We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

786 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
See the most recent reviews
Showing 746: English reviews
Astoria, Oregon
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a three night road trip with my two young children from Northern Oregon to Southern California. I'm a rewards member so the points are worth collecting, but this hotel was not worth the stay. I agree that they are understaffed. While the woman working the front desk was definitely nice, she seemed stressed. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GoodGateau
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you GoodGateau for your review, We appreciate all feedback from our guests and we are grateful that you shared your stay experience with us. Without our guests reviews and their communication with us during their stay we wouldn't know what needs improvement or how to better our guests experiences in the future. We are very sorry that you had...

Glendale, California
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I was blown away at the cleanliness of the rooms. They are completely remodeled. We stayed in room 203. Quiet and everything you need. Mini- Refrigerator, Microwave and free REAL breakfast in AM. The feeling when you drive up is a older hotel. But that is the outside which is in remodel. The rooms are great for a great price....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hadenusc
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you hadenusc for taking the time to share your stay experience with us, It was wonderful to read and we are very pleased that you had a nice stay. Thank you for noticing how hard our housekeeping staff works. It is one of the to top compliments I receive from our guests, how clean our rooms are. We know...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We booked on booking.com and were pleased when we got a great clean room that is newly renovated and a good breakfast in the morning. We both felt good staying there. The beds were comfy, good linen and we left feeling satisfied. There is a great taco place 2 min walk from here called Spencer McKenzies which is a must...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 50Beaches
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review

Greetings 50Beaches! Such a pleasure knowing that you had a wonderful stay with us. We enjoyed reading your awesome review and most certainly agree that the food at Spencer Makenzies is very yummy! We look forward to welcoming you back, Monique B.

Burlington, Ontario
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Got here late after a gruelling 12 hour drive from San Francisco. Checked in to room. Asked where we could get something to eat. Misdirected us so we tried to order pizza from the food and phone didn't work. Had to get that sorted it. Kept shoes on as I was concerned about the cleanliness. We have stayed in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarnieBurlington
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review

Hello MarnieBurlington, We are so sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with your stay. I hope that all your concerns were communicated to the front desk or and manager and addressed during your stay. If were not meeting your expectations we want to know. So that we can make it right as soon as possible. We appreciate...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Stayed one night only whilst travelling south from Monterey. Helpful evening staff (Alice) and problem with a/c resolved promptly and in person. Couldn't ask for better. Nice breakfast with a good choice of hot and cold. Easily located off the freeway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myitshot
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review

Hi myitshot, Thank you so very much for stopping by and dropping us a line! We appreciate your business and will pass on your kind comments regarding Alice. =) Monique B.

Albany, NY
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The hotel looks older but has been redone. Room was fine. Location was good but at 2:30 in the afternoon they didn't have any rooms ready for check-in. The front desk clerk was making snarky comments about having to do 20 things at once and when she called a guy to come and help she was snarky about him too....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie M
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review

Hello Debbie M, Let me start off by thanking you for your feedback and by apologizing for not meeting your expectations. I assure you this is not the norm here and it is something that will be addressed. Our guaranteed check in time is at 4pm so this could be a good reason why there was not something available when...

Sunnyvale, United States
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Very attractive and comfortable. Staff were very good and helpful. The rooms have been updated really, really well, and the lobby area is also up to snuff. Overall, a very comfortable experience, especially for casual and international travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you Howard M for your great review, We are so pleased that you enjoyed our newly remodeled rooms and we are looking forward to the next phase of the exterior update and of the expansion of our lobby. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We appreciate you and your business! Monique B.

California
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Stay here overnight after my wife's twin sisters 60th Birthday party at The Tavern We checked the rates on tripadvisor for comparable hotels. We have stayed here before and were always pleased and it was close to the venue and other attractions, shops, pier,& beach.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SleepyNKat
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review

Hello SleepyNKat- Its great to hear that we were conveniently located for your wife and her sisters birthday festivities! Its wonderful t know you had a nice stay and we appreciate your review! Hope to welcome you back soon, Monique B.

Vienna, VA
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Wanted to stay somewhere close to the ocean in Ventura and settled on the Best Western because of it's close proximity to the Ventura pier. There is a Vagabond Inn and a Country Inn and Suites close by and from the outside they all look about the same. We settled on the Best Western because we perceived the rooms to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MisterMVA
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review

Hey MisterMVA, Thank you for your review, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and we look forward to your return! Monique B. Front Desk Manager

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Just love how the owners have taken an old 50's motor inn and turned it into a very comfortable chic contemporary and comfortable hotel. Love how quiet the rooms were, even with 101 right behind it. Wonderful night's sleep. Will be using it again. Plenty of good restaurants walking distance. Close to the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mum2Two-92
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Mum2Two-92! We loved hearing that you enjoyed our remodel so far! We are not done so stay tuned! We look forward to welcoming you back to Ventura, Monique B. Front Desk Manager

388 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (30)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (8)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Suite (50)
Viewed
King Room (28)
Viewed
King Room with Polyvinyl Flooring (6)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Prototype Corner Queen Room (30)
Viewed
Prototype King Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
980 reviews
0.8 km away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
1.8 km away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
591 reviews
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Close to pier and beaches. 100 % smoking-free. Heated pool, friendly staff, and deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura

Address: 708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Price Range: $148 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura Hotel Ventura
Best Western Hotel Ventura
Best Western Ventura
Ventura Best Western
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ventura
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Seattle, Washington
3 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on the first floor opposite the swimming pool”
 of 5 bubbles silvercar68, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“there's only 2 floors that i have seen”
 of 5 bubbles mTan66, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get one near the front away from the Amtrak tracks and Hiway 101.”
 of 5 bubbles DiverScientist, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs room in North part of Hotel I would suggest. Trains do go by occasionally but not really a big deal.”
 of 5 bubbles hadenusc, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early as rooms go fast and you will have to pay more for a larger room you may not need.”
 of 5 bubbles 50Beaches, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay