We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4360 Albany Post Rd Rt. 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538-3609
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (161)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (14)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 02/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Roosevelt Inn
Updated 02/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Hyde Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Roosevelt Inn of Hyde Park is a uniquely charming family-owned motel-style inn with 25 rooms and a coffee shop. The proprietors, originally from Germany and Finland, established the inn and have infused it with an air of old-world hospitality that continues today. Roosevelt Inn offers two styles of accommodations (100% non-smoking, no pets) - deluxe rooms and rustic rooms. One of the Deluxe 2 Double rooms is handicap accessible with wide doorways, low counters, ADA toilet with support bar and a shower tub combination with wall grab bars and a portable ADA tub chair. (Please call for further description.) All accommodations include Wi-Fi, a continental breakfast in our coffee shop breakfast area with complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and popcorn available 24 hours a day. The inn is located in the historic town of Hyde Park, New York. Hyde Park is the birthplace of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and offers many points of interest, such as FDR Home and Library, Vanderbilt Mansion, Culinary Institute of America, Staatsburgh State Historic Site, Town of Rhinebeck, Dutchess Fairgrounds and Marist, Bard and Vassar Colleges. Hyde Park sits alongside the Hudson River and Route 9 and is approximately 2 hours north of New York City and 1.5 hours south of Albany. It is a perfect stopping point for travelers exploring the beautiful Hudson River Valley.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Seating area
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
442Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 230
  • 173
  • 29
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
TexTraveler1 wrote a review Sep 2022
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware132 contributions122 helpful votes
We booked the Roosevelt Inn of Hyde Park based on TripAdvisor reviews and were disappointed. The staff was nice, and the motel was clean and well-located for visiting the FDR Library and homeplace, but the motel is nothing special. The clattering bathroom fan kept us awake much of the night. The office is unmanned much of the day and night. The door to our motel room would not stay closed unless we locked the deadbolt. The bathroom linens. were threadbare. It did have a basic complimentary breakfast. Let me share an example of its poor service. We needed to iron a shirt and found the ironing board in the room, but there was no iron. When I mentioned it to the office person as I checked out, I was told that the irons were kept in the office and that I could have asked for it there. Well, I would have done that (if I had known), but the office is only open for limited hours. The leadership of this motel just isn't thinking about its customers' needs. Again, this is a clean, local motel, but it's only average and doesn't deserve more than average ratings.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid Room 6.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Operations, General Manager at Roosevelt Inn
Responded 5 days ago
We apologize for not meeting your standards and although we may not agree with your characterization of our charming little motel we will investigate the issues brought up. There are a few things you mentioned in this review-- Bathroom fan? Why would you leave it running all night long? It has a switch. There is a night light in each bathroom so the light fan does not even need to be turned on during a late night toilet break. Lock problem? Did you go out to dinner? How did you lock the door since we do not provide a deadbolt key? Staffing? Like everyone in the US, we are shortstaffed and doing multiple duties which is why we have a sign on the office door saying where you can find staff during the morning hours (in the coffeeshop or with housekeeping) as well as a text number to make requests. After 10 am, the desk is staffed until 9 pm when the office closes. I know because I am the one staffing the desk. Even after hours, our staff live on property so we are able to respond to alarms. After 10 years running earning Tripadvisor’s certificate of excellence and 50 years of operating a profitable business, we have remained so by paying attention to our property. Our amenities, breakfast items and operational costs are made with respect to our budget; it is why you are paying a modest rate. Any repairs or upgrades reported by guests/staff are evaluated, prioritized and scheduled each day, season and year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Art C wrote a review Aug 2022
West Orange, New Jersey45 contributions20 helpful votes
This is a great place to stay. Despite the "retro" look, The Roosevelt is up-to-date. Our room was spotless, the location is central to the historic places and the staff was very welcoming. I only wish that the breakfast wasn't "continental", but that's what it is! The beverages were hot and cold, the pastries were fresh and there were plenty of cereal choices. I recommend this modern "old school" stopover.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Operations, General Manager at Roosevelt Inn
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PhilandSue F wrote a review Aug 2022
Seekonk, Massachusetts5 contributions
Came to town to visit the Roosevelt historic sites. This was close to all of them, as well as plenty of restaurants. Attendant was friendly, helpful, and made us feel welcome. The breakfast area was kind of retro-ish and cute.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: KIng size bed room on 2nd floor was large, clean, and quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Operations, General Manager at Roosevelt Inn
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DaveAndCheryl wrote a review Aug 2022
Leesburg VA84 contributions31 helpful votes
I stayed at the Roosevelt after attending a graduation at the Culinary Institute of America as it was recommended by a friend. The motel takes you back to the 60’s and I should know as I was alive back then! The rooms are clean and though the traffic wizzes by, it is nonetheless quiet and the rooms spotless inside. There is a continental breakfast and coffee bar on the first level. Highly recommended!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Operations, General Manager at Roosevelt Inn
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna P wrote a review Aug 2022
Wexford, PA21 contributions2 helpful votes
We were in the area to do some touring and stayed at the Roosevelt Inn for two nights! WHAT A GEM! We went by the previous reviews and they were spot on. The rooms were clean, king bed was very comfy, linens high quality, Karen, the owner, was just wonderful and all our needs were met. The Coffee Shop was way too cute and breakfast was wonderful. The rooms were larger than I expected with a frig, extra sink, table w/two chairs and a sitting chair. I can't say enough about the Inn --- it was a throw back motel/hotel and we loved staying there. Even sat outside on the metal chairs provided watching the sky turn a glorious pink. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Operations, General Manager at Roosevelt Inn
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LarrySchu wrote a review Jul 2022
Blairstown, New Jersey69 contributions49 helpful votes
Very clean "old time" type of Inn. We had the King Bed Room on second floor. Bed was very comfortable. Value was very good although I guess my room was not eligible for AARP or AAA discount. You get an included continental breakfast in a very nice "luncheonette" type setting. If traveling back to Hyde Park area, I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I can still handle stairs, please note there is no elevator to second floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Operations, General Manager at Roosevelt Inn
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PigsFly wrote a review Jul 2022
DC334 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
Loved my cozy, comfy room. I picked a rustic room and found it to be quite accommodating. Good AC, comfy bed, good cable offerings. Spotless housekeeping. Roadside proximity did not bother, me and I found it to be quiet enuff. I stayed three nights. Coffee setup during the breakfast hour is good. Also enjoyed the diner down the road. Main advantage is convenience to the FDR complex, Val-Kill, and two Gilded Age Mansions. A very nice stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Parking is right in front of your room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Operations, General Manager at Roosevelt Inn
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carolynb35 wrote a review Jun 2022
Hamilton, New Jersey4 contributions
NOT the typical roadside motel!! Stayed 3 nights at this delightful & convenient location....quiet, upgraded, friendly/helpful staff, spotlessly clean, comfortable, fridge & K-cup coffeemaker, extra sink, roomy. Bed was comfortable, bathroom spotless, no musty room smell/odor, free continental breakfast offering plenty of serve yourself options, great value. Be sure to enjoy at least 1 meal at the nearby diner for a retro experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Operations, General Manager at Roosevelt Inn
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
musicgirl911 wrote a review Jun 2022
Hamilton, Ohio338 contributions82 helpful votes
+1
If I owned an inn this is how I would operate it! Like welcoming home your relatives - this place is immaculate! Every detail made us comfy and wish we could have stayed longer! If we are in the area we will return! Larger than usual room size, quiet, clean!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Operations, General Manager at Roosevelt Inn
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joyful wrote a review May 2022
Perryville, Kentucky5 contributions8 helpful votes
QQI- quaint, quiet and immaculate! This little motel was a perfect stop. Updated bedding and perfectly clean! This spot is a gem. Perfectly kept. Check in was quick and easy. Easy access to FDR home and library. Check out the diner down the road for a great meal.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Operations, General Manager at Roosevelt Inn
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
roosevelt hotel hyde park
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkHyde Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Roosevelt Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Roosevelt Inn?
Nearby attractions include Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site (1.1 km), Train Station (1.0 km), and Hyde Park Historical Society Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Roosevelt Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Roosevelt Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Roosevelt Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Roosevelt Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Roosevelt Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mizu Sushi, Antonella's Restaurant, and Cranberry's At Tilley Hall.
Is Roosevelt Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Hyde Park.
Are there any historical sites close to Roosevelt Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum (2.1 km), Home of Franklin D. Roosevelt National Historic Site (2.1 km), and Eleanor Roosevelt National Historic Site (4.2 km).