We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The James New York

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The James New York
The James New York
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The James New York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,188: English reviews
Livingston, New Jersey
Reviewed 20 November 2014

Stayed overnight to for a business meeting with clients. Hotel was great. Staff was excellent and very helpful. Rooms are on the smaller side but immaculate. No complaints. Would absolutely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Good T
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review

Dear Good T, We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. We’re glad you had a generally enjoyable time. Thanks for providing feedback. We look forward to your next visit. All the best, Gissel Barriola Guest Services Manager

New York
Reviewed 13 November 2014

The location is great considering the agency I was visiting. There are plenty of shops and resturants. The room was very clean and comfortable. The fitness room on the 17th floor was nice with a great city view. The second day of my two day stay, I wasnt able to use the treadmill since one of the two machines was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrj0hns
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review

Dear mrjOhns, Thank you for such a kind review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I definitely agree with you on The James Fitness Center. The unobstructed views of Manhattan are a nice treat. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return soon. The rooftop bar opens to the surrounding neighborhood in the evening, but guest...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 13 November 2014

We had a fantastic stay here at The James, the staff we extremely helpful & accommodating to our needs, In particular Kenny & Jimmy. Love the rooftop bar, has inside & out to cater for the cold weather, AMAZING VIEWS!! David Burkes Kitchen had great food & good service, however the music was "very loud" (We love our music &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MilliMercer
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review

Dear MilliMercer, We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. You pointed to some of our most unique features, including DBK our restaurant and , and JIMMY our rooftop bar. Our team members strive to go above and beyond so we appreciate you acknowledging all their hard work. Thanks...

Toronto
Reviewed 11 November 2014

I stayed at The James for a weekend in late October and I really hoped to be blown away by The James. This was not the case. The hotel had come highly recommended to me by several colleagues. The location is great, no complaints there but the hotel is just mediocre. Its lacking any of the bells or whistles which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DiniToronto
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review

Dear DiniToronto, Every piece of guest feedback is valuable to us, therefore, thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. It is unfortunate that you encountered the series of issues you describe. We will continue to improve. We will review your feedback with our team. If you are interested in further discussing privately, please feel free to contact us...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 November 2014

The James is great - well located in Soho and an easy walk to the West Village, Tribeca and near a subway stop that makes it easier to get uptown if need be. Great shopping all around and a safe neighborhood. One big negative was the attached restaurant, David Burke's Kitchen. My family and I received some of the worst/...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Armani K
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review

Dear Armani K, It’s disappointing to hear that you didn’t have a flawless experience. We strive to improve each day so thank you for the candid feedback. I wanted to personally apologize for the many conveniences you experienced during your visit to DBK. This is not typical of first impression we strive to provide. We will review your feedback with...

Reviewed 9 November 2014

The James is really great. it is located in the South-West side of SoHo, about 2 minutes walk from the subway, and 4 minutes walk from the west river. The Hotel is a tall building looking at most NYC directions (depends on your room view). The room is very good, not huge but modern, equipped and comfort. the staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ophir C
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review

Dear Ophir C, It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for such a kind review. We’re also happy you enjoyed our prime location in Soho. The boutiques and eateries are truly unbeatable. Hopefully you’ll return very soon. Overall, I’m glad our team left you with a positive impression. Thank you again for the feedback. Sincerely, Gissel Barriola...

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2014

Great location & our room had a lovely view. Love the free wifi and filtered water. However, the AC / heating roars on and off all night. "Free breakfast" is disappointing. Service feels impersonal. Overall an average experience for a lot of money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank msekh
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review

Dear Msekh, Thank you for choosing The James for your travels to New York. It’s great to hear how much you enjoyed your overall stay. I’m happy you were able to enjoy some of the features of the hotel from our great location to our friendly team. We’re disappointed you didn’t get a true James experience. We hope you return...

london
Reviewed 6 November 2014

This hotel has a great downtown location on 6th Avenue & Grand Street, within easy striking distance of all the great shops, bars & restaurants in Soho. The lobby & rooms are discreetly hip, not screamingly trendy; furnishings are elegant & minimal but also very comfortable. I would return for the sleep quality alone - rooms are well insulated, beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonCLK
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review

Dear LondoCLK, Glad you enjoyed your visit to The James! Thanks for taking time to share feedback. I’d have to agree with you on the views from our view from the rooftop. They’re unbeatable and being in Soho avoids the hustle and bustle of Midtown while still getting an authentic New York experience. We appreciate your recommendation. Until your next...

Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 November 2014

In summer we could find 4* and 5* hotels for half the rate but if you really want to treat yourself to a hotel that ads something extra to your stay, consider The James in Soho. The service is just perfect, so friendly and helpful. And the location really feels relaxing, very different from the business hotels up town. And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tourist22300910
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review

Dear Tourist22300910, Your recommendation means a lot to us. Thanks for taking time to share about your stay. You described The James perfectly. We’re also happy you had a chance to use our bikes to enjoy the prime location in Soho. The boutiques and eateries are truly unbeatable. Thanks again. Until your next visit. Cheers, Gissel Barriola Guest Services Manager

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 5 November 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by friends who raved about it. The hotel is beautiful on the corner of Soho. The rooms were for the most part, clean and beautiful views. However, had some issues with the staff. Arrived at check-in and our room wasn't ready so checked our bags and walked around. Came back to check in and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cjcloud
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review

Dear Cjcloud, It’s disappointing to hear that you didn’t have a flawless experience. We strive to improve each day so thank you for the candid feedback. I wanted to personally apologize for the many conveniences you experienced during your stay. This is not typical of first impression we strive to provide. We will review your feedback with our team. On...

605 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (300)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (114)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (278)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Apartment Suite (31)
Viewed
Penthouse (51)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (72)
Viewed
Standard Guest Room (26)
Viewed
Studio Corner King (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#61 of 477 in New York City
617 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#161 of 477 in New York City
2,796 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#200 of 477 in New York City
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#42 of 477 in New York City
247 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 477 in New York City
381 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#20 of 477 in New York City
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoHo

Neighbourhood Profile
SoHo
Once the artistic hub of New York City, SoHo (South of Houston) is now one of the premiere shopping destinations in the world. Housing everything from the most popular luxury brands to swank boutiques you won’t find anywhere else, this is a sophisticated shopper’s dream come true. Broadway teems with big-name stores and people during the day, while Prince and Spring Streets are the other main drags to explore by foot. Take a detour down the quieter side streets to see the real star of the district –majestic cast-iron architecture everywhere you look. What were once warehouses and art studios are now meticulously restored loft buildings favored by many of New York’s celebrities, making SoHo one of the trendiest addresses in the city. The pretty streets of Nolita (North of Little Italy) offer a more sedate vibe, with plenty of tiny boutiques and hip restaurants to seek out.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The James New York

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Price Range: $419 - $902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
#118 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The James New York staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The James New York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles mmpehp, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The staff lie about rooms. I booked a Delux King Size and it was identical in size to a queen but with a king bed. Don't be ripped off.”
 of 5 bubbles jaimen, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms nice but no need to splurge for high floor”
 of 5 bubbles pelun, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Corner studios offer incredible views and are worth the slight bump in price.”
  • View from room 1503.
 of 5 bubbles RPMChicago, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Aim for the north or east sides, and not directly below the bar/pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Agnese_and_M, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay