We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Broken Spur Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

641 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 503: English reviews
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
473 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean, roomy comfortable room. Near Capitol Reef National Park. Room had king bed with microwave and was large with comfortable bed. There is a restaurant but it was closed. Check on seasonal closure if traveling off season. There was a breakfast buffet with limited continental choices; oatmeal, boiled eggs, toast, cereal, juice etc. sufficient for a morning start.

Helpful?
Thank Sggypsy
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Broken Spur More 

Montana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Torrey was closing down quickly when we visited Capitol Reef Park in early November. We chose the Broken Spur after our first choice had already closed for the season. The Broken Spur was clean and comfortable. The first morning the shower didn't work real well - hot and cold alternately made my shower miserable. The room was quiet with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grandmaof2
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Sorry we didn't have anything you could have for breakfast. Usually if people tell us they have celiac, we can have something ready for you the next morning. Hope to see you again. Broken Spur More 

california
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room and breakfasts were perfectly delightful as was the beautiful setting of the Inn. But, most unforgettable was the kindness shown to us by the owners, Gary and Francine. We (very tired seniors at that point) arrived close to midnight, much later than planned. Fortunately, Gary and Francine, apparently on the lookout for us, came out to the parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank fredjoanie
Peak District
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night as this hotel was near Capitol Reef, the room was okay and clean. The cowboy theme is a bit quirky. Very disappointed the restaurant was closed for the season, we went to the subway, which is close by. The hotel seemed very busy, so it seemed to me they were missing a trick not opening the... More 

Helpful?
Thank R00tsie
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back and see us again. Broken Spur More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came in late after a hiking trip. The staff made accommodations for late arrivals, and it was good to get into my clean, comfortable room. The outside temperature was cool (November), but my room had an efficient wall-mounted heater/air conditioner mounted under the window, and I was toasty warm all night. Mattress was firm and comfortable, and there were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe_Photon
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Broken Spur. Please come back and stay with us again if you are ever back in the area. Broken Spur More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a comfortable, clean, quiet hotel perfectly located close to Capitol Reef National Park and right at the end of the scenic Utah24. We spent the day at Bryce Canyon and then drove about 2.5 hours along Utah24 to this hotel. We parked right outside the ground-floor room. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom well equipped. Plus there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie275
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for such a great review. It's so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will return if you are ever in the area. Broken Spur More 

Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
489 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Broken Spur is a good base for exploring Capital Reef National Park. It's an old style drive- up motel that has been that has been updated. The rooms are decent sized. They have comfortable beds. The carpet in our room was very clean. The motel is located about 15 minutes from the park. The furniture in the rooms are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank photoguywisconsin
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your room. Sorry if nobody was around to help you at the front desk while you were there. During the morning we have a lot to get done and so if nobody is there, it's usually because we are getting things done before we have to check guests in again. As... More 

san diego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was somewhat updated but very basic. There was a dorm fridge and microwave.Good water pressure (although the shower was hot then cold) and the wifi was free. We used the motel as a base for Capitol Reef - location was fine. There are other places closer to the park with better views. We booked... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kmpordagee
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are sorry you missed out on the steakhouse. Most of Torrey businesses usually close down for the season around the end of October. I apologize that you didn't feel very secure in your motel room. We actually just got key cards not even a year ago because we use to have actual keys on all... More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just spent 3 nights at the Broken Spur using it as a base for Capital Reef NP . We were travelling with friends and I had booked two rooms with Queen beds several months ago. Front desk reception was excellent. We were informed that as we were were in the "off season" the restaurant was closed and we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank windsorwand31
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review. It is so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and stay with us again if you are ever back in Torrey. Broken Spur More 

Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed two nights. Room was good sized, clean and comfortable. Beds were very good. Liked the shower (with tub)/toilet being in a separate room from the sink/vanity. Light in the shower/toilet was much too dim. Lights in room could have been brighter too. Breakfast was okay - pancakes and sweet breads. Restaurant was closed except for the breakfast as described.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 553lawrencep
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come back again. Broken Spur More 

475 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (265)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (32)
Viewed
King Room (26)
Viewed
King Suite with Jetted Tub (35)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Queen Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
2.8 km away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.8 km away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
0.5 km away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
2.0 km away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
2.7 km away
The Rim Rock Inn
The Rim Rock Inn
#5 of 8 in Torrey
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Broken Spur Steakhouse
Broken Spur Steakhouse
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have 50 spacious rooms, a conference center, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, full service beauty salon, bakery & gift shop. We are located at the jct of hwy 12 & 24 and are the gateway to Capitol Reef National Park. Because of our hilltop location we have the best views in town. Our rooms have free wi-fi, coffee pots, direct TV, fridges & microwaves. Our on-site steakhouse has a great menu with something for everyone. Our meat is aged for 21 days and is cooked to perfection just the way you like it. We also have a kids menu for children under 12. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Let the Broken Spur be your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Broken Spur Inn

Address: 955 E SR-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Price Range: $90 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Broken Spur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Broken Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Broken Spur Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Norwich, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Longview, Washington
over a year ago
Pinedale, Wyoming
over a year ago
Thompson Springs, Ut
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Broken Spur Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cute, family inn”
 of 5 bubbles Beth246810, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to eat breakfast here even if you do not eat dinner.”
 of 5 bubbles GilB867, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Its a small hotel so I think the rooms are very much the same.”
 of 5 bubbles Utahgal-Cheryl, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor has the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not near the laundry!”
 of 5 bubbles rurn0321, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay