We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
13 people are viewing this hotel
Travelocity
US$409
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Hotels.com
US$409
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
FindHotel
US$345
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Expedia.comUS$409
Trip.comUS$355
Orbitz.comUS$409
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (606)
Room & Suite (114)
Dining (60)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 14/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 14/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#65 of 515 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Refined, sophisticated, smart and simple, yet flamboyant and provocative, all at the same time. Our universally appealing guest rooms & hotel are thoughtfully designed, down to every last finish and detail, with distinct zones for sleeping, relaxing, working and entertaining.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1211Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 853
  • 170
  • 84
  • 51
  • 53
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sterling K wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Before arriving at the Public Hotel my experience with the hotel was soured. A week prior to my reservation I had not received any confirmation email or number to look up my reservation. I also wanted to prepay the trip and request an credit card authorization form. To sum that experience I did not adequately get the help I needed until I called the morning of for 2nd time. My partner and I arrived early to drop our bags off before heading upstate for the day. No doubt Public Hotel is a beautiful property. One of our first stop at the property was the lower bar, the bartender (Henry) from Ecuador (I believe) was wonderful with recommendations and made delicious cocktails. Then we were welcomed by Anthony & Axel who were helpful and hilarious. I asked Anthony if it was possible for me to prepay my reservation as a surprise for my partner and he said he will have someone from the back send me a CCA. True to his word he had a CCA sent before us leaving the property for our day trip upstate. I quickly filled it out and asked to email me once the CCA has been received and verified there would be no issues upon check in. I also found it weird they don’t ask to send an ID for the CCA but apparently that’s just not a common practice on this property. Arriving back on property to check in I did not know what to expect. (I did not receive any email from a manager confirming my CCA has been received.) It was 9pm on a Saturday night and extremely busy. There was a security guard and one overwhelmed guest service agent. I truly felt bad for the woman, I tried to check in with the kiosk but it was unclear if the correct payment was being taken. The GSA tried her best to help me (I admit at this point I was tired and annoyed with her) but she was being overwhelmed with other check ins, food delivery and getting items from the bell closet. She had to call someone from the back to help me. Explained the situation again, the woman who helped me was like yeah we got the CCA and it’s all setup so matter of fact. But there was no way to see or reassure that to me. Crazy thing about the check in process. No ID taken to verify a thing. For the incidentals I provided my partners credit card which is a different name on the reservation I don’t think they checked. As well as since I checked in with a GSA there. Was no explanation on how much my credit card was being authorized or anything to sign. It all seems like it can be a big security risk on for them. Overall any interaction I had with anyone working the floor was wonderful. Even later that night the overwhelmed GSA and I had a moment apologize for our first reaction. The was a waitress at the bar downstairs who helped me with getting oysters, truffles and a Manhattan to my room. Steven helped us get a cab and make sure we get to the airport on time. The elevator attendant to the rooftop amazing and hilarious. The staff really tried their best for what little support and resources they have. I think it’s weird they have to alway call “the back” for support or physically leave to the back to get help or get permission for basic thing a GSA should do. The room was as expected. Very cute and small. The apple airplay did not work like a lot of reviews say. My partner was grumpy because she couldn’t watch her shows at 2 am. Also, the bed made a lot of noise, we heard our neighbors and i am sure they heard us. The shower also had poor draining. The drink fridge barely kept thing chilled the truffles I purchased downstairs didn’t keep chilled after one day. I did read reviews and the hotel’s response in regards to next time let us know of the issues while on the property. So throughout the entire stay I emailed my experience. I checked out almost a week ago still have not heard anything back. Zero acknowledgment from management. The staff really get the short end of the stick here and I feel for them so bad for this beautiful but poorly managed hotel. I would return just for the staff but chances are most will probably leave by next year.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gabrielle H wrote a review Apr 2022
Paris, France4 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I had an amazing weekend with my best friend at the Public Hotel. I loved the efficiency of the Public App and self check-in. The hotel staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. Angel and Wolfgang were the best!! We had one small hiccup and they helped us us every step of the way. We enjoyed dining at Popular and had great pastries and coffee at Louis. We can’t wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PUBLIC Service Team, Guest Services / Front Office at PUBLIC Hotel
Responded 28 Apr 2022
Hi GabrielleHb! We are thrilled to know you and your best friend have enjoyed your stay at PUBLIC and all that is has to offer! Thank you so much for sharing your experience and letting us know you were well taken care of...we will be sure to let Angel and Wolfgang know how much they impacted your stay, they are real gems! We look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cgrossman wrote a review 21 Sep
San Jose, California2 contributions
Do you want to stay at a hostel that charges like a luxury hotel? Do you want a toilet and sink that doesn’t work? Does your Instagram need some new pictures? If you answered yes to any of the above, this may be the place for you. The hotel is beautiful and sleek but uncomfortable and unwelcoming. Definitely drop by for a drink on the roof but avoid staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jay Z wrote a review 19 Sep
Chicago, Illinois3 contributions
A hip hotel that is bare bones when it comes to service and comfort. For a 4 star hotel, it’s pretty disappointing. I’d argue it’s a 3 star at best. It feels like an expensive hostel. Location is good, bar/rooftop are awesome, but service is non-existent. You show up and have to check yourself in via an iPad. Bag storage in help yourself lockers. The claim is that it’s “modern rethought service” - but really it’s just them being cheap and not wanting to pay more staff. They claim to have a Concierge on their website, but I asked and they don’t. I asked for an Italian dinner recommendation (we’re in Nolita, right next to Little Italy), and the guy told me he only knows places on the upper east. What?!?…. Room is fine- small, but fine. Bed is very noisy and on a rickety frame that is barely off the ground. Everything in the room feels cheap and it’s not a place you want to hang. Public spaces are great, but usually filled with local hipsters that are locked into their Macbook and are just using the WiFi for free.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: High floors are quieter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David H wrote a review 18 Sep
1 contribution
We stayed in Public from Monday to Friday and paid for a park view. We were excited to see something exciting for our first experience in New York (we'd paid £270 a nihgt, so not ridiculous but enough to expect something). As it turned out the 5th floor view overlooked a basketball court with a chap tripping out on spice and (in the foreground) a massive bird crap in the middle of the floor to ceiling window. We went for a drink in the bar before going out for a night and we sat at the bar and we felt like we were an embarrassing inconvenience. Everyone in the bar was achingly cool and the Barman couldn't give a toss if we were there or not. I would advise that this is a fantastic place to stay if you're cool, want to look cool or if someone's paid some money for you to be there and look cool. If you want to stay somewhere that looks like it looks on the pictures when you book the hotel and want to enjoy your stay on New York, try somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Phil Z wrote a review 15 Sep
1 contribution
This was the best experience we had the bartender Louis Sanchez he was fantastic. If I could have any bartender I think Louis would be my first choice. His hospitality was the best I received all year. I hope to come back to New York soon and see Luis soon!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PUBLIC Service Team, Guest Services / Front Office at PUBLIC Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thanks so much for sharing Phil! We will be sure to pass on the very kind words to Luis! I am sure it will make his day! We look forward to welcoming you bac for another visit soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer-Lee K wrote a review 12 Sep
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was pretty surprised at the lack of accommodations made by this hotel at the time of check-in. I had called previously (approximately two weeks prior to my stay) to inquire about an early check-in as I had a red eye flight the night prior and arrived on Saturday, September 3rd at roughly 9:30AM. I was told by the representative at the time that they would request an early check-in but due to the limited availability of the room I had selected, they could not promise an early check-in which I understood and agreed to. The time of check-in as stated on the reservation confirmation was 3:00PM (ET). My room did not become available to me until after 5:00PM (ET) and only after I made multiple follow-up inquiries with the staff about the status of my room. The associate working shared that she would apply a complimentary late check-out (an hour later than the usual checkout time) which doesn't exactly settle the inconvenience this caused me. The lobby setup by the way consists of one person actually assisting guests and the rest were self check-in kiosk stations. When we did finally access our room, I noticed the inside was quite barren. Super amazing view but that was about the highlight of it all. There was a towel per person and any additional toiletries would need to be requested from the front desk who almost never answered their phone throughout the duration of my stay. Additionally, for items that are commonly found in a luxury hotel room, you instead had to access a common room on your floor with the door labeled "Essentials" that literally looked like an abandoned closet filled with random things once could help themselves to. I was very dissatisfied to have paid over $3,000 for a 4-night stay to have my experience play out like this. I made multiple requests for a Manager to contact me both in-person and via email and have yet to hear back from anyone. My suggestion is if you'd like a nice view, location and reasonable accommodations, seek out an alternative as there are several options in NY where you can get more bang for your buck. This was essentially a hostel with a pretty bow on top.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Drianapao wrote a review 7 Sep
2 contributions
If you are in NY, a place you should go definitely is this incredible Rooftop with a wonderful view of the city. The cocktails are great, but the most incredible of my entire experience was meeting Luis Sánchez the bartender, he was extremely friendly, always very attentive, the best service I have received and I would certainly return to the place for his excellent service
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PUBLIC Service Team, Guest Services / Front Office at PUBLIC Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your amazing experience with us! We are so thrilled to know how much you've enjoyed the ROOF and especially Luis! We will be sure to pass on the incredibly kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wanderer782370 wrote a review 6 Sep
United States3 contributions2 helpful votes
Easy check in process and a delicious breakfast while I waited for my room to be ready. The pisco bar is such a great touch. It’s a really beautiful place to spend time and I enjoyed the entire hotel. After an evening out we returned to see the rooftop bar and enjoyed the ride up with the very personable Richie. Hats off to the staff there because everyone was very kind and gave attention to every detail. A friend did accidentally drop her ID and it was very dark and hard to find. We tried to go to the security office the next day and unfortunately that’s when our luck ran out with the hospitality as the person on duty had zero desire to be helpful and look through the very clearly marked “drivers licenses” folder. Alas licenses can be replaced and she was taking a train instead of a flight but that could have been a different conversation with a more pressing need for a license and a more confrontational guest.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PUBLIC Service Team, Guest Services / Front Office at PUBLIC Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
We are so glad that your were able to enjoy the hotel and so much we offer, however, we are very sorry to hear about your experience after loosing an ID. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We take personal responsibility in taking care or you when you stay with us, and there is no excuse for this team member's behavior. All PUBLIC employees must participate in a rigorous training program and this kind of behavior is known to not be tolerated. We will investigate this situation further. We do hope you'll give PUBLIC another chance and come back to visit us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chadi d wrote a review 5 Sep
1 contribution
Great experience, great staff. Rooms view and rooftop vibe are amazing In the elevator Richie was professional and welcoming!; even made a fun jokes to welcome the people. Kam the reservation manager was great at every level. He accommodated us every night, always professional Best bartender Tenzen, efficient and you never feel like you are waiting even when busy
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PUBLIC Service Team, Guest Services / Front Office at PUBLIC Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share this great experience! We are thrilled to know you've enjoyed so much that the hotel has to offer, especially our fantastic bartenders. We will be sure to let them know all your kind words! We hope to welcome you back for another visit again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$377 - US$622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityTenderloin / Chelsea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
367
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about PUBLIC Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to PUBLIC Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Economy Candy (0.5 km), St. Patrick's Old Cathedral (0.3 km), and Williamsburg Bridge (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at PUBLIC Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at PUBLIC Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at PUBLIC Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at PUBLIC Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to PUBLIC Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Il Laboratorio Del Gelato, Rubirosa, and Rice to Riches.
Are there opportunities to exercise at PUBLIC Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at PUBLIC Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at PUBLIC Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does PUBLIC Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at PUBLIC Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.