We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pacific Shores Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Pacific Shores Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

421 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 386: English reviews
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

While the other rooms appear to have been renovated, the room they assign to those that purchase their Groupon deal is horrid. Dingy and musty, with paper thin walls. We did not sleep well during our stay due to a party next door. We complained, but nothing happened. We had people outside of our door/window all night, as well as... More 

Helpful?
Thank GeeksterGrl
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I assure you it's not a usual occurrence regarding the noise. We were unfortunate to have quite a few loud party-type guests that we had to have leave due to their disregard for everyone else staying with us. We do apologize, and do try to react to these types of disturbances as quickly as possible.... More 

1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

That was worst expierience ever for my family. Broken furniture, stinky odor i was ready to throw up, dirty walls and carpet with holes. We were afraid to sleep at night becouse our son was bited by something. We spend only one night instead of three, continental breakfast had only orange juice and old muffins no tables and chair to... More 

Helpful?
Thank mariusz k
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Thank fully we are scheduled to renovate really soon. This will make a significant difference when it comes to the room. The continental breakfast is very simply fresh pastries delivered each morning, two types of juices, coffee, and a variety of teas. This is exactly what we advertise, and it is all we actually have room for in our lobby.... More 

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The location is great! The room was outdated. Paint on the walls were peeling, the air conditioning was broke. We called the front desk to ask about someone coming to look at it but no one ever came and the TV was dark that we could barely see it. Finally ended up watching a movie on our laptop.

Helpful?
Thank SassyOne2001
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! I always follow up with my maintenance and front desk staff when someone tells me they did not have their request met. I do apologize for that and do stress the importance of this occurring within ten minutes of knowing about the issue. We'll definitely work harder at getting this issue under control. I... More 

Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I had read reviews prior & was skeptical of this place, the price seemed right, only 2 nights how bad could it be? The location was the draw for me, I ensured I was also being put in a "remodeled" room. The room was "visibly" appeals at first. Tried to move a chair & the A/C cover opened up, chair... More 

Helpful?
Thank AZMOM65
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Actually it has been four years since we last remodeled. We are constantly repainting and repairing about everything in every room on a continuous basis. Because of the location, parking can be a challenge especially if you arrive late in the night on a sold out weekend night. Luckily, except for Sunday night - Monday... More 

Vista, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The Hotel 's website shows pictures of nicely decorated and kept rooms. It's a bait and switch. If you don't know to ask for a room like in the website pictures you will get a Dump!!!! The paint was peeling, stench from a toilet that overflowed plus the wet carpet, curtains about to fall off the wall, peeling chairs, the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank marksherrydorsey
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

I'm on your side with this. I know and expect we will be redoing all of our older rooms this winter and spring. I will forward this to my maintenance staff. Every year, following the busy summer/fall season, we have to go through and redo all of the items you listed. I have one person from my staff that only... More 

Fresno
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This Inn is pretty decent, with an amazing location. My wife and I and our 2 young daughters spent 2 nights there and were very happy with the room we got and the value we got for it. It is a bit old and there aren't many options for breakfast, but again if you want more you should look for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrei S
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016

The location of this place is what makes it worth the stay. It's close to the beach and lots of restaurants within walking distance. Mission street is a block away. The rooms were decent but the bathrooms were rundown. The worst part was a weird smell that came from the rug. It made the whole place feel dirty. Also, you... More 

Helpful?
Thank sharifaorama
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2016

I have been coming to this lovely inn every summer for years and was happy that they updated rooms a few years back - but not all! During our last visit we were given a non updated room and it was terrible! Falling apart and stinky (Room 39 to be exact). Luckily the friendly staff was very accommodating and changed... More 

Helpful?
Thank aligia2016
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night after booking thru hotel tonight appt. still paid over $200 but room was not worth a $60.00 rate. Smelled and was old and dirty. Had two chairs that looked like a cat scratched them up for years.. they moved us to a newer remold led room that was still dirty and not taking care of.

Helpful?
Thank Zutti
las vegas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Our one night stay started with us opening the door to an unclean room. The front desk is super slow!. There were four of us and we only were given 3 towels. The air conditioner was so loud too. But, worse than that is the fact that the walls are so thin that I opted to deal with the loud... More 

Helpful?
Thank newtravelors

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#235 of 283 in San Diego
167 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#143 of 283 in San Diego
305 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven Inn
Beach Haven Inn
#120 of 283 in San Diego
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surfer Beach Hotel
#107 of 283 in San Diego
614 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#36 of 283 in San Diego
977 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#164 of 283 in San Diego
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pacific Shores Inn is a quaint inn located at the north end of Pacific Beach. Many of the rooms offer some views of the ocean, and restaurants and shops are just a couple of blocks away. The boardwalk is a 2.5 mile stretch that will take you from the north end of Pacific Beach all the way to the south end of Mission Beach. As you stroll down the boardwalk, you will find ocean front shops and restaurants as well as the famous Belmont Park in Mission Beach. Bike, and surfboard rentals are located within two blocks so there is no reason to pack those items when visiting us. And, every room has a microwave oven, refrigerator, and a coffee maker for your convenience. Some rooms also have full kitchens for those who require that. Parking, and a continental breakfast which includes juice, coffee, and danish are always free. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pacific Shores Inn

Address: 4802 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Price Range: $128 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Shores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Pacific Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Shores Hotel San Diego
Pacific Shores San Diego
Pacific Shores Inn Of Pacific Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pacific Shores Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Pacific Shores Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not do the Groupon deal. Book directly w/hotel to get updated rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles GeeksterGrl, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only stay here if you can be assured of a remodeled room”
 of 5 bubbles marksherrydorsey, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure the room has been updated”
 of 5 bubbles aligia2016, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Only stay if u have an upgraded room but it still is not very clean and ac will keep u up from noise.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbaraPhilly, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here!Beware, they have other hotels, Diamond Head hotel is another one.”
 of 5 bubbles 619kristint, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay