We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Vagabond Inn Ventura

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vagabond Inn Ventura
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vagabond Inn Ventura
See the most recent reviews
Showing 288: English reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2016

a few things I like - location : close to the harbor, restaurants, gas station, and 101. Less than 1 hr to universal studio - practical and comfortable. This is not a luxury hotel, but it's surprisingly comfortable. And the kids love the bunk beds. - friendly staff, and very patient things I don't like - the parking lot fill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hong C
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 28 June 2016

I have stayed at this hotel for the past 5 years and every time the facilities & help gets worse. We paid premium weekend rates and did not even get our room cleaned. The tap water smells like rotten eggs, there is not enough parking for guests on Saturdays and the 10 pm curfew for noise and pool use is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 357charliel
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We booked the Vagabond because of price we wanted walking beach access from our hotel. We got walking access, through a parking lot, dumpster area, across the railroad, across a bridge over a freeway. We could easily walk to Beach Tacos Shack (AWESOME tacos and often live music), to see dolphins, and to eat at a sit down restaurant on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RuthMN
Camarillo, California
Reviewed 14 June 2016

DO NOT WASTE YOUR $$ no low rates, tack on "their service fee" + taxes was over $100 for a dirty dump of rm--woke 6:00 am construction next door Phone at front desk & rm not working Inept front clerk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wmdhender
MaroneeBaker, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We do not charge a service fee. You may have been looking at the Ventura County Tourism fee. Most Cities have a tourism fee to promote the area, in our case Ventura County. The fee is 2%.

Reviewed 11 June 2016

Rooms have been clean, place close to beach. There was restaurant next to hotel and all restaurants by walking distance. The area was overall quite and clean , very friendly .Reception was friendly and helpfull. Pool was clean not crowded.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
MaroneeBaker, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you Peter! I don't know where you live, but we hope you can come and stay with us again.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Having worked too much for too long, I needed to recharge. For me that means doing noting for a few days. Ventura is nice small twon only about an hour drive from my home, so that where I headed. The Vagabond Inn is a traditional two story motel building; U-shaped with parking and a pool in the middle. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank psjofors
MaroneeBaker, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I really appreciate the time you took to write this review. We are looking forward to your return.

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Great motel with nice, clean rooms and great amenities. A pool, hot tub, spacious rooms with refrigerators & microwaves and very convenient to the beaches and the National Park. Entry and exit to US-101 is within blocks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
MaroneeBaker, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you Thomas! Channel Islands National Park and San Bueanaventura State Beach are nearby. We hope you come again.

Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Vagabond Inn, 756 E Thompson Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001 Two couples were travelling together undertaking an epic road-trip covering Nevada, Arizona and California over a three week period – day 9. The female staff behind the reception counter was very helpful upon arrival and check-in was quite painless. We stayed in the ground floor Room 42. This is a non-smoking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schteef
MaroneeBaker, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you Schteef! Your review is very thoughtfully presented. I appreciate the time you took to write it. Hopefully we will see you again someday.

Pasadena, California
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Vagabond Inn Ventura and will choose to stay there again in the future. We normally stay in more expensive places, but reading the reviews for this place led me to giving it a try. The people working there were friendly and responsive to our needs. The location was great because shopping and eating establishments were...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lloydoc
MaroneeBaker, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Boy that was a busy weekend! There are several marathons a year here. They seem to be getting more and more popular. We are looking forward to seeing you next time.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 31 May 2016

The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. It's a short walk to downtown Ventura and an even shorter walk to the pier. I love the sound of the trains that pass by but it may annoy some people.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank irenecE9501ZH
MaroneeBaker, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review!

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.7 km away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.7 km away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Price Range: $115 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ventura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vagabond Inn Ventura staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms along the back of the building seem to be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 276JoeR276, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None great room”
 of 5 bubbles stefnali2010, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the sides are best, the back of hotel is next to train tracks and freeway. Spencer MaKenzie's good food next door.”
 of 5 bubbles AlanC955, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I like rooms upstairs closer to the lobby. Seems most quiet in that area.”
 of 5 bubbles JUDYW797, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rating would have been better if I paid the regular price at $100.”
 of 5 bubbles 162hale, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5