We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Incentra Village House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Incentra Village House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 119: English reviews
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Besides being very charming, the hotel has a strategic location, since the subway is quite near. There are few nice restaurants and cafés in the neighborhood. The Whitney Museum and the Chelsea Market are not far away. I stayed in a comfortable and nicely furnished room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I do recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi M
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

I couldn't recommend this hotel enough, the location was just perfect - away from all the touristy stuff and in the real heart of New York. However the subway was just one block away, with great links to sightseeing. Way more than I expected for the great price. Will be back again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina B
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed originally with my family for a few days then stayed on for a further 4 nights on my own First I would say that I would not recommend staying in the Stable Room it is full of furniture and odd bits and pieces - and a bed that fell off its block and lights where the wires kept... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle1977
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We have now stayed twice and loved each visit. The location is fantastic, being close to bars, cafes and the subway. The staff are always friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean, with good facilities and have a lovely charm. We stayed in the garden room, which we love for it's outdoor courtyard and kitchen. The cafe next door... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma D
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016

I only needed to overnight in Manhattan so this was a great location (close to the Highline) with an ok room (Garden Suite). I'd recommend if you're looking to visit for business and you won't be spending much time in the room, for a reasonable price.

Helpful?
Thank DrewParagon
Delhi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Incentra is ideally situated in the West village, within walking distance to most downtown and mid-town destinations. It can take a bit of getting used to--especially the narrow stairs if you are traveling with heavy bags or returning late after having had one too many. The beds in our studio--large for NY with a neat kitchen--squeaked with the tiniest movement.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alab_9
Charleston, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

This is quaint place in a great location. Unfortunately I would not stay here again due to the way we were treated upon checking into our room. The website is misleading in that it states the room we chose sleeps four comfortably. However, no where on the website does it say that the rate is not inclusive of up to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha S
picaphoto, Manager at Incentra Village House, responded to this review

As explained to this highly unreasonable woman, prices per night are calculated according to the number of guests you say you are going to be, not according to how many people a room can sleep. This woman made a reservation for one guest, was given a price per night for one guest, was confirmed by email for one guest, yet... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Very friendly staff, super comfy bed and most of all great location! The studio was nice and cosy, with ful kitchenette. Only downside: a bit noisy... But that's something you can't really avoid in such a location I guess

Helpful?
Thank Pauline A
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2015

I have just arrived home after a six night stay in Incentra Village House and can highly recommend it. If you are looking for a warm welcome, an excellent location, super-comfortable bed and a cosy room, this is your place! It also has the most fabulous Managers, Vincent and Violetta: you couldn't find nicer people, they made my stay in... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth S
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Vincent runs the place and he is is FABULOUS !!! He is very welcoming and did everything to make our stay an exceptional experience. Rooms are warm and charming. A refreshing change from the cookie cutter rooms at corporate hotels. Each room has a different personality. We stayed in the Garden Suite. Imagine your own private tiny garden in the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#24 of 477 in New York City
2,027 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#152 of 477 in New York City
2,553 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#113 of 477 in New York City
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#211 of 477 in New York City
1,634 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#179 of 477 in New York City
1,286 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 477 in New York City
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West Village

Neighbourhood Profile
West Village
Stretching from Sixth Avenue to the Hudson River, the West Village is one of the city’s most coveted addresses. Full of trendy shops, historic taverns, and cozy restaurants set amid 19th century architecture, this neighbourhood has a unique old-world feel. You won’t find a more picturesque location in Manhattan. Without the traditional city grid layout, it’s easy to get lost here, but that’s part of the fun as you stroll down elegant narrow streets with beautiful brownstones. When you need a break, you can always stop in at one of the many quaint eateries or cafes to soak in the atmosphere, or head to the western edge of the neighborhood to enjoy magnificent waterfront views while taking a leisurely walk in Hudson River Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Incentra Village House, an Historic Inn, was built in 1841, and occupies two brick landmark townhouses in New York City's Greenwich Village Historic District. As an attractive alternative to Midtown's steel and glass, the Village House offers our guests a warm welcome in our cozy front office featuring a fireplace, antique furnishings and artwork. All of our guests are welcome to relax with our supply of newspapers, magazines, and books. To get to your room you'll wander down narrow halls and up charming old stairways to one of 11 unique rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Incentra Village House

Address: 32 Eighth Ave., New York City, NY 10014
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Price Range: $315 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Incentra Village House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Incentra Village House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Incentra Village House Hotel New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Incentra Village House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Incentra Village House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Indian Room”
  • The bathroom door and the kitchenette
 of 5 bubbles gigim997, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Select the India room, so cosy!”
 of 5 bubbles 984paulinea, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Choose a back room for a quite stay and a front room for the view and the sounds of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles petersB9292IH, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“If you don't want to negotiate lots of stairs, then choose the Stable as your room. It is located 3 steps below street level.”
 of 5 bubbles 7dawnf, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
“mine(Maine) was on the street, but was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Colettemol, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay