We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Confederate House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Confederate House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Confederate House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 178: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 December 2016

For curious & open-minded travelers, the Confederate House and Colleen are larger than life! Rona & I absolutely loved our stay! Do not expect a stay that is usually on offer from chain hotel/motels; if that is what you want, meaning you want a bit of anonymity in how you're treated as a guest, you should stay at one of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shad K
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 22 November 2016

The confederate house is a stunning renovated property from 1857, Colleen, the owner is deep with Savannah history an knowledge, and a pleasure to get to know and talk to. She is a gracious host with a unique and beautiful property, located on the park and convenient to everything, once I arrived I parked the car and didn't need it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MykMc
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We were attracted to The Confederate House due to its availability on Wotif, and relative to other properties, it appeared to offer a unique and charming B&B experience in a great location at a reasonable price. And to some extent it did most of these things. The Confederate House is in a lovely part of the Historic district of Savannah,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tim & Petrina M
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review it was rather informative your suggestion to hand guest a 1 page written with information. I never thought of doing it it just did not seem the same as taking the time to explain everything in the event a guest had questions but I'll give it some serious thought. Yes we do talk about the fact...

Racine, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The Confederate House is nothing more than a place to sleep and shower; that is, if you dare. My husband and I planned a trip to the south, including 3 nights in Beaufort,SC, and 4 nights in Savannah, GA, at The Confederate House. Following our 3 night stay at a true southern B&B, we arrived here at about 2:25 pm...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank cemeteryldy
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

This review is very slanted we had a problem with this couple and dealt with it the best we could . This is a no smoking bed and breakfast it is stated in our website there is a no smoking sign as you enter the building. When I went to clean their room the odor from smoking was really bad....

RACINE
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Let me say that the inn keeper is doing her best but I believe she is a bit overwhelmed. The Confederate House is very large and it would be a monumental task for one person to take care of it for use a bed and breakfast. She does all the cleaning, cooking and operating of the inn by herself. She...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MICHAEL K
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review our inn has a very high occupancy 12 months of the year people come back and bring their extended families with them so I GUESS I,m doing something right.

Sterling, Illinois
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The Confederate House was a great place to stay if you enjoy a bed and breakfast. The owner had many colorful stories to tell of her family, the town, and home. Rooms were very comfortable with tv and wifi provided. This beautiful old home is across the street from Forsyth Park and a short walk to many shops and restaurants....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pdougl99
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

Thank-you for the great review. You are always welcome to come again. It is people like you that make it all worthwhile opening our home to the public.

Cicero, New York
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Let me preface this review by saying that we have not actually stayed at The Confederate House in Savannah, but I am writing the review based on a phone conversation with the owner/manager, Colleen Williams. That being said, I had booked a 3-night stay back in June of 2016 through Hotels.com which was a non-refundable booking. Several days ago, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelcriticfromNY
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

Thank-you for your understanding and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

The location is right on Forsyth Park. It's a perfect location to begin walking around Savannah or joining locals for your morning run. The room was cool, without any mustiness or odor. It was clean with a comfortable bed and new bathroom fixtures. You can hear cars on the street outside but it was not too noisy. Our view was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AllOneOm
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Friendly owner who has a ton of stories to tell. Bed was comfortable and breakfast was delicious! It's directly across from a beautiful park, and near bus stops and tour bus stops. While not exactly in the same location as the main area, it is within a 15 minute walk or a few minute by car or just hop on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Gave a 1 star simply due to the fact that the county of Chatham was declared a state of emergency due to the catagory 1 hurricane predicted to pass through and the owner of the Confederate "Absolutely Refused" to refund 1 night stay. When we told her the govenor declared state of emergency in this county her reply was "...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Diane B
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

The area we are in does not flood we are in the highest area of the city. You forgot to mention we did give you an in house credit for one year. It is on website no refunds as a consumer it is your responsibility to take out travel insurance. We charge less than most places so we can not...

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Dresser Palmer House
Dresser Palmer House
#15 of 31 in Savannah
465 reviews
Roussell's Garden
#19 of 31 in Savannah
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Stephen Williams House
The Stephen Williams House
#18 of 31 in Savannah
52 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 31 in Savannah
1,431 reviews
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#9 of 31 in Savannah
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Confederate House

Address: 808 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5903
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Price Range: $185 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Confederate House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Confederate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Confederate House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Confederate House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you find it difficult to sleep in a room with street noise and exterior light coming in, decline staying in the front room.”
C0ral_L0ver, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Due to the light coming in the front bedroom, choose one of the others, or bring an eye mask.”
  • Front bedroom
  • Front bedroom
  • Front bedroom bathroom
  • Upstairs lobby
  • Front bedroom bathroom
899karinh, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“At night, the General Jackson room gets quite a bit of light from the entrance light (despite the solid blinds).”
Voyageuse53, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just three rooms, mine faced the park with huge windows and huge views, I did not see the other two rooms, but this one was spectacular.”
MykMc, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are located on second floor of this lovely home.”
Pdougl99, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5