We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Dayton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Dayton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 363: English reviews
Start your review of Crowne Plaza Dayton
 Click to rate
Streetsboro, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

Still here - terrible location. I travel a lot and have been in all ranges of hotels, but this ranks as one of the worse. Room - needs some major updating. Internet - unreliable. Trying to do work and it keeps going out. I am now using my phone and eating up my minutes of data usage so I can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stark64
Management response:

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Dayton. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and appreciate you bringing these items to my attention. I wanted to let you now that we are in the process of upgrading our current Wi-Fi system and apologize for the sporadic service during your recent stay. We have...

Columbus
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Crowne Plaza could be a Crowne Jewel of downtown Dayton if only it got some TLC. It needs an updating, more staffing, and re-training of existing staff. Here's what's good: location attached to the convention center. That can't be beat. Also good: Beds feel very new, bed linens are crisp, a very comfortable stay in that regard. Here's what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ohi0Ann
Hotel M, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your most recent stay. All of our staff strive to provide excellent service. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy some of the guest amenities and facilities we have to offer. Thank you so much for the few suggestions to help in improving quality!

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

The best part about this hotel was the Executive Lounge. Breakfast there was actually pretty tasty (although the French Toast was cold) and by far the best part was Sandy, who was the caretaker of the lounge. She was friendly, polite, and helpful. To be honest, it reminded me of eating breakfast with my grandmother...it made me smile and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bituc29
Hotel M, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your time here at the Crowne Plaza. We all work very hard to provide the services and amenities necessary for an exceptional guest stay and it is unfortunate to hear that we have missed our mark during your most recent stay. Please be assured your remarks will be used...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very old hotel past it's prime. Could be great but not maintained well. Questionable area of town? Didn't feel safe walking alone. VERY dated and worn furnishings & decor. Carpet in some common areas very worn & very dirty. Room mediocre, bathroom dirty. Positive note: good food, nice restaurant view, ALL staff was awesome!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
Hotel M, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and writing a review. I am sorry that we fell short in a few areas of product, it appears we could have done better. I will be reviewing your comments with my team in order to improve our feeling of security and product. Thank you for staying and I hope you will...

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooftop Restaurant and Bar put the Crowne Plaza Dayton Hotel way above the rest. Magnificent views of downtown Dayton, Ohio. Spent 27 days here and they made me feel like a queen every day. I'll be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 69Trish
Hotel M, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the Crowne Plaza Dayton Downtown and we look forward to your next visit. Please let me know if I can be of service in the future.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very dated facility with small bathrooms and well worn furnishings. The elevator was dirty and the baseboards in our room were covered in dust. The location downtown Dayton was close to the hospital we needed to visit and the price was very competitive. Parking is actually off site and be careful walking the streets at night. We actually moved to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edgemore
Charlestown, Indiana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was average. I did like that our room had a fridge. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Bri was my waitress for breakfast and she took the time to talk to me about things I could do in the area while my husband was in training. I really can't brag on the staff enough. My only disappointment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trinity S
CPDaytonGM, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Dear Trinity S, Thank you for your review on the Crowne Plaza Dayton. There is no better compliment than one on our staff! We love our team and we are happy to serve you. We are, however, disappointed that you had a billing issue and that is quickly being taken care of. Thanks again! Sincerely, Jeff Baumgardner General Manager |...

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for almost a week and was very impressed. The maintenance staff actually switched our room when our air conditioner needed fixed...then, as my key was deactivated, Shane took my key down 4 floors, had it reactivated and brought it to me. As I interacted with the front desk staff for getting copies of paperwork done,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 29 December 2016

I was here in September. The room was okay. The location was downtown, wouldn't feel safe walking around by myself at night. Parking is free but you have to park in a garage then go through a walkway to get to the hotel. It was kind of an old hotel. The staff at the front were very nice though. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 530xtine
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Dear 530xtine, Although I am pleased at knowing your appreciation of our hotel's cleanliness and service rendered from our hotel staff members, it is regretful to learn that you didn't feel safe in the location of our property. Rest assured that our staff are doing the best they could to make our guests feel comfortable and secured during your time...

California
Reviewed 15 December 2016

It's an old hotel - needs a remodel. I drove into valet and he gave me an option of parking for free in the garage across the street - a good move, but scary walking into that garage at 0400. My first impression of the room - good, until I went into the bathroom where there was a stench of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank strawmns
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Dear strawmns, Thank you for taking time to post a review about our hotel. I am glad that you found the restaurant staff friendly and helpful. While I am pleased with your kind comments, I apologize that not all aspects of your stay were exceptional, particularly the condition of the bathroom and internet service. I have taken note of your...

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dayton
9.6 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
2.2 km away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
3.0 km away
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
13.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South
14.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
View 162
View 162
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the vibrant energy of downtown Dayton when you stay at the luxurious Crowne Plaza. Located adjacent to the Dayton Convention Center and just minutes from the Dayton International Airport and Wright-Patterson AFB, our newly remodeled, full-service hotel offers the perfect combination of chic styling, total comfort and convenience right here in the "Birthplace of Aviation." Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy our stylish guestrooms, spacious suites and fabulous service from our welcoming staff. Stay with us and discover your perfect home away from home right here in downtown Dayton. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dayton

Address: 33 E. 5th Street, Dayton, OH 45402
Region: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Price Range: $176 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dayton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dayton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Dayton staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Ontario, Canada
over a year ago
over a year ago
over a year ago
New York City, New York

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Dayton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The back of the hotel has a much better view. Great architecture on the buildings on the next block plus a park.”
 of 5 bubbles 958trinitys, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a corner room...has more windows and furthest from the elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidB19922014, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“South side overlooks the convention center”
 of 5 bubbles christophercT4030ID, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The view of the top floors is very good. Get a room on the North side to prevent being woken up by the freight trains.”
 of 5 bubbles JGHBos, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Nice size conference table in the suites, 9th floor requires you to insert your key card in the elevator to get you there."”
 of 5 bubbles drdana16, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5