We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Panoramas (68)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,640 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,443: English reviews
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Excellent location two blocks from the recently opened highline city park, and surrounded by a multitude of trendy restaurants and shops. The decor is eclectically modern and bright with a hint of kitsch with cowhide rugs in the lobby mingling with moorish stools, a purple pool table and pop art paintings on the walls. The room we had was spacious,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brancusirocks
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear brancusirocks, Thank you for the detailed review. We’re delighted you enjoy the location and overall atmosphere of our property. There seems to have been a bit of miscommunication during your visit and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it caused. Redemption feels good, and we are certain that staying with us for a second time will provide a positively...

London
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Nice room, good size and well air conditioned for the very humid days. Bed very comfortable and not as much noise as I thought there might be having seen the youngsters heading for the rooftop! I'd certainly go back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CDM1
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear CDM1, Thank you for sharing your experience. It’s great you enjoyed a peaceful and comfortable stay in the city. Next time, you should take a trip to our rooftop – the views are incredible and is less busy earlier in the day. Stop by in the morning and enjoy a mimosa while overlooking the Hudson River, and later indulge...

Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a night for our anniversary ...upon walking In the girl at the front desk was not very pleasant....she gave me a snooty "hi" and that was it no "how are you" or "how can I help you " However our room was modern and chic but a little on the small side The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsRI
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear MrsRI, Thank you for the review and congratulations on your anniversary! We sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding upon check-in, especially since first impressions are arguable the most important impression to make. We are looking into your concerns to assure that every guest is provided the warmest welcome upon arrival. On another note, we’re delighted you enjoy our amenities, rooftop...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I love the Meatpacking District of NYC. I forget that I like to stay here but then when I return, I love it. The old brick streets, random tables and chairs in the middle of intersections - and a nice non-touristy feel (minus the Highline - that is where I found all of the tourists!) Amazing shopping and dining right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica J
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear Erica J, Thank you for the review. We are sincerely disappointed in your negative experience during your stay and would love a second chance to exceed your expectations. The location is wonderful, however you should have an inviting place to come back to at the end of the day. We regret you didn’t feel this way about our hotel....

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very hip, cool upper deck bar, dancing. Great for the 25-55year old...Don't stay here unless you like crowds....I might recommend that the concierge would be a little more knowledgeable... Good location for the highline. Great brunch at the restaurant across the street with a beer garden, now that was fun. Good dancing area and enjoy the variety of restaurants..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheRhus
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear TheRhus, Thank you for the review. We’re thrilled you had a memorable New York City experience while staying with us. If you visit us again, our concierge team will be happy to make reservations at highly renowned restaurants upon request in addition to planning your entire NYC agenda if need be. Your wish is our command. We hope to...

Montreal
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We took a 3 day family trip down to New York and had the pleasure of staying at the Gansevoort Hotel in the Meatpacking. What a great location, so close to all the action. Although when first walking into the hotel you might feel it might be only adult friendly, we were quickly proved wrong. Jean Francois (hotel manager) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sun09
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear Sun09, Thank you for the wonderful review! We’re thrilled to hear your whole family is pleased with the vacation. We’ll pass along your kind sentiments to Jean Francois and the rest of our team. It’s wonderful you found an opportunity to make the most of your suite with a movie night. Sometimes it’s nice to spend an evening away...

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Once hip and still in a very good location the Gansevoort Meatpacking regrettably does not deserve it's 5 star rating. The service is poor, our room was not made up before 3 pm for three consecutive days. The breakfast choice is meager and generally low quality (I suspect very little in the way of muffins or corissants were fresh let...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Epicurus75
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear Epicurus75, Thank you for sharing your review. We're extremely disappointed in your less than ideal visit. We are more than happy to provide turn-down service at any time of day that fits your needs and apologize for this confusion during your stay. Our newest restaurant addition, The Chester recently opened for operations while still going through renovations. We sincerely...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with very pleasing rooms in a great location. Very welcoming and accommodating staff but despite assurances of working WiFi we found this not to be the case- very erratic and mostly unavailable. Even more frustrating when you could cross the road into nearly every other establishment and have no problem connecting. They really need to sort this out...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Themagicrat9
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear Themagicrat9, Thank you for the review. We’re delighted you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and attentive service. As far as the WiFi issues you encountered, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We recently re-routed our entire network so guests are able to seamlessly explore the World Wide Web with high-speed internet. Should you choose to stay with us...

New Jersey
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We overnighted here on a Saturday before a cruise. Location is very good as the area is alive with restaurants, shops, clubs etc so if you want to be entertained -- it's there. The room was small but not the worst we've seen in the city. Décor is modern and obviously going for the "I'm too cool" crowd. Lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Veneto8
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear Veneto8, Thank you for the review. We’re glad you enjoyed certain features of our rooms, however we are genuinely disappointed in your overall dissatisfaction with your stay. Our rooftop lounge is a popular nightlife spot, and therefore draws a large and often lively crowd. We strive to carry out seamless, attentive service and our guests are always our number...

Great Neck, New York
Reviewed 26 August 2013

we were traveling to NYC and we had heard of the Gansevoort from our friends. after a long journey from NSW we were exhausted. we had the good fortune of meeting a fine young man named Ben at the front desk who checked us in. what a wonderful gentleman. he was polite, courteous, professional and very knowledgeable. our stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank philip w
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear phillip w, Thank you for the great review. Ben will be delighted to know he made your stay memorable. We strive for seamless service and are pleased your stay reflects this. Hopefully you spent time on our rooftop, either by the pool or along our wrap-around terrace. We offer delectable food and drinks for your enjoyment above the skyline....

861 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
0:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (528)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (33)
Viewed
Gansevoort Suite (66)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe Room (31)
Viewed
Manhattan Suite (43)
Viewed
Penthouse - Duplex Presidential Suite (86)
Viewed
Pool (53)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Superior Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#159 of 477 in New York City
2,560 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#84 of 477 in New York City
2,099 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#101 of 477 in New York City
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#146 of 477 in New York City
596 reviews
West Village
Soho House New York
Soho House New York
#294 of 477 in New York City
236 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#116 of 477 in New York City
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West Village

Neighbourhood Profile
West Village
Stretching from Sixth Avenue to the Hudson River, the West Village is one of the city’s most coveted addresses. Full of trendy shops, historic taverns, and cozy restaurants set amid 19th century architecture, this neighbourhood has a unique old-world feel. You won’t find a more picturesque location in Manhattan. Without the traditional city grid layout, it’s easy to get lost here, but that’s part of the fun as you stroll down elegant narrow streets with beautiful brownstones. When you need a break, you can always stop in at one of the many quaint eateries or cafes to soak in the atmosphere, or head to the western edge of the neighborhood to enjoy magnificent waterfront views while taking a leisurely walk in Hudson River Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Price Range: $372 - $1,141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in New York City
#108 Business Hotel in New York City
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay attention for staff on rooftop bar! Not always "correct" we discovered.”
 of 5 bubbles K4181GHchrisb, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask the front desk to be honest”
 of 5 bubbles karthick_sf, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for a room on one of the upper floors, because of the view.”
 of 5 bubbles Ny10522, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose A Room.....Well Any Room Is Wonderful At The Gansevoort”
 of 5 bubbles angelofolino, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book Early”
 of 5 bubbles X7864FLmichaelz, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay