We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 486: English reviews
Start your review of Red Sands Hotel
 Click to rate
Saskatchewan
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This place is clean and basic. This is the 2nd nicest hotel in Torrey. The nicest place is way more expensive. Breakfast was Excellant the 1st day, but terrible the 2nd day. So eat out for breakfast. Pool was full with kids, so can't comment on that. No elevator, but they will carry your bags up to your room. Front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlisonSaskatchewan
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are sorry that your breakfast was not up to par, but we are glad that the staff was able to help make your stay more pleasant. Please visit us again soon!

San Ramon, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a very cute hotel with extremely friendly staff. Our receptionist helped add an additional cot to the room to make it easier for our kids to sleep. Nice breakfast that helped us start the day. We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albekast
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that our staff was helpful and accommodating. Please visit us again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff are very nice and the room was clean but we had a number of problems including a toilet tank that intermittently filled, a shower without a proper splash guard, a fridge that was broken and leaked on the floor. Property has potential if some updates are done. Breakfast was okay but a step below the chains although they try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the problems you had with your room. We are planning updates to the property, so we hope you'll visit us again in the future!

Germantown, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect half-way stop in little Torrey! After a very full day of hiking and ATVing in Moab and after a long drive from the Grand Canyon to Moab the day before, the Red Sands hotel overnight was great for us. (Enjoyed super scenic drive of Hwy 12 to the entrance of Bryce in the morning to break up the 5-6...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristine M
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! It sounds like you had a wonderful time in Torrey, and we are glad to have been a part of your adventure. We hope that you'll come back and visit us again sometime soon!

Bemidji, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This family owned and run hotel is delightful. We asked for a first floor pet friendly room and the general manager accommodated us very nicely. We also decided to utilize the hot tub and they uncovered it just for us. The room was very clean and comfortable and the setting was beautiful. The staff and owners obviously take great pride...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tourchick
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We pride ourselves on a helpful and friendly staff, and we're glad they made your stay more pleasant! Please visit us again soon!

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We had no reservations for the night and came across Red Sands on our way out of Capitol Reef NP. The front desk person was delightful but not pushy. We took a room facing the pasture, horses and snow topped mountains as our view although the staff person said that on the other side was an equally beautiful view of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kathy B
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience at the Red Sands Hotel! We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and delicious breakfast, and we're happy that you enjoy the area as much as we do. Please visit us again soon!

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Located just a few miles west of Capitol Reef National Park, the Red Sands Hotel is an above average budget location. Clean, well appointed rooms are equipped with small refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, oatmeal and cereal. An added bonus is you might be awakened by a neighing horse if you are located on the backside...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank F6362PJjamesb
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and your stay. Please visit us again soon!

Orange, CA
Reviewed 24 December 2016

The staff was very helpful. We had a quiet room at the back overlooking the horses grazing. Clean, basic place to stay. No elevator. Comfortable bed. Nice indoor pool with jacuzzi. Breakfast was basic but good.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SoCalCoupleOrange_CA
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable bed and our relaxing jacuzzi. Please visit us again in 2017!

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a trip around the west. Woman behind counter and man who showed us room were both very friendly. Rooms were clean. Outside was nice and scenery was nice enough our boys enjoyed being outside rather than hiding in the room like most hotels. A true highlight of our trip. Better than some old chain hotel and affordable....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pabrandon
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and found the service friendly. We are thrilled that your boys enjoyed the beautiful area, and we hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Staff was helpful, genuine & kind from check in to snafu with Expedia reservation! Cozy rooms & basic breakfast to get fueled up before the day's adventures. Back patio overlooks a pasture where horses roam. Great spot to bring a coffee to sip and soak in the beauty of Utah!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Suzy M
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful staff, and we're so glad that they were able to help you navigate a difficult reservation experience. We hope you'll come soak in the beautiful sights with us again in 2017!

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
3.2 km away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.6 km away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
674 reviews
1.3 km away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
2.4 km away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
0.9 km away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Red Sands Hotel Capitol Reef your gateway to adventure in one of southern Utah's most beautiful national parks. Red Sands Hotel's clean rooms, new plush beds, flat screen TV's and refreshing pool make it the perfect home base. Start your day with a buffet-style hot breakfast including scrambled eggs or omelets,(selections rotated daily for variety) sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh bagels & breads, seasonal fruit, juices and milk. Of course we serve coffee and tea 24/7 at Red Sands Hotel for your convenience. After an exciting day of hiking through red rock, biking on endless trails, and discovering the beauty of Capitol Reef, relax at Red Sands Hotel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Sands Hotel

Address: 670 East Hwy 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Price Range: $150 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Sands Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Boulder, Co
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Sands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the back to see the horses and mountains!”
768kristinem, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Depends on what you want to look at, horses, pasture, mountains or the red rocks”
kathybN4768ZX, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side, opposite from the road, look out on range land.”
F6362PJjamesb, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask a room in the back”
anectine, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a ground floor room & when making your reservation get the name of the person you talk to or else you will not get the room you want.”
bcwill10, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5