We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Vagabond Inn Ventura

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Vagabond Inn Ventura
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vagabond Inn Ventura
See the most recent reviews
Showing 278: English reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

I have been staying here off and on for years. I was pleasantly surprised to see the room I stayed in had been significantly upgraded as compared to my last stay. New carpets, wall-mounted flatscreen televisions, granite countertops and updated refrigerators. However even without these improvements I still like this motel. It's location can't be beat. I enjoy walking and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WayneCastro
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks Wayne! The remodeled rooms look great, and hopefully we can get the rest of them done in a timely manner. We love our repeat customers!

Galiano Island, Canada
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

Desperately driving around looking for a decent place to stay overnight.....saw this Vagabond Inn, have stayed in them before, so we were tired and needed to stop....checking in was ok, got a room on the second floor at the back , the room was overtop a drive through to get out the back way. The outside of this hole was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will F
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I'm glad the room was okay. On nice sunny weekends the homeless people do come out in droves to hang out at the beach. They use our parking lot as a shortcut to the beach. We have submitted plans to the City to obtain a permit to build a fence around the back parking lot. I'm not upset that you...

Palmdale, California
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Always stay here when we are in Ventura! Walking distance to beach, pier and our favorite places to eat. Always clean with a great staff, Juanita is wonderful!!!! And we always look forward to a great breakfast at the Vagabond Coffee Shop!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doozer2015
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank You! I love to hear that the staff is appreciated. I'll pass this on to Juanita.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Stayed here 1 night on motorcycle trip. Good price, clean, comfortable, well maintained, quiet. Walkway across freeway to beach directly behind motel - my room to breakfast on the pier was about a 4 minute walk! Nice hot tub and pool. Clean and well maintained. The Amtrak train track is directly behind the motel. I never heard it, but my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeoffNinja
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to submit a review. We appreciate it.

Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

You can't expect much at this price, but certain elements made it really ghetto - the drunk woman yelling in the parking lot, with her family and all their belongings in plastic bags sitting there for hours... The rank moldy smell of the rooms ... The skateboard punk who pretended to be looking for someone so he could rip off...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keiko O
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I'm sorry about the woman in the parking lot. She wanted to stay over, but we found that she had been smoking in the room. She was upset that we would not rent to her anymore. I believe the boy on the skateboard was hers, but not positive. The dumpsters are supposed to be locked. I'll check into that. The...

Reviewed 16 February 2016

This place is nothing short of a dirty Motel 6, except far more overpriced. The location is ok, just a couple blocks from downtown which is where you want to be instead of spending a moment at this hotel. Poor care of the rooms, zero help from the front desk, poor service, and a lame spread for the comp breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacob N
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I saw this review on another site and responded, but I'll respond here as well. We don't offer breakfast at this location. We have a complimentary continental breakfast, and full breakfast is available at our restaurant. It is not included with the room rate. Whenever you are not happy, let us know. We were very full on the President's Day...

Mill Valley, California
Reviewed 13 February 2016

First of all I want to say that the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room lock didn't work and we were quickly given another room but it had a queen bed not a king and the room wasn't as nice. They did adjust the rate without my having to ask. We were just passing through on our way South,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonny747
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Yes, the door lock was malfunctioning and we have ordered a new lock for that room. Thank you for understanding. Please let me know if you come through again.

Lake Arrowhead, California
Reviewed 31 January 2016

The rooms are extremely clean and the place is extremely quiet. The staff is excellant. The restaurant on premises is fantastic! We stay in the "Family unit", it has a king and a separate bedroom with bunk beds and T.V. for kids! Its $99 a night and you cant beat that, fridge and microwave too. Plus the pool is great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you! The Family Unit is definitely the most popular room type we have. We can't wait to see you again!

Los Banos, California
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We were in Ventura for the Dog Show. Our room was spacious and clean, nice TV and refrigerator. Updated bedding was a plus. This is an older hotel, and while there were a few places that could have used a little paint touch up, we had everything we needed and were very comfortable. This hotel also has one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pawstruck
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

We love our dog show people! It's always a treat to meet so many well behaved and beautifully groomed pets. We have another dog show coming in July. We hope to see you then.

Ithaca, New York
Reviewed 28 January 2016

The Vagabond is very well located in "downtown" Ventura. Rooms not fancy but plenty comfortable. Include coffee maker and microwave. Pool fine for kids. Hot tub pool nice but like all hotel hot tubs, could be hotter. Prices reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TMWildMed
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you, we hope to see you again. I agree about the hot tub, but in California at least, we can not turn it up higher than 103 degrees.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
1.7 km away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Price Range: $116 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ventura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vagabond Inn Ventura staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms along the back of the building seem to be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 276JoeR276, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None great room”
 of 5 bubbles stefnali2010, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the sides are best, the back of hotel is next to train tracks and freeway. Spencer MaKenzie's good food next door.”
 of 5 bubbles AlanC955, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I like rooms upstairs closer to the lobby. Seems most quiet in that area.”
 of 5 bubbles JUDYW797, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rating would have been better if I paid the regular price at $100.”
 of 5 bubbles 162hale, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay