We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Captain Whidbey Inn

Booking.comUS$120*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$120*
US$120*
US$120*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Captain Whidbey Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 252: English reviews
Start your review of Captain Whidbey Inn
 Click to rate
Puyallup, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This lodge is surrounded by beautiful water views and grounds. The lodge is very old and full of antiques making it a unique experience. We had a lagoon room with a brand new bathroom which was beautiful. The bed and pillows were okay. The room itself was just okay. Our family members in other rooms had very old bathrooms, no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loretta H
Ormond Beach, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The cottage, #32, was obviously available when we arrived, but they said we couldn't have an early check in. When we did get in the rooms were extremely cold. Only two small electric baseboard heaters in the two rooms - none in the bath. The firewood left in the fireplace was green, and Maria very graceously replaced it with dried...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Captain Whidbey Inn is a lovely place with a rich history and beautiful views. I wanted so badly for this to be the perfect getaway for our annual anniversary trip, and in some ways it was, but in others it was slightly disappointing. The main building is beautiful, sitting overlooking the water. The old, weathered logs that make up the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karina R
CaptainWhidbeyInn, Assistant to the Inn Keeper at Captain Whidbey Inn, responded to this review

Karina, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Inn. I am sorry to hear that you were uncomfortable in the original room you reserved and am ultimately happy that the staff was able to find you another room, that better met your needs. As you noted, we have done what we can to...

Fairview, Oregon
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Captain Whidbey has beautiful grounds, a charming 100+ year old lodge, and rooms around the lagoon and on Penn Cove with gorgeous, calming views. The rooms was simple and a little dated, but clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelingHonu
Saint Johns, Florida
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

The Captaik Whidbey Inn and restaurant have been a main stay in the Coupeville area for as long as I recall. I had amazing mussels in white wine here, some 25 years ago. Fast forward to January of 2017.... Wanting to go somewhere to have a bite and a drink away from the busy bustle of Oak Harbor and away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Destination_Vacay
CaptainWhidbeyInn, Sales Manager at Captain Whidbey Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Destination_Vacay, Thank you for this great review and mentioning the improvements we've made! We're beyond thrilled to hear you received great service, great food and a great experience. We look forward to you visiting us this summer!

Sacramento
Reviewed 7 December 2016

The food was excellent and plentiful---the seating procedure left a little to be desired. We had to sit/stand around to be seated (we could have been seated and had cocktails, seating was assigned and by reservation) while the food was being laid out (buffet). Just a little glitch, but seems it would make economic sense for the restaurant to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidbA4601BU
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Beautiful setting, comfy bed and friendly people but, seem to be operating on a shoestring. Floor heater caught on fire so we had to leave 2.5 hours early w/o a shower. Weren't even going to compensate us till I brought it up. They knocked off $40. Big deal! Husband didn't even get to sleep late on bd.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle E
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 9 November 2016

This is one of those places you really want to love. The setting is spectacular and the grounds are absolutely lovely. I was enchanted by the snowberries in bloom! The rooms, unfortunately, are not only spartan, but very very outdated. Mine smelled musty and the bed was uncomfortable. The railings going up the stairs to my room were not in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Park City, Utah
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Room,staff and setting just perfect for a romantic getaway. Great food in the area. Great access to what Whidbey island has to offer; don't miss Fort Ebey State Park! Their continental breakfast is a nice touch too. We stayed in the rooms with "European Style" bathrooms, and the bathrooms were meticulously clean and well-maintained throughout the stay. This place is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike_G_84060
Avila, CA
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The setting is what makes this place attractive. Peaceful, with a large garden, and a gorgeous waterfront. The building itself is fascinating, being historic and rustic. It could be such a wonderful place, but it is not. If the setting deserves a 5, the rest deserves a 2. The rooms are so tiny you don't know where to put your...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 123Avila

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
11.5 km away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
11.6 km away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
13.9 km away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
282 reviews
3.2 km away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
28.1 km away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Captain Whidbey Inn is an enchanting log inn that was hand-built in 1907. Located on the shores of Penn Cove inside the Ebey’s Landing National Historical Reserve, the Inn is centrally located for nature enthusiasts, island explorers and those seeking the charm of historic Northwest towns by the sea. Activities popular with guests include hiking, kayaking, cycling, antiquing, horseback riding, fishing, wine-tasting, and beachcombing. With both rustic and modern accommodations, the Captain Whidbey Inn offers three types of lodging: quaint log-walled rooms in the inn itself, romantic private waterfront cabins, and the more modern Lagoon rooms. Guests staying at the Inn will enjoy the various water views on the property and from many guest rooms, on-site dining in our restaurant, a fun happy hour in the tavern, Complimentary continental breakfast, parking and WiFi are included in each reservation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Captain Whidbey Inn

Address: 2072 West Captain Whidbey Inn Road, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Price Range: $183 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Whidbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Captain Whidbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain Whidbey Hotel Coupeville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Captain Whidbey Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

Would love to give the Captain a better review but.....Stayed in cabin 32, on 8/14/-8/15. Upon arrival went to early dinner, where we were pestered by fruit flies, in our face, on our plates,and drinks. Waitress refilled husbands water glass I told him I wouldn't drink it as I could see a dog hair and white particles floating around in it. The food as my husband described had no "Wow facture", 1-10 maybe 3. On Saturday morning we woke to no running water. Now things like this will happen, but we were VERY poorly accommodated. After 3 phone calls to the front desk (being told it would be fixed soon) my husband asked if there was a place we could get a shower. By this time it was noon and we had sat in our room all day, no coffee, no teeth brushing, no going to the bathroom, no breakfast, and not even a drop of water to drink. We were directed to room 14 across the driveway. After having to go to front desk, in a fresh from bed and grouchy state from no food or coffee, we got a key and walked to room 14 with once again with very poor directions. In room 14 we ran to use the toilet. While sitting there I noticed the floor towel was dirty. The soap and shampoo were open and in the shower and all the bath towels were wet. I had to walk back to office to get new towels. We had booked a cabin, highest priced room so we would have private bathroom, not to end up sharing one. If others needed a room to shower they should have refreshed it before sending us there. The bed was the worst made I have ever seen, sheets all wrinkled and not tucked, had to pull tight and tuck it before getting in. Bed very uncomfortable, woke with back pain trying not to roll into dip in center. Also had to step around a wet spot on the bedroom floor, found after stepping on with socks now soaked. They brought in a fan opened all our window so when we returned to room it was freezing, not to mention they left all our windows open with our belongings in there, I did not appreciate that at all. We also were not told there was free breakfast, found it on other reviews. The grounds are nice and the main building was beautiful. This could be an awesome place with better management and higher standards, for the price definitely not worthy. We were given 10% discount for water problems. What a joke, half price or a free nights stay to do the things we missed out on sounds more like it. We were told if we didn't agree with the 10% discount we could talk to the owner. That would have involved wasting or Sunday morning to try and see some of the Island before returning home. I don disagree with our service and compensation. Also as we left room 14 Why was a housekeeper cleaning drinking glasses to those rooms on the ground with a water spicket out the side of the building? Would have though I would only see something like that in a third world country.Hi, what would you like to know about this accommodation?

over a year ago

Would love to give the Captain a better review but.....Stayed in cabin 32, on 8/14/-8/15. Upon arrival went to early dinner, where we were pestered by fruit flies, in our face, on our plates,and drinks. Waitress refilled husbands water glass I told him I wouldn't drink it as I could see a dog hair and white particles floating around in it. The food as my husband described had no "Wow facture", 1-10 maybe 3. On Saturday morning we woke to no running water. Now things like this will happen, but we were VERY poorly accommodated. After 3 phone calls to the front desk (being told it would be fixed soon) my husband asked if there was a place we could get a shower. By this time it was noon and we had sat in our room all day, no coffee, no teeth brushing, no going to the bathroom, no breakfast, and not even a drop of water to drink. We were directed to room 14 across the driveway. After having to go to front desk, in a fresh from bed and grouchy state from no food or coffee, we got a key and walked to room 14 with once again with very poor directions. In room 14 we ran to use the toilet. While sitting there I noticed the floor towel was dirty. The soap and shampoo were open and in the shower and all the bath towels were wet. I had to walk back to office to get new towels. We had booked a cabin, highest priced room so we would have private bathroom, not to end up sharing one. If others needed a room to shower they should have refreshed it before sending us there. The bed was the worst made I have ever seen, sheets all wrinkled and not tucked, had to pull tight and tuck it before getting in. Bed very uncomfortable, woke with back pain trying not to roll into dip in center. Also had to step around a wet spot on the bedroom floor, found after stepping on with socks now soaked. They brought in a fan opened all our window so when we returned to room it was freezing, not to mention they left all our windows open with our belongings in there, I did not appreciate that at all. We also were not told there was free breakfast, found it on other reviews. The grounds are nice and the main building was beautiful. This could be an awesome place with better management and higher standards, for the price definitely not worthy. We were given 10% discount for water problems. What a joke, half price or a free nights stay to do the things we missed out on sounds more like it. We were told if we didn't agree with the 10% discount we could talk to the owner. That would have involved wasting or Sunday morning to try and see some of the Island before returning home. I don disagree with our service and compensation. Also as we left room 14 Why was a housekeeper cleaning drinking glasses to those rooms on the ground with a water spicket out the side of the building? Would have though I would only see something like that in a third world country.

over a year ago
Washougal, Washington
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Captain Whidbey Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for an updated bathroom.”
lorettah119, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Have them put the heat on before your arrival.”
susanmL2804DJ, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the lagoon are more private, quieter (unless you have heavy footed people upstairs) and more spacious.”
376karinar, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay the night ---just had Thanksgiving dinner (Brunch)”
davidbA4601BU, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to stay in the outlying buildings; the rooms are less noisy.”
859julieh, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$120* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$120
TripAdvisorUS$120
Agoda.comUS$120
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates