We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Watson Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Watson Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,071 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Watson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,994: English reviews
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Four blocks from Columbus Circus and Central Park this Hotel has clean and comfortable rooms and kindly staff. Good italian pasta at affordable prices in the Restaurant at Ground level. The air conditioned system is noisy, however the hotel is renewing the rooms. I went with kids and all the employees have been very kindly with them. I don't recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Argencan
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Argencan Thank you for your kind review regarding the the location, cleanliness and kind staff. Thank you for the compliments for the good italian pasta at the restaurant and for mentioning it is also affordable. I apologize for the air conditioning being noisy and I am happy to confirm that we are renovating and we hope to see you...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Good value for money in otherwise pricy NY city. Excellent location; Times Square 5 mins walk and easy access to several subway lines. Rooms are bit worn out, but reflects the price. Staff is friendly and the owner character if you happen to bump into him. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drg313
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear drg313 Thank you for taking the time to write your review and in mentioning that its a Good value especially in an Excellent location. We truly appreciate you positive feedback with the staff friendliness and the owner's character. I am happy to share that we are currently in renovation and look forward to your future stay when you are...

manchester
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The hotels location is good. Our room was awful, it was the worst room we have ever stopped in. The clothes rail was hanging off, the carpet was dirty (all carpets in the hotel were dirty), the bedside lamp was unsafe as the bulb holder was badly broken and one bulb didn't work. The bathroom grouting was black and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kwall53
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kwallbank Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments. We are very sorry to hear thay your stay was less than pleasant. Our hotel is currently being renovated, which will include carpet, furniture, bedding, drapes and fixtures. The items you have mentioned regarding the cleanliness and quality of the room will be addressed with...

fewing
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here for my son's 18th birthday for 5 nights. We have stayed at a few Holiday Inn's around the world and they are the best value hotels to stay in for a family. This hotel had the South Tower and North Tower which was just like the twin towers so imagined it was built around the same time....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fewing
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fewing Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing the Holiday Inn Midtown. We are extremely happy that after 25 yrs you have decided to stay with us and celebrate your son's 18th birthday during your stay. It's really great to hear that you enjoy staying at the Holiday Inn's and especially knowing that...

Steenwijk, The Netherlands
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My mother once told me; if you don't have anything nice to say about it, don't say anything at all. But my review should be atleast 200 letters long, so here goes: The restaurant was bad, the hospitality shouder jell was a recycled bottle (used by previous guests), the service at the front desk was awfull, I asked for directions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GertEussen
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GertEussen Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I sincerely apologize that your stay was not pleasant. Your comments regarding the restaurant I am not sure what occured, please contact us for further details. In addtion, I apologize that you were not satisfied with the front desk service due to the suggestions provided for dining...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Very unfriendly staff. In fact the only staff members that smiled were the house keeping staff. We checked in late at night and when we went to our room, as soon as I opened the door I could smell urine. There was a strong smell of urine in the bathroom, wallpaper peeling off the wall and the towels looked very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Imaloser
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review , I am so sorry to hear how your stay was less than pleasant. Your comments will be shared with the staff and the Restaurant Food and Beverage Director. Please contact us at mail@hi57.com to gather more details and thank you so much for your positive comments regarding housekeeping staff....

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I have just arrived back from a 4 night stay at this hotel, My daughter and i had gone there to celebrate my 50th birthday, We arrived earlier than the check in time, however our room was ready and we were in our room and unpacked by 12pm!!,The beds we doubles , clean and very comfortable. The staff were so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaKat50
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ChristinaKat50 Thank you so much for your wonderful review , we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are delighted to hear you spent your 50th Birthday at our hotel and that the staff made it memorable for all the right reasons. Again, thank you for your positive feedback it's always a great pleasure to...

clevedon
Reviewed 11 May 2013

we arrived for a 2 night stay in a city we have visited many times.We were attracted by the central location.Although the location is pretty central there is not much in the immediate vicinity if you say,want to pop out for breakfast and its raining.First impressions were not great.the lobby,along with all the public areas is tired looking and straight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lordwalton
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I sincerely apologize that your first impression was not great and how this impacted your stay with us. The renovation is in progress and will include new furniture, bedding, lighting and fixtures. I'm sorry to hear we did not have a room available before the check-in time; however if...

Dalla,s Tx
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel was average. Stayed here for business, the beds were comfy clean the bathroom was old and dated and small. This was a "renovated room" I couldn't tell and I guess they stopped short at the bathroom. Fast elevators though, no waiting. The curtains are not built in with any blackout shades or darker curtains so your option is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dallasiteonbusiness
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your positive feedback about the staff. I'm genuinely sorry to hear that the renovated room was not satisfactory and I will like to take the opportunity to mention that the renovation is in progress and will include new furniture/fixtures and we hope that after the renovation is complete...

Reviewed 10 May 2013

Although staying near Licoln Center was our goal, I would be happy to walk further next time to stay at a better place. I confirm the comments of others: no heat, missing blackout curtains, indifferent front desk staff. Although I had made the reservations months earlier, I had to move to a different room after the first night because there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hardcorefoodie
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I'm sorry to hear that your stay was not pleasant with us. I apologize that during your stay there was no heating option available due to our system conversion in having air conditioning option available. The change is made based on the temperature and I genuinely apologize it was...

1,176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (854)
Viewed
Room/Suite (234)
Viewed
View from Room (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (48)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (349)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (317)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (71)
Viewed
King Room (61)
Viewed
Queen Room (63)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#278 of 467 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#313 of 467 in New York City
5,601 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#286 of 467 in New York City
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4,653 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#347 of 467 in New York City
74 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 467 in New York City
6,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Midtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors imagine before they visit—spectacular skyscrapers like the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building, iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is a shopper's heaven where you can find every kind of store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the affordable to the ultra-fancy. Visit the Rockefeller Center to experience towering Art Deco grandeur, and foodies will love the busy restaurants that stay open late in Koreatown. After dark, Midtown calms down a bit, but at any time of day or night it still feels 100% New York.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Price Range: $222 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, IHG, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Reservation Counter so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Watson Hotel staff and other travellers.
132 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (132)

Questions? Get answers from The Watson Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“HIgher the floor the quieter the stay”
 of 5 bubbles Traveller-NS, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High floor - south tower”
 of 5 bubbles bri019, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have a view and are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles familytravel38, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would say to try to stay on 12th floor or above in the main building. It was pretty quiet during our stay.”
  • Beautiful Evening looking out at Time Square
  • Daytime View of Buildings in Time Square
 of 5 bubbles 641JoanO, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“King bed rooms are quite roomy.”
 of 5 bubbles palekh, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5