We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes

Expedia.comUS$76*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 298: English reviews
Start your review of Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
 Click to rate
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We (me and my mastiff) stayed at motel 6 in bishop, CA and we loved it. The rooms are spacious, wood floors and refrigerator and microwave. The restaurants are near by and the ranger station is across the street. When we arrived at mammoth lakes we expected a better hotel as this city is a sky resort. There were 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greenswan_12
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We stay at Motel 6 all the time. Nothing fancy, just a clean room with comfortable beds. This location is no different than the rest. Sometimes the plumbing is slow to drain. Room service is good. This time we decided to spend a second night and they raised the price. Never happened in the past. Bad PR, especially for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have not stayed for over 7 years, so it was a pleasant surprise to find that the motel has been remodeled on the inside. All the rooms interior have been gutted, no more dirty carpeting, but nice clean laminate flooring. Modern urban chick Euro motel design with minimal but clean and ergonomic furniture. The room size is overall is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katerina K
Central Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here with other family members for several days in October 2016, during which there was no heat (we were told upon check-in that the central heating had broken and repairs were expected at "any moment"). Each day we would ask for an update and we were just strung along with the promise that it would "be repaired today",...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Exploratorius
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are ok and remind you of a college dorm room (beds very small) and have extremely limited amenities. Cable wasn't working, so was given free internet which you usually have to pay for. Easily accessible to the mountain and bus line. Places across the street you can eat/drink at. Stayed for one night and was fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bliechty
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe in the expectations of amenities. We are...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

En route to San Fran, we were getting snowed on from a great height so pulled into Mammoth. A couple of Motels later we were dreading the departure of a lot of money from the wallet. Mammoth is not cheap!! However – Motel 6 came to our rescue. Very cheap room, and it was excellent. Nice and warm, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
San Francisco
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Pros: Spacious room with recently updated toilet fittings and furniture. Nice TV. A little nook with a built-in table for eating. Reasonable (for Mammoth Lakes) cost. Close to ski shuttle. Approximately 1 mile from Mammoth Mountain Village. Cons: No pool/hot tub in the winter - the pool area was covered up to the second floor in snow. No elevator -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gitano-SF
Tokyo
Reviewed 3 March 2017

If you want to ski at the best ski area in California, don't own a home in Mammoth, and don't want to spend $500/nt at the other places in town, you really don't have a choice. This a classic example of someone not needing to offer a quality service because they are going to be booked solid anyway. Pros: At...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlieZogs
Oneonta, New York
Reviewed 5 February 2017

I hadn't stayed at a Motel 6 for two years, mainly because my last experience at a property on the East Coast had been so terrible. Suffice it to say, their business model is basic, and aimed at the frugal traveler. Our objective was to hit the slopes after an epic 20 feet of snow in January 2017. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I have never stayed in a room that was so dirty....and that includes a lot of 3rd World countries. Then, the room choice on the Motel 6 site was either 2 double beds, or one queen. The bed was NOT a queen. The room was so tiny that the double bed barely fit. The bathroom was HUGE...but no counter or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy0328

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
210 reviews
0.3 km away
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
#26 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
217 reviews
0.8 km away
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
#12 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
413 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
0.8 km away
The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resor...
#25 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes offers a great getaway for all seasons! The top skiing in the country! Mammoth Mountain is 1 mile and June Lake Ski Area is 15 minutes. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor heated pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes

Address: 3372 Main St, US 395 at SR 203/Mammoth Lakes, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $118 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes 2*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Motel-6, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Motel Six Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Motel Six
Mammoth Lakes Motel 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with 2, double beds. They don't have ANY queen beds. But 2 beds would mean the room is 2x as big.”
Amy0328, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book your trip to Mammoth EARLY--- and avoid being stuck here”
BPreston310, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book your room in advance online for any additional offers.”
773prathyushas, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“top floor to avoid bears lol”
408guyc, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not go there”
Hellokitty84, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$76* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$78
Orbitz.comUS$76
Booking.comUS$76
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates