We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Apple Hostels Philadelphia

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Apple Hostels Philadelphia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 261: English reviews
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my second visit, I love this place. I travel alone to visit my son who is a student in Philadelphia. I am made so welcome and nothing is to much trouble for the staff, I'm even allowed to keep a bicycle in the baggage room. The location is great so close to 2dn street septa station and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoF155
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in town for a conference, but couldn't afford the $250/night conference hotel rate, so tried this hostel out instead. Turns out there were a number of folks staying there who also were at the conference. Location is great, right in the heart of the old historical/national park area. I was able to walk to the Marriott (conference hotel)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank André K
Coram, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came down to Philadelphia for the Rocky Run 5k race and decided to give the Apple Hostel a try based on previous reviews. Overall the hostel is very nice and clean and the people there very friendly, I arrived earlier than the 2pm check-in but they were more than happy to store by luggage before the official check-in. Hostel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 October 2016

very welcoming & friendly staff especially coming from a bad hostel Jazz on the Park New York - learnt our lesson to always stay at Hi Hostels. Private room was good, bathrooms clean and well stocked, kitchen facilities with tea & coffee always great, had computers for use, tours, handy to subway, walking distance for everything else, would certainly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heathermcg2016
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

The location of this hostel is superb, and the staff very friendly and informative. There were activities for the guests, but unfortunately we couldn't partake because we already had plans. I felt safe here, and appreciated the security codes needed to enter the dorm. My friend and I stayed in the all-women dorm, and it worked out well. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoBree
AppleHostels, Owner at Apple Hostels Philadelphia, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice review! The comfort and well-being of our guests is very important to us. I'm sorry that you found your bed uncomfortable. All of our mattresses are "real" mattresses made by Serta, but maybe the one you had is faulty. We inspect our mattresses at least once per month but can you please contact...

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Pro: location Con: certain staff members/owner, lack of safety precautions, dishonest information on website, squeaky beds My friends and I (group of 5 girls) stayed at Apple Hostels for 2 nights, Friday night to Sunday morning. Things were going well the first night, the only complaint I initially had was that the beds were extremely squeaky. On Saturday night around...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan L
AppleHostels, Owner at Apple Hostels Philadelphia, responded to this review

Hi Susan, I'm sorry that you had a disappointing experience in our hostel. Please accept our apology for not responding to your concerns more thoroughly. I want to absolutely assure you that the safety of our guests is of the utmost importance to us. We take many precautions to ensure that no unregistered guests enter the hostel. We have a...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

A creepy random guy walked into our dorm (the coed room), walked around, then walked back out. Went downstairs to complain about this, as it did not appear that this person was a guest of the hostel (he looked and smelled like he was a straight up homeless person). The guy at the front desk did not seem to care...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank linke26
AppleHostels, Owner at Apple Hostels Philadelphia, responded to this review

Hi Linke26, I'm sorry that you had a disappointing experience in our hostel. Please accept my apology for not responding to your concerns more thoroughly. I want to absolutely assure you that the safety of our guests is of the utmost importance to us. We take many precautions to ensure that no unregistered guests enter the hostel. We have a...

Bakersfield, CA
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

The hostel was clean and orderly, but the pricing was much higher than other hostels. Because of that, I expected more from the pub tour, and the guide had us go to 2 pubs and did not describe anything. It was very disappointing waste of my limited time there and I left early. Plus instead of the the guide giving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mighty_Bruin
AppleHostels, Owner at Apple Hostels Philadelphia, responded to this review

Hi Ed, I'm sorry that you were disappointed with our pub crawl. However, it's not a walking tour. The person leading the crawl is not a tour guide, so she shouldn't be expected to give you a history of each bar. Also, you were the one who was quite abrasive with our other guests who were from foreign countries, especially...

Bronx, New York
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

I liked staying at Apple Hostels. The neighborhood is fantastic, in the historic and funky Old City section of Philadelphia. Nearby is reliable public transit, cool bars and restaurants, even an adult shop that looked fun instead of stereotypically sleazy. The dorms are clean, the bathrooms VERY clean, the kitchen area easy to use. The vibe is laid-back, the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank behlorthefoodslut
AppleHostels, Owner at Apple Hostels Philadelphia, responded to this review

Thank you for the very nice review. I hope we see you again soon!

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The location is great and very walkable. It's in the historic part of town adjacent to Market St. which has lots of bars & restaurants. It's walking distance (10min) from the train station, but if you're going to the airport, an UberPool is a little cheaper/more convenient. I normally book rooms with fewer beds, so was a little hesitant to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trangquility

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
City Center East
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
City Center East
Penn's View Hotel
Penn's View Hotel
#12 of 86 in Philadelphia
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Apple Hostels is the only hostel in downtown Philadelphia, close to all major attractions and the best bars and clubs in Philly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apple Hostels Philadelphia

Address: 32 S Bank St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2811 (Formerly Bank Street Hostel)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Price Range: $40 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Apple Hostels Philadelphia 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Apple Hostels Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Hostels Of Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apple Hostels Philadelphia staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Galway city
over a year ago
Windsor, Connecticut
over a year ago
Syracuse, New York
over a year ago
Tokyo, Japan
11 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Apple Hostels Philadelphia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I enjoyed having a lower bunk near the window. More privacy and a near the ventilation.”
 of 5 bubbles andr_k21, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“private room was very good”
 of 5 bubbles heathermcg2016, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper beds were my preference.”
 of 5 bubbles mushabbir, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Shared room for women”
 of 5 bubbles 2016crism, 27 May 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in the ladies dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles sheilabD1931CQ, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay