We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,981 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,802: English reviews
Start your review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
 Click to rate
Königstein i.Ts.
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Marriott is a great place to stay in the city. I had a suite which was huge, but also the regular rooms were quite spacious. Great location with a good service!There are many restaurants and shops close by, and for city tours this is good starting point.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andreas001
Joplin, Missouri
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

On entering my room I noticed it seemed very humid. I turned on the AC and on returning to the room later it was better. The bed was creaky and not as comfortable as is usual in Marriott's. I woke during the night and thought I smelled vomit. I didn't think anymore about it until the following night when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don C
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I wanted to give 3.5 stars but that wasn't an option so I went with 3. I stayed here with my teenaged daughter for 3 nights. We were attending a conference. And this is definitely a conference hotel. I can think of at least 4 other large groups that I saw checking in/out. First the good: The staff here is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank c m
Barbara F, Executive Guest Experience Liaison at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. We appreciate your feedback. Your comments have been shared with our leadership team to be used in our continued efforts to improve our product and service. Thank you again for your time and consideration. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Would definitely stay here again. The location is awesome by being situated so close to everything. The staff was very courteous. Rooms are adequate with a great and accommodating cleaning staff. Situated within a mile's walking distance of Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell Museum, and Betsy Ross' House. And of course the Reading Terminal Market is right across the street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldiastx
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have been here a few times before and as a gold member I usually use Marriott hotels often. This place does have a good location(as do about 20 other downtown hotels) but that is about it. parking is $60 a night(NYC prices) so we used spot hero to park 2 blocks away for $15. We were to be guaranteed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank panster
Barbara F, Executive Guest Experience Liaison at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay and our great location. We were so sorry to hear we were not able to make a more positive impression of our hotel during your stay. The building you stayed in is part of the historical Reading Railroad train shed and the structure is unchanged. We were sorry to...

Chillicothe, Ohio
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I thought that a Marriott that was smack in the center of town would be much nicer. It was clean, but my biggest disappointment was the water. The water didn't get very hot and the water pressure was terrible. I could have gotten a better shower in the sink. Parking costs more than$40/day. Also, I paid $20/day for high speed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria S
Barbara F, Executive Guest Experience Liaison at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay and our great location. We were sorry to hear we were not able to make a more positive impression of our hotel during your stay. Your comments will be used to make improvements moving forward. We do appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at this property for 5 nights for a Choir Conference. It is in a great central location near historic sites. Expect a crowd. There were several conferences that coincided with ours. The staff were very friendly, but we had several issues. We reserved a 2 double bed room, but upon arrival, we were told that they didn't have one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AlohaHunt
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay, our great location and staff friendliness. We are only too sorry to hear we were not able to make a more positive impression of our hotel during your stay by providing you with a double bedded room and better working heat. We will be utilizing your feedback in our...

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The place was clean, as you would expect from a Marriott. However, I have a few complaints. I was really annoyed to learn that I had to pay for the internet. Free internet is only available for Marriott Rewards people, and I wasn’t one of them. Most other hotels these days have free internet for everyone. Marriott doesn’t. I’ll keep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert M
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay, the cleanliness of the hotel and staff friendliness. We are only too sorry to hear we were not able to make a more positive impression of our hotel during your stay. We will be utilizing your feedback in our quest to improve the service we offer. Thank you again...

USA
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Typical Marriott . Skip the valet parking if you can. You can wait in line to get into the driveway for 30-45 minutes sometimes. Even when you call valet to get your car, can take awhile if they even answer the phone.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CAPNH
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. We are only too sorry to hear we fell short of meeting your parking expectation. Your feedback has been forwarded to our valet parking provider so that corrective actions can be taken. We do appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I spent a week in this hotel and while most staff in the hotel were amazing polite and courteous, and helpful, i can't rate this hotel highly due to the actions of what can only be described as a manager having a bad day and taking it out on customers. I attended for a conference from the UK (for a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yemi G
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay and the friendliness of most of the staff. Sorry to hear that your positive experience was negated by the actions of one manager. We will utilize the feedback to make improvements for the future. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

730 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (537)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (142)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (169)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (136)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
King Guest Room (70)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 85 in Philadelphia
881 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4,557 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Price Range: $248 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Philadelphia Marriott Downtown staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question
Erie, Pennsylvania
4 months ago
Swedesboro, New Jersey
McAllen, Texas
over a year ago
Washington DC, District of Columbia
6 months ago

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from Philadelphia Marriott Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You will want a tower room to get away from the noise.”
 of 5 bubbles AlohaHunt, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pick higher floors,”
 of 5 bubbles 745yemig, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I always select higher floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles vivianye2002, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Headhouse Tower rooms are much nicer and larger”
 of 5 bubbles tmartin8506, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“From a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles TerribleGit, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5