We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
6 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Booking.com
US$169
View deal
Expedia.com
US$169
View deal
Vio.com
US$145
View deal
Hotels.comUS$169
PricelineUS$169
AlgotelsUS$240
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (651)
Room & Suite (321)
Dining (18)

About

#399 of 518 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The DoubleTree New York Downtown rises high above the Stone Street Historic District in lower Manhattan. Just blocks from the NYSE, Battery Park, and the South Street Seaport, our modern, high-rise hotel in the heart of the Wall Street / Downtown Financial District offers spectacular views of downtown Manhattan, Brooklyn, and Ellis Island. Enjoy upscale DoubleTree comfort and a great lower Manhattan hotel location equally convenient to Newark Liberty International, JFK, and LaGuardia Airports. Warmly appointed, stylish guest rooms and suites feature state-of-the-art amenities, LCD TVs, complimentary WiFi, pampering bath amenities, and our luxurious Sweet Dreams bed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Car park
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
188Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
61Attractionswithin 0.5 km
3295Reviews88Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 802
  • 1,099
  • 746
  • 352
  • 296
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
flyingmg wrote a review Nov 2022
Beautiful PA124 contributions93 helpful votes
Hotel itself is OK and 3 stars. Small room, slow elevators. But the front desk staff are friendly. However, their restaurant Antica Ristorante is terrible. Food quality is low. Watery eggs, soggy bacon. Not much other breakfast choices. Servers are not eager to serve. Most of the time just stand in front with nothing to do. They don't refill water. To make it worse, bill automatically adds 20% tips on their inflated prices without our knowledge/permission. Our group size is 4. RUDE !! Maybe that's why they don't bother to work hard.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid its restaurant Antica Ristorante
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our hotel and restaurant. While we do appreciate your kind words for our front desk team, we do regret that your dining experience was not as positive. We will address your feedback with our team so that we can make improvements. We hope you will stop by again so that we can create a better stay for you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Camille G wrote a review Aug 2022
D.C.39 contributions29 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This Hilton just works for us. It's new, it's clean, quiet and comfy, it's well-located just off Penn Station, which means you don't have to grab a taxi or hit the subway when you get in, you just walk two small blocks. Speaking of subways, the lines within walking distance are super-convenient to both Brooklyn and Upper Manhattan/ the Bronx (and other places). By the way, because the hotel is new, the Central Air Conditioning was very quiet. The staff was super-nice, and I mean it. Truly helpful. There is no breakfast, but they gave us a credit and actually, you don't need their breakfast because right at the corner of 8th Ave. and W. 36th Street, there is a deli, the ESSEN, which has everything you can possibly want for breakfast and a sitting area. Truly a very wide choice of food and fresh food (also food made to order). Every hotel should have such a deli next door. And the warm chocolate chip cookies are back !!!! We like that Hilton so much we've already booked our third stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Even the rooms on the lower floors are quiet, because of the new, double-pane windows !
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 30 Aug 2022
Camille, we loved reading that you fully enjoyed your stay and that you have already booked your next one with us! Your positive words for our hotel and location are appreciated and will be helpful for those looking to visit the area. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ToptravellerLondon wrote a review Nov 2022
london64 contributions102 helpful votes
Had a recent 7 night stay at the DoubleTree Hilton Downtown NY and it was average at best. The situation with the lifts can be very annoying depending on the time of day and it is true you could be waiting for 20 minutes for the lift and I was on the 39th floor. It took me about 5 mins to walk down but after a 10 minute warning from someone else who was waiting before me I was not in a position to wait! Check in was very cold and as a HH Gold member I expected more (regardless). I had to extend my booking before arriving and after several calls with Hilton customer service nothing was acknowledged about ensuring I didn't have to switch rooms during my stay. Even getting a message on the app asking, 'how can we make your stay awesome ' WELL I DID RESPOND HOW but it was a waste of time!! So disappointing. So I was rudely told I would have to stay in one room and switch over then on the day I did there was another RUDE member of staff who was going to make me bring my luggage down in the foyer and come back at 4pm to check in again...WHAT A JOKE!!! I simply refused and waited to speak to another member of staff (Analisee, I might have spelled her name wrong) but she finally used some level of customer service and swapped my room without any issue. Honestly they need to train their staff properly so inconsistent. HH Gold member gey a $18 credit for the breakfast buffet that will cost you $25 in total. The quality is poor, but it is a DoubleTree. The is an Essen round the corner where the quality is better for breakfast or lunch so just pay a bit extra and go there! I only used the $18 credit 3 times as it was more convenient but the staff were friendly and attentive. The rooms itself were pretty good , first was a city view room and then a Hudson view room. The Hudson view room was quite nice in fairness and the view was decent. My city view room stank of weed, ironically on arrival and each time after the room was serviced. After a few days I then realised a number of the staff smoke weed themselves as when they entered the lift the literally stank of the stuff and the were doing the room cleaning. Way to go Hilton!! The lift situation is exacerbated by the staff using the lift to go through the floors. THEY NEED THEIR OWN LIFT OTHERWISE THE SITUATION WILL CONTINUE TO BE A PROBLEM The guy doing the luggage on the ground floor was nice and helpful for directions and general tips..!! He is an asset to the hotel. The location is in Wall Street and is about 30 mins from Times Square on the subway. Its pretty easy to get around as there are a number of stations by the hotel. The main reason people will stay here is mainly the price point compared to other NYC hotels. Having stayed in numerous Hilton and associated brands globally this one really let's the side down. The fact that it's relatively new is a joke and the decor in the city view rooms was poor. I found the Riu Hotel near times Square as a friend was staying there and next time I'm in NYC I will definitely be staying there as for a similar price point this hotel was far superior! Hilton points or no Hilton points!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Breakfast at essen
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 5 days ago
We genuinely regret we missed several opportunities to better assist you and for the challenging experience you were faced with when you checked in. We apologize for your disappointment and will continue to work with our staff to be more attentive to our guests' needs. Please know, our management team is always available should you wish to further discuss your stay. Thank you for your review and loyalty to the Hilton Brand. It is our hope to welcome you back so that we can surpass your expectations in every way.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Familycymru wrote a review Nov 2022
Cwmbran, United Kingdom7 contributions5 helpful votes
The hotel was close to Times Square. The staff were not friendly. I was ripped off by the hotel. When I went to book a taxi to the airport he said this man can help and pointed to the man next to him. I thought it was a bit odd. They charged me 120 dollars to get to the airport and gave the receipt in Spanish. When I complained to the hotel all they have said is the taxi firm is not allowed behind the desk and the cost is dependent on number of passengers and bags. I was travelling with my two teenage daughters. We had 2 normal sized suitcases and three carry on luggage. Ripping off a single parent.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t book a taxi through the hotel. There are lots of other hotels on the same road. Stay there...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your travels from our hotel. We regret to read about your experience and we will look into your concerns with our team. We hope you and your daughters had a pleasant flight home and look forward to one day welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Josh G wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
On the final night of my stay, my bathroom ceiling began to leak water. I overheard maintenance telling the front desk a toilet had overflowed on the floor above my room. The front desk tried to lie and tell me it was rain even though I was 15 floors from the roof and the rain was light. This is not only insulting, it is unsanitary. Don’t stay here. They’re unapologetic and disgusting. Worst NYC hotel I’ve ever stayed at by a long shot.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We sincerely regret that this unusual maintenance concern impacted your stay, and we can appreciate your frustration. We will address your feedback with our team so that we can better handle situations like this and ensure our guests' comfort. Please allow us another opportunity to restore your trust.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel wrote a review Nov 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom2 contributions
+1
The hotel is in a brilliant location, you’re a 4 minute walk from numerous subway stations and lines into uptown Manhattan and Brooklyn. The hotel itself is dated for the amount of money they ask for a night. This does not include breakfast. They also take a $250 security deposit on each room which we had not budgeted for. This was a lot on the 3 rooms we booked. The rooms are very small and dated. The toilet seat was loose in our room and the towel rack and hook on the back of the door were missing/falling off. There was no bath only a small shower. The building has over 40 floors and the wait for the lift daily was very long. We had to walk down 29 flights of stairs on a couple of occasions due to waiting ages for the lift. The staff were however lovely and polite.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Although you are away from the main attractions such as Times Square, there are numerous subways...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking a moment to share your honest impressions with us. While we're pleased you enjoyed the convenience of our location, it is disappointing to read that several other aspects of your stay were less than satisfactory. We sincerely apologize for the maintenance concerns with your guest room, and for the wait time you experienced with our elevators. Our team will be looking into your feedback to have these areas resolved right away and to learn how we can further improve our guest experience and enhance our overall value. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a better stay soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eddythesee wrote a review Oct 2022
Boulogne-Billancourt, France1 contribution
Good choice for a business trip. Good location in the city. The neighborhood is very interesting. The rooms are cleaned and big enough for 1 person. The staff is very efficient and can help you if necessary. Point of attention: the elevators are terrible...slow and far from being enough for a building of this size ! Plan in advance when you leave your room (especially if you are about floor 15 🙂
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Eddy, we are pleased you chose to stay with us for your business trip to the area! Your positive words for our hotel, staff, and location are appreciated. We do regret if you were delayed in any way using our elevators and hope any inconveniences were minimal. Whether you are in the area for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brunkmaster wrote a review Oct 2022
Sweden445 contributions51 helpful votes
Actually in a good area, away from the huge hordes of tourists that you see in Midtown around Times Square. Extremely slow elevators that stop on many floors on your way down. Even staff use the elevators so if you are in a rush dont stay at this hotel. I even took the steps down one day from the 30th floor, and it was faster.. Small rooms that look smaller than in their pictures. But at least my room had a mini fridge which was nice. Overall I was actually positively surprised, as I stayed at a super nice hotel in Midtown but I liked this hotel more since it was way more quiet!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 5 weeks ago
We always enjoy reading when our guests have a restful stay as your comfort is important to us. Your positive words for our location are appreciated and we thank you for your review. It will be great to have you stay with us again at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Renvichi wrote a review Oct 2022
Anguillara Sabazia, Italy24 contributions5 helpful votes
On my arrival acceptance done Boy unkind and rude personel. The worst experience I have ever had as a traveling manager. Very little rooms and average bad conditions. I did not know where to put my luggage. Prices highly overestimated. The Street is dirty and not much illuminated.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 20 Oct 2022
Renvichi, thank you for sharing your candid review. We truly regret that your stay was not as you had anticipated and apologize that your interaction with one of our staff was not welcoming. We will address this with our team as we only want to provide the best service to our guests. We hope to one day welcome you back so that we can provide you with a better stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dianne D wrote a review Oct 2022
New York City, New York1 contribution
I am a native New Yorker who chose this hotel because of its location and ALL the area had to offer during an extended visit to New York to see friends and family. The hotel is intimate and cozy and offers comfort in the middle of a big city. The Front Desk is professional and offered a warm welcome, patience and a welcome goodies to all. The restaurant bar offered excellent food and most of all, the best service from the waiters to the captain who were so proud - and hard workers. The bellman on departure truly cared about the guests and helping them with taxis, etc. Every place has its pros and cons. The hotel is 40 something stories high and slim so the elevators require some patience at peak - but everything requires patience. The rooms had all the amenities we look for from refrigerator to coffee maker and were clean AND if you choose allow fresh air in which is important to me -- I love hearing street sounds in the distance. Where else can you be two blocks from the NYSE? Battery Park? American Indian Museum? Stone Street? Ferry to Staten Island and Governor's Island and South Street Seaport. NY - I LOVE YOU Forever and Doubletree -- I'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: For fast access out, choose a lower floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Responded 17 Oct 2022
It was truly our pleasure to welcome you back to your first love, NYC! We are happy you enjoyed your stay visiting the area and catching up with family and friends and we thank you for allowing us to be part of this. Your kind words for our hotel and staff are valued and we can't wait to welcome you back to DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown the next time you are visiting the city.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$141 - US$305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityDowntown Manhattan (Downtown) / Financial District / Manhattan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
399
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOUBLETREE BY HILTON NEW YORK DOWNTOWN (S̶$̶2̶6̶6̶) S$233: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 788 Photos (New York City) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Komnata Quest Manhattan (0.5 km), Stone Street Historic District (0.2 km), and Ellis Island Immigration Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Delmonico's, Leo's Bagels, and The Dead Rabbit.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to DoubleTree by Hilton New York Downtown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (0.8 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (0.8 km), and Hamilton Park (7.2 km).