We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Super 8 Thurmont

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Thurmont
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 310: English reviews
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff was great, except...........I needed more pillows and there was no telephone in my room that I could find. I never got the pillows because I was up and out early and back late, and there was a sign to call an extension.....BUT I had no phone in my room. Friday night must have been party time in Thurmont... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Thank Terri J
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I have stayed at this Super 8 for the past 7 years, at least once and sometimes twice each year. It is convenient and comfortable. If we ever experience a problem, the staff is quick to rectify it, to include upgrading or changing the room to make us happy. First step is to let the staff know.... More 

Thank William F
Super8-03527, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Thurmont, responded to this review

William, Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and choosing us to stay with. We glad we could meet your needs and look forward to seeing you again. Have a Super Day! Management, Super 8 Thurmont More 

Hauppauge, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travel frequently and my recent stay at the Super 8 in Thurmont, MD., was the single worse motel/hotel stays I have experienced. There was a long delayed check-in process. Our room had a musky stale odor. I had to request a new bath towel because the one in my room had body hair in it. The breakfast was under... More 

Thank billy3361
Super8-03527, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Thurmont, responded to this review

Billy, We apologize that you experienced these problems at our motel. Thank you for your review it helps us in our work to improve our motel. Have a Super Day! Management, Super 8 Thurmont More 

Travellers are raving about these Thurmont hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thurmont is a nice quit place to stay. there are place that you can find that have good food. It is special in the late fall with the leaves changing color.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Thank Eleanora M
Super8-03527, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Thurmont, responded to this review

Eleanora, Thank you so much for the good review. We are happy that you chose to stay with us and were able to see our town in such a beautiful season. We look forward to seeing you again. Have A Super Day! Management, Thurmont Super 8 More 

Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Wow, Ok there is not a lot good to say! We were traveling through and tired. The place is older, however this was not a problem . The problems began when you walk through door, the carpet was filthy! This was beyond dirty there was a black trail up the stairs! I don't think that the carpet has ever been... More 

1 Thank Theresa C
Super8-03527, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Thurmont, responded to this review

Theresa, We apologize that you had such a bad experience at our motel. Thank you for your review it helps us in our work to improve our motel. Have a Super Day! Management, Super 8 Thurmont More 

Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We stayed one night. Although we got there late, we were welcomed by the owner who was friendly and hospitable. Room was average but met all our needs. It was clean, but there was some evidence of updating needed. Owners had only been there only one month so I would imagine they will be updating as time goes on. Free... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Thank rickA2925YD
Chetan t, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Thurmont, responded to this review

Rick, Thank you for your good review. We are glad we were able to meet your needs and hope we will be seeing you again. Have a Super Day! Management, Super 8 Thurmont More 

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (8)
Room/Suite (5)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (22)
Room/Suite (11)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Bathroom (3)
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurmont
13.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
19.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
23.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Cobblestone Hotel and Suites Waynesboro
22.2 km away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
23.0 km away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Property Located 15 Miles From Historic Gettysburg Battlefield, 5 Miles From Cunningham Falls State and National Parks and Only 7 Miles from Catoctin Mountain Park Book your room at our Super 8 Thurmont hotel near Cunningham Falls State Park. Located just off Highway 15 between Frederick, MD, and Gettysburg, PA in the Appalachian Mountains and just a short drive to Catoctin Mountain Park, Mount St. Mary's University and Frederick Municipal Airport, our pet-friendly hotel provides comfortable accommodations and friendly service at an affordable rate. Start each day at our Thurmont, MD, hotel with free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza and enjoy great in-room amenities including free Wi-Fi Internet access. Rooms with a refrigerator are available. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel, and there is plenty of free parking for your bus, truck or RV. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS If you are an outdoor enthusiast or Civil War buff, you will find great attractions near our Thurmont hotel. Travel north on Highway 15, crossing the Pennsylvania border, to visit the hallowed grounds at Gettysburg National Battlefield Park to see distinctive turning points in the battle at Little Round Top and Devil's Den. Cunningham Falls State Park is a great spot for hiking, fishing and canoeing, just five miles from our hotel, and Catoctin Mountain Park, site of the Camp David presidential retreat, is just 7 miles away from our hotel. The Eisenhower National Historic Site, Barbara Fritchie House and Gambrill State Park are also nearby, and it is just an hour drive to Washington DC. DINING OPTIONS Choose from dozens of family-friendly restaurants just outside our Thurmont hotel starting with Mountain Gate Family Restaurant. Or You could head over to Main Street, and try comfort food at Thurmont Kountry Kitchen. If you're craving Asian you can try Simply Asia, New wing hing, or Peking Palace.Or one of our two Italian restaurants Rocky's or Fratelli's for dine-in or Delivery. You could even head about 10 minutes north on Highway 15 and eat at Fitzgerald's Shamrock, one of Western Maryland's favorite source for casual fine dining. Our little town of Thurmont is also home to a McDonald's, Wendy's, KFC/Taco Bell, Pizza Hut, Roy Rogers, Subway and Burger King. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Super 8 Thurmont

Address: 300 Tippin Drive, Hwy 15 Exit Hwy 806 Turn West, Thurmont, MD 21788-3212
Region: United States > Maryland > Thurmont
Price Range: $101 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Thurmont 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Thurmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Thurmont
Thurmont Super Eight
Thurmont Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Thurmont staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unless you are a smoker there are no good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles hoods5, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the second floor or on the side away from ground-level parking. Cars park right outside the windows.”
 of 5 bubbles EugeneF890, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Maryland still has smoking rooms - so choose appropriately.”
 of 5 bubbles 85peterk, 15 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Go to a hotel in Hagerstown or Frederick,”
 of 5 bubbles P4652HZjoeh, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“You may need to look outside of Thurmont to find a nicer motel.”
 of 5 bubbles wyfiddle, 3 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay