We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 480: English reviews
Orange, CA
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was very helpful. We had a quiet room at the back overlooking the horses grazing. Clean, basic place to stay. No elevator. Comfortable bed. Nice indoor pool with jacuzzi. Breakfast was basic but good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoCalCoupleOrange_CA
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable bed and our relaxing jacuzzi. Please visit us again in 2017!

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a trip around the west. Woman behind counter and man who showed us room were both very friendly. Rooms were clean. Outside was nice and scenery was nice enough our boys enjoyed being outside rather than hiding in the room like most hotels. A true highlight of our trip. Better than some old chain hotel and affordable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pabrandon
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and found the service friendly. We are thrilled that your boys enjoyed the beautiful area, and we hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Staff was helpful, genuine & kind from check in to snafu with Expedia reservation! Cozy rooms & basic breakfast to get fueled up before the day's adventures. Back patio overlooks a pasture where horses roam. Great spot to bring a coffee to sip and soak in the beauty of Utah!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzy M
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful staff, and we're so glad that they were able to help you navigate a difficult reservation experience. We hope you'll come soak in the beautiful sights with us again in 2017!

Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 22 November 2016

This is a basic motel, 2 stories, no elevator. Rooms in the back have a nice rural view. The bed was confortable. The breakfast is very basic, no fruits. The carpet and bathroom could have been cleaner. No restaurants on premise, you have to take the car to have lunch or supper. They have a nice spa and indoor pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anectine
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We're sorry that your room wasn't as clean as we expect them to be, but we're glad that you enjoyed our heated pool and hot tub. We're planning updates to the food offerings at our hotel, so we hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

Roosevelt, Utah
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Clean, mostly quiet stay. Average breakfast, but stay and breakfast was well priced for a quick overnighter. Loved the Torrey area, close to many things we like to see and do.I would stay here again. Didn't get a chance to use pool or hot tub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zbestbiker
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the area. We hope you'll visit us again soon and get a chance to use our heated pool and hot tub!

maryland
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Although a very basic hotel, the Red Sands prove to be a quiet comfortable one night stay. Appears this hotel is popular with bus tours so large groups come and go, but do so pretty quietly. The breakfast was reasonable . My only suggestion would be for the front desk staff to be better trained to be more professional in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travler1976
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we will certainly take your comments about our staff into account for future training. We hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

Tacoma, United States
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The Red Sands Hotel was a clean and convenient place to stay for our trip through Capitol Reef National Park. We asked for recommendations for dinner and were encouraged to try Cafe Diablo. What a delicious meal! Only the continental breakfast was a disappointment. Few options. I will recommend this property to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marsha W
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you were pleased with our staff's dinner recommendation and found your stay enjoyable. We hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

Howell, Michigan
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by the Red Sands Hotel. Ok, the decor is a little dated, but our room was very clean and comfortable. Great for a good night's sleep after a busy day hiking at Capitol Reef. I was traveling with my parents and they definitely appreciated that there was a king sized bed for them and a queen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank notsuzy
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're so glad that we exceeded your expectations and that you and your parents found the room comfortable. We're planning updates to our hotel (including decor), so we hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I was a little concerned when we were given a room overlooking the highway. However, we all slept soundly and none of us had a complaint about traffic noise. The room was clean and comfortable. I would compare it to a Comfort Inn level room. The breakfast was not fancy but it was plentiful and it had something for everyone,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vatrips431
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're so glad that you had a good experience with your room and breakfast, and we hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

new jersey
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Red Sands hotel while we were exploring the Moab area. Beautiful location, peaceful with little balconies and a lovely view, wonderful staff, and easy walking distance to several restaurants. The hot tub and breakfast were both wonderful. We highly recommend you stay in this facility if you want to relax after a busy day. Great value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelwhenyoucan60
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you used our hotel as a home base to explore this beautiful area. We hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
3.2 km away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.5 km away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
649 reviews
1.3 km away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
2.4 km away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
0.9 km away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Red Sands Hotel Capitol Reef your gateway to adventure in one of southern Utah's most beautiful national parks. Red Sands Hotel's clean rooms, new plush beds, flat screen TV's and refreshing pool make it the perfect home base. Start your day with a buffet-style hot breakfast including scrambled eggs or omelets,(selections rotated daily for variety) sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh bagels & breads, seasonal fruit, juices and milk. Of course we serve coffee and tea 24/7 at Red Sands Hotel for your convenience. After an exciting day of hiking through red rock, biking on endless trails, and discovering the beauty of Capitol Reef, relax at Red Sands Hotel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Sands Hotel

Address: 670 East Hwy 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Price Range: $148 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Sands Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Boulder, Co
10 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Sands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask a room in the back”
 of 5 bubbles anectine, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a ground floor room & when making your reservation get the name of the person you talk to or else you will not get the room you want.”
 of 5 bubbles bcwill10, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“from our experience, all of the rooms should be fine, but ones in back have better views, especially from second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles korrynf, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles easyeats57, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Back rooms. With view of mountains and horse grazing area.”
 of 5 bubbles 101NDTraveler2013, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay