We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Morris House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Morris House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

542 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Morris House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 514: English reviews
West Haven, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Room was pristine and comfortable. Loved the "historic charm" of the entire area. Service was perfect in every way. Any time of the year would be a good visit, lots to do in the square. We didn't even mind the trembling of the bldg. thought it was an earthquake tremor, but ended up being the nearby train. Made it part...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion809
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you on your kind review and sharing your experience of Morris House online. We are so pleased you remember Morris House in such a great way! If you have any plan to come to Philly and stay with us again, please let us know and we will do our best to assist you.

Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My husband and I decided to make Philadelphia our destination since he is a real history buff. After reading the positive reviews, we decided to stay there rather than a larger hotel. We were not disappointed. After our gps had us going in circles, I called the hotel. Shannon stayed on the line and directed us right there, outside waiting....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks on such as remarkable review. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us in Morris House. Thank you for complementing our comfortable room and friendly staffs. It will be our pleasure to greet you again if you have any plan to come back and stay with us in the future!

Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My fiancé and I decided to stop off in Philly to break up our drive from VA to CT. We wanted to splurge and stay in a nicer hotel than we normally would. I am so glad we found this quaint little hotel instead of staying in a chain. The service was amazing! We were given a quick tour of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tfitz22
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much on your kind review and sharing your experience of Morris House online. It is our pleasure to greet you and having you as our guests. We are looking forward to assist you again in the future!

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Look at title, that's all! At first, good location in the heart of Philadelphia in walking distance of many sites. At second, the spirit of history. At third, hospitality. At fourth... At fifth... And so on. If you are to visit Philly, think about this hotel. The only drawback - there are no slippers in the room. But, seems, there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pavel R
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Sincere greeting from Morris House. Thank you on your "Wow, wow wow" review. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us in Morris House. It will be our pleasure to greeting you again if you are planning to visit USA again in the future.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This is a little gem that will make your visit to Philadelphia great. The rooms are beautiful, spotless, big, and quiet. The service is great and breakfast pretty good. If you visit in the summer don't miss the courtyard.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank F19147
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for choosing Morris House and sharing your experience of Morris House on Tripadvisor. Thank you for complimenting our beautiful room, great service and good breakfast. Your great experience here makes all our efforts worthwhile. We will be thrilled to greet you again in the future.

New York
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We loved our 2 day stay in our very spacious and clean room (301) which was decorated with period details. When you're in Philly to see history, it's nice to stay in a landmark building from the 1780s. It's centrally located, easy to walk or take a cab to major sites. The only drawback was the breakfast - it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psycheNewYork
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for choosing Morris House and sharing your experience of Morris House online. Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback about basic breakfast options and we certainly do our best to improve it. Again thank you for your review and it will be our pleasure to assist you...

Reviewed 22 August 2012

The best thing about our stay was the location. Morris House is within walking distance of all the sites you want to see in Philadelphia. The suite was large and quite comfortable. There was minor noise from construction and the subway, but it did not really affect our sleeping. As Americans, we were quite disappointed in the Continental breakfast. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Sincere greetings from all of us in Morris House. Thank you for sharing detailed and valuable information about Morris House online. It's our pleasure to have you as our dear guests. We are so sorry for your disappointment about continental breakfast, but we certainly do our best to improve it. We are looking forward to greeting you again!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Our daughter was getting married at a nearby restaurant and Morris House was a perfect location for our family to stay, mixing both history and modern convenience. Booking as many rooms as we did was made easy by the congenial staff and when it came time to coordinate everything for the big day, they were extremely helpful. Shannon was particularly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverly C
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your kind review and complements about helpful staffs and lovely historic room. And we are sorry for the subway vibration that you feel and the suites. We certainly make efforts on improving it. It will be our pleasure to assist you again in the future!

Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We arrived very late to the hotel due to a family emergancy. It was a little confusing at first because we didnt realize the entrance was on the side street. The staff was so sweet and very helpful the entire three days we were there. The room was gorgeous. The library, living room so full of history and stories. Loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonccrn
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for choosing Morris House and on your kind review. Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for pointing out our sweet staffs, gorgeous rooms and beautiful library. It will be our pleasure to assist you again if you plan to visit Philadelphia someday.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 10 August 2012

A really nice hotel. Staff very helpful, room was nice. Close to downtown and all the attractions. If I had to find a con with this hotel, it would be that the sofa couchs need replacing. As couchs they are find, but very unsupportive as fold out bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1SunAdmirer
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you on your kind review and sharing your experience of Morris House on Tripadvisor. Great to hear you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comment about sofa couch and we definitely will do our best to improve it! We are looking forward to assist you again in the future!

203 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,277 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Address: 225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Price Range: $231 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Morris House Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Edmonton, Canada
Setauket, New York
6 months ago
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
8 months ago
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Boston, MA.

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Morris House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check out each room description on the hotel's website. They're all different.”
 of 5 bubbles ColinHanna, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A lower floor = less steps to climb”
 of 5 bubbles 3starrabbit, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had room 101. Ground floor, seemed to be next to the trash and bottle bank that were collected very early in the morning. Noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles SteveCBath, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for old house not annex”
 of 5 bubbles CD181, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“View the website.. Pictures and descriptions are accurate!”
 of 5 bubbles lmk1126, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay