We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Broken Spur Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

648 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 509: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Broken Spur for 3 nights last August so we could explore Torrey, Capitol Reef, and part of the Grand Staircase - Escalante. The hotel was a perfect base location for our visit. Our room was very comfortable and clean. It was a nice sized room with plenty of room for our family of 5. We spent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MyOwnBrandOfCrazy
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just found my notes from our October stay in a queen size room that turned out to be the handicap room, Unit 23, which we did not need. It had very basic and older furniture, although an upgraded TV. (Another traveler recently posted pictures). The chairs were only comfortable with a pillow in it. The lampshade over the table should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shock43
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We only have four single queen sized rooms and two of them are handicap sized. We would have gladly upgraded you to a double queen room, it is only $10 more. We are actually upgrading all of our furniture in all of the rooms and unfortunately we can't get...

Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Broken Spur had a very clean and comfortable room. The front desk staff was friendly and answered all our questions. The complementary breakfast was perfect right before taking off to hike in Capitol Reef. There were hard boiled eggs, yogurt, granola, pancakes, cereal, coffee, and orange juice. No complaints about the Inn! Just be aware if you travel in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CourtClemmons
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You shouldn't have had to travel all the way to Loa to find a place to eat. There is one restaurant in Torrey open and also one in Bicknell. We hope to see you again. Broken Spur

Wallingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The main thing on our road trip was to have comfortable lodging every night. The Broken Spur was at one end of the "town". The room was, indeed, comfortable and clean. Parking is plentiful. There is an indoor swimming pool on site but we did not use it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
ktbfly, Front Office Manager at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Please come back again.

Utah
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a cute motel near Capitol Reef. The room was clean and basic. Beds were comfortable and decorated nicely. No complaints. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Only reason not to give this a 5 Star, was the complementary breakfast left a lot to be desired.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovin_in_Nature
ktbfly, Front Office Manager at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Please come back and stay again. Please be specific in your reviews. "Left a lot to be desired" does not give us feedback that we can work on. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Wyoming, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nothing fancy, but plain old good cowboy decorated bed, nice view, good steak house for supper, and quite a spread for breakfast. You do not need anything more fancy that this. I felt like it really was the way it was in the old west! Staff was great and very helpful, and some of the best food we could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Photo777
ktbfly, Front Office Manager at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write such a kind review. Please come back and stay with us again.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 9 December 2016

There are not a lot of hotel choices near Capitol Reef, the Broken Spur Inn is an acceptable choice. The TV was decent sized and the room included a small table/desk, microwave, and refrigerator. The room was clean and spacious but in no way luxurious. The bed and pillows were ok. Breakfast was pretty basic because the restaurant was closed;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy W
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will return when our steakhouse is open. Broken Spur

Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Clean, roomy comfortable room. Near Capitol Reef National Park. Room had king bed with microwave and was large with comfortable bed. There is a restaurant but it was closed. Check on seasonal closure if traveling off season. There was a breakfast buffet with limited continental choices; oatmeal, boiled eggs, toast, cereal, juice etc. sufficient for a morning start.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sggypsy
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Broken Spur

Montana
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Torrey was closing down quickly when we visited Capitol Reef Park in early November. We chose the Broken Spur after our first choice had already closed for the season. The Broken Spur was clean and comfortable. The first morning the shower didn't work real well - hot and cold alternately made my shower miserable. The room was quiet with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grandmaof2
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Sorry we didn't have anything you could have for breakfast. Usually if people tell us they have celiac, we can have something ready for you the next morning. Hope to see you again. Broken Spur

california
Reviewed 24 November 2016

The room and breakfasts were perfectly delightful as was the beautiful setting of the Inn. But, most unforgettable was the kindness shown to us by the owners, Gary and Francine. We (very tired seniors at that point) arrived close to midnight, much later than planned. Fortunately, Gary and Francine, apparently on the lookout for us, came out to the parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fredjoanie
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very sweet and kind review. We had already left the motel that night for the evening, but I had a feeling we needed to come back and check on things. That is when we saw you in the parking lot and I could tell you were not sure where to go to get your...

482 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (265)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (32)
Viewed
King Room (26)
Viewed
King Suite with Jetted Tub (35)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Queen Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
2.8 km away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.8 km away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
0.5 km away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
2.0 km away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
0.5 km away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Broken Spur Steakhouse
Broken Spur Steakhouse
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have 50 spacious rooms, a conference center, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, bakery, laundromat & gift shop. We are located at the jct of hwy 12 & 24 and are the gateway to Capitol Reef National Park. Because of our hilltop location we have some of the best views in town. Our rooms have free wi-fi, coffee pots, direct TV, fridges & microwaves. Breakfast is included in the price of your room. Our rates are based on double occupancy. Our on-site steakhouse has a great menu with something for everyone. Our meat is aged for 21 days and is cooked to perfection just the way you like it. We also have a kids menu for children under 12. We do serve several varieties of local beer and wine. Our rolls, bread and desserts are baked daily in our very own bakery. We invite you to come stay at the Broken Spur. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Let the Broken Spur be your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Broken Spur Inn

Address: 955 E SR-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Price Range: $109 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Broken Spur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Broken Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Broken Spur Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Broken Spur Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great views in any direction .. walk around the grounds and there are views every direction.”
 of 5 bubbles Photo777, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Cute, family inn”
 of 5 bubbles Beth246810, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to eat breakfast here even if you do not eat dinner.”
 of 5 bubbles GilB867, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Its a small hotel so I think the rooms are very much the same.”
 of 5 bubbles Utahgal-Cheryl, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor has the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay