feedback like this that helps us evaluate our practices and insure that our customers needs are being met. Through this feedback we are able to further improve the hotel to insure our guests are 100% satisfied. We hope you give us another opportunity. Hospitably yours, Stephanie Downs...

A TripAdvisor Member
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

This had to be the worst most disgusting hotel my family and I have ever stayed at! We were in town for my daughters soccer tournament and this hotel was recommended as one of the partner hotels for the tournament. When we got to the hotel it had a dirty motel feel to it. We got our room key and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

I apologize that you and your team had a bad experience at the Hotel Iris. We did all we could to make up for it and we even compensated the teams room and an even additional compensation to make up for your experience. Again I apologize that you and the team did not have an enjoyable experience. And I assure...

Williams, AZ, United States
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The room was clean and tidy. It had two comfortable beds and a small but adequate bathroom. The front desk was responsive and helpful when I wanted to add my nephew's family to my room for one day. My nephew said, and I agree, that the shower head was the best they had ever seen! The curtains actually came together...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David T
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

We are pleased that you found our hotel to be convenient and that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Hospitably yours, Stephanie Downs General Manager

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 278 in San Diego
1,867 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#145 of 278 in San Diego
148 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#142 of 278 in San Diego
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Iris is San Diego's newest hip and modern boutique hotel, located in Mission Valley, the heart of San Diego, and is brought to you by Lifestyle Hotels. Designed for the business or leisure traveler alike, Hotel Iris gives our guest an amazing resort experience, furnished with an outdoor pool and spa, 78 newly renovated rooms and comes equipped with the ultimate customer service experience. Hotel Iris offers advantageous access to the best of San Diego's businesses & attractions, such as the historical Old Town, the world famous San Diego Zoo, and the cultural filled museums of Balboa Park. Hotel Iris is just 6 miles from San Diego's International Airport, Lindbergh Field, and just minutes from the World Renowned Sea World. If you are looking to shop, there is the World's finest shopping mall across the street at Fashion Valley, and if you are a sports lover you will be just minutes from Qualcomm Stadium, home of the San Diego Chargers. Our friendly staff will make you and your families feel at home. Call now, so we can see you soon!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Iris

Address: 625 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly Vagabond Inn San Diego)
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Price Range: $118 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Iris 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hotel Circle
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#90 Business Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Iris staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Iris staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you confirm your reservations over the phone before showing up. They don't honor on-line reservations”
 of 5 bubbles 472jayp, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great Hotel for night or two”
 of 5 bubbles Disappointedsept, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to call the hotel to confirm your reservation, don't trust sites to hold/reserve your room.”
 of 5 bubbles olif2014, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Worse than Best Western, and that's saying something.”
 of 5 bubbles jutta_hansen, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“away from pool”
 of 5 bubbles sharonlI6556IA, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5