We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

994 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 920: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is very nice looking and classy. The rooms are spacious and there is a nice restaurant within the hotel. Staff were very welcoming and professional, which made us feel appreciated as guests. Unfortunately we only stayed in Philadelphia for one night so hence we didn't use the hotel and it's facilities as we should have. The location is... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelSuperstar
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at Sonesta Philadelphia. It was wonderful to read that you found our Art Hotel to be classy and spacious! I'm so glad that the staff was very welcoming and professional and that you felt appreciated. It's very important to us that our guests do feel appreciated and find our our hotel to... More 

Lebanon, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Philadelphia Sonesta for one night during a recent trip. This may have been the largest hotel that I've ever stayed in. Check in went smooth. The front desk clerk had my reservations and I had no problems. Our room was on the 11th floor and although I didn't care much about staying in a room with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick G
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Frederick, Thank you for your recent stay at Sonesta Philadelphia. It was wonderful to read that you had a pleasant stay and that you were comfortable in your guestroom and that you found our team to be very friendly and courteous. I do apologize that the Art Bar was so busy as the hotel has been nearly sold out,... More 

Miles City, Montana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Where do I begin to describe the ArtBar at the Sonesta in downtown Philly? This was NOT a crowded night (Thursday). Ordered food and drinks. Initial round of drinks for a table of 4 took at least 40 minutes to arrive. The Tanqueray martinis with a HINT of vermouth came with LICORICE (i.e. anisette) instead…no joke. You could smell the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pearl H
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Pearl, Thank you for visiting the Art Bar and for taking the time to write about your experience and I am so sorry to hear it was not a pleasant one. We deeply regret that you received slow service and that your order was incorrect and understand your frustration. I wish you would have left feeling differently about us.... More 

new jersey, usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for three nights. The location was great, close to shopping & restaurants. The room was very spacious with a very comfortable bed. The customer service is absolutely phenomenal. There are two sisters, Nachele & Sadira, who work for room service who are incredibly nice and accommodating. They greet you with a big smile and genuine... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank addev
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was wonderful to read all your compliments about our Art Hotel. I'm so glad to hear you found our customer service absolutely phenomenal! Our ultimate goal is to provide an outstanding customer service from check in to check-out and we are happy to know that we had succeeded. I will certainly pass along your kind words to... More 

Clanfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very modern style city centre hotel - small but sassy rooms with no frills (so hence my description above). Staff courteous and helpful - good for a night or two. The bar and restaurant looked pretty small so, although we didn't eat there I suspect it gets rather crowded over breakfast

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at Sonesta Philadelphia. I'm glad you found our Art Hotel to be very modern and the rooms sassy. We take great pride in our $30 million upgrade. It's wonderful to hear that our staff was courteous and helpful as we strive to provide excellent service and a memorable stay. I will certainly... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Bad: Our wifi sucked. The bathroom was tiny and had no fan. The lobby's Art Bar is loud. Good: The location couldn't be better! City hall is 4 blocks, Independence park is 11 blocks, Natural History Museum is 5 blocks. The beds are amazing! The staff is incredibly friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia S
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Virginia, Thank you for you recent stay at Sonesta Philadelphia. We are pleased you enjoyed our our amazing beds, found the staff to be incredibly friendly and that you took advantage of our central location and everything Philadelphia has to offer within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel. I do apologize you were not satisfied with your... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown for the Rocky Balboa Run. Great hotel. The decor and rooms are great. The staff are friendly. I had left my toothbrush behind and requested a replacement and it was delivered within 5 minutes of my call. Great Customer Service. Close to all downtown attractions.

Helpful?
Thank JoeD-NYC
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Joe, Thank you for your excellent detailed review! We really appreciate your time in sharing your wonderful experience during your recent stay during the Rocky Balboa Run. Our ultimate goal is to provide outstanding customer service from check-in to check-out and we are happy to know that we had succeeded. Reading your review is really inspiring and I am... More 

Phoenix
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had the king room on 20th floor. Not very large and no chair to sit. But has a desk and comfortable bathroom. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the towels were fluffy. The tv worked great and was easy to use. Room had old style coffee pot. The gym was small but did not feel claustrophobic. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paisagringa
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at Sonesta Philadelphia. It's great to hear that you had excellent service! We strive to provide excellent service and a memorable experience unique to Philadelphia and it's great to know we succeeded! I will certainly pass along your comments to the team. I'm glad you found the bed and pillows to be... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was really bad experience . On Monday morning we woke because of horrible construction noises from the room above . We had a feeling like they r drilling right by our bed . Could not sleep . Couldn't relax . Plus this ..

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina S
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kristina, Thank you for your recent stay at Sonesta Philadelphia. I am so sorry to hear you had a bad experience and we deeply regret that you heard noise. Unfortunately, there were unforeseen circumstances on the roof that had to be repaired immediately and we sincerely apologize about the noise disturbance. Please know this is not the Sonesta standard... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not impressed. First, room was not to standard and was told there were no other rooms. This was pretty early in the day. Then there were hairs (not mine) in the bed when I pulled the blanket back. I called to have the sheets changed. About 15 minutes later, a guy shows up with a stack of sheets telling me... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela M
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Thank you for your recent stay at Sonesta Philadelphia. I am so sorry to hear about your experience and that your expectations were not met. We strive to provide excellent service and a clean and comfortable hotel stay, and I'm sorry that you were not impressed. Please know that finding hairs in the bed is not the Sonesta... More 

581 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (206)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (286)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Club Junior King Suite (31)
Viewed
Club King City View Room (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Queen City View Room (24)
Viewed
Deluxe King City View Room (23)
Viewed
Junior King Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,046 reviews
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,171 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#20 of 86 in Philadelphia
428 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, nightlife, museums, Rittenhouse Square, Avenue of the Arts-Theatre District & Antique Row. Experience professional sports with the Philadelphia Eagles and Phillies or visit top rated golf courses in the tri-state area. Sing-a-long to your favorite band at the nearby Wells Fargo Center and the Susquehanna Bank Center. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia features great hotel deals and packages for family travel and weekend escapes! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Price Range: $226 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Sabre Hospitality Solutions so you can book your Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
1 month ago
Washington, Pennsylvania
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner suites are large and sexy”
 of 5 bubbles ryansmeyer, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stayed on the fifth flour found it to be quiet,stay away from the lift areas,could be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 4nathanielw, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room was very good, little noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 917markd, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“found this to be nearly perfect for location, we were on mid range floor, 14th, found it very amicable”
 of 5 bubbles josephz948, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Was on 17th floor over Chestnut: quiet”
 of 5 bubbles sunnsnow3, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay