We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Save
Share
603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$131
View deal
Expedia.com
US$131
View deal
Travelocity
US$131
View deal
Hotels.comUS$131
travelup.comUS$150
HamptonUS$131
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (283)
Room & Suite (190)
Dining (37)

About

#43 of 129 hotels in Savannah
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Savannah Historic District is near Savannah's famous River Street, City Market, SCAD, and more. Rest easy in the comfort of your room and wake up to a hot free breakfast each day before exploring historic Savannah. On a hot day, choose to take a swim in our outdoor pool.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English
1948Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 957
  • 598
  • 229
  • 114
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Michael M wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed at the suites for 2 nights over the weekend while visiting a local college. Check-in was smooth and was able to check in early. The room was decent size and clean. Bathroom was a good size and had room to move about. They offered a free breakfast, however the food and coffee wasn’t appetizing to me. They did offer cookies throughout the day which my daughter enjoyed. My only set of gripes is around the heating system in the room. It was cold this particular weekend and the heat didn’t work at all. My other gripe with the heating unit was that it would turn on for a minute blowing cold air in the room around 5am for a minute then turn off. This repeated for several times and lost sleep as a result.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Make sure you test your heating and cooling prior to sleeping the night.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Soraya Johnson, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
Responded 2 weeks ago
Michael, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. I am very sorry to hear you had heating issues during your stay with us. We will work on making sure the issue gets resolved. Savannah does not usually get cold, and our units are mostly used on cooling mode. It was surprise to realize the heating element did not turn on in a few guestrooms over the weekend. Do not hesitate to reach out to us directly if there is anything we can do. Thank you for staying with us. Warmest regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MovingMolly wrote a review May 2021
Ocean City, Maryland19 contributions21 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed in the Hampton Inn and Suites in Historic Savannah for three nights in early May, 2021. We were greeted by a lovely front desk clerk, Seneida, who helped us in so many ways. She was able to help us get the roomrcomme we preferred (riverview) and was available to help with any questions we asked. Being Dominican, we learned that we had many connections as our son and his wife lived in the DR for almost 10 years! She greeted us so warmly whenever we saw her, I have to thank her and highly compliment her customer service skills. We enjoyed this hotel because the location was so central to our favorite places in Savannah. The view was perfect...as good as our "riverfront" rooms in other hotels previously. We will certainly stay in this hotel again when we visit Savannah.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We prefer upper floors and loved being on 7th floor.... facing the river and Bay Street.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Glen R wrote a review Jan 2023
Menai, Australia8 contributions
There is graffiti in the elevators. Building works are ongoing. Broken floors and noise from 8am with the use of power tools. The building team use the same entrance so everything is dirty. I would stay away right now.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Soraya Johnson, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
Responded 2 weeks ago
I am afraid your feedback is posted on the wrong business page. Our hotel is located at the corner of Oglethorpe Avenue and MLK boulevard not on Bay Street. I am sorry to hear you had issues at the other location. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Soflgrl7373 wrote a review Jan 2023
Hilton Head, South Carolina14 contributions5 helpful votes
We will never stay at this hotel again. There is no parking at this hotel. No self parking and no valet parking. You have to drive to a parking garage and then walk back to the hotel. It’s truly inconvenient. You still have to pay $30 to park. We have stayed at many hotels in Savannah and almost all of them have valet parking for $30-$40 a night. I don’t mind paying for parking but not when I have to walk to the garage and then haul my luggage back to the hotel several blocks away.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bsuz612 wrote a review Dec 2022
Port Clinton Ohio38 contributions19 helpful votes
Soul Shine, The rates are reasonable, the room was great and the location perfect. The unexpected bonus was the kindness and patience of every person on staff, from the front desk at check In to the housekeeping people. A Quality so rare in these times. Special shout out to Miss Beverly at breakfast. She was so kind - not just cheerfully refilling coffee and working the Buffet, but shining her brand of light on all the travelers. What a way to finish strong Fairfield Framily. Thanks to everyone and especially to Miss Beverly for the kindness. It’s a BIG deal.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Safe. Walked at night.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
kasey l wrote a review Nov 2022
38 contributions5 helpful votes
This Hampton Inn is located within but on the outer fringes of the Savannah historic district. Everyone we encountered that worked there was very friendly and helpful, and we would not hesitate to come here again. Pros: Everything was very clean and nicely done; the included free breakfast was good, and included cereals, fresh fruit, waffles, eggs, sausage, a variety of breads and juices and of course coffee. They also put out snacks such as cookies or apples in the late afternoon, which was very nice. Cons: There is no safe in the room. Parking is very tight, especially on the weekend, but they have a neighboring hotel across the street where you can also park. Also, they ask you at check-in when you want your rooms cleaned: daily, on departure, or any other time schedule (such as every other day) - and admittedly some might not view this as a negative as I did.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bugaginga wrote a review Nov 2022
Tampa, Florida31 contributions13 helpful votes
We stayed here for Thanksgiving and had a great time. The room was clean and large enough for our family of five.( pull out couch too). It had a mini fridge and microwave which was good because we had leftovers. The hotel offers breakfast. It was pretty good including eggs, sausage and breads and muffins. In addition to cereal and fruit. The location was good for us; we were walking distance from everything we did. One drawback was the cable TV was not working well for the HBO channels. Otherwise a solid place to stay for a reasonable price. The staff was friendly and responsive to our requests. We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
horseplay-3 wrote a review Nov 2022
Montrose, Colorado11 contributions2 helpful votes
I wrote a previous review but forgot to include somethings. None of the 5 data ports in the room worked. The 2 electric outlets on the desk did not work. The 2 outlets by the bed are so worn that plugs/chargers keep falling out. 2 of the lampshades were broken. It was not as clean as it should have been.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anat O wrote a review Nov 2022
23 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
On a recent trip to Savannah, we booked this hotel because it was close to SCAD. The lobby was fine but the second we walked into the room we realized it was a dump. Everything is so old and neglected. It just felt dark and dingy. My daughter took a shower and the tub would not drain. The toilet was cockeyed and literally tilted if you shifted your weight. I slept like a mummy because I didn't want to move around to much or touch anything I didn't need to. First thing in the morning I looked for a hotel to transfer to and as soon as I found one, I called Hilton and requested early check out without penalty. They were courteous enough to accommodate me. The property is a mess and it was definitely NOT worth the $430 they charged me for one night. We moved to a 4 star hotel on the Riverfront and paid less and stayed in the lap of luxury. I sent HIlton the photos. The initial feedback was to say they would send it to the location itself, but I told them. that was ridiculous because the staff cant do anything, it's definitely a corporate issue.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: there are no good rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lisa C wrote a review Nov 2022
Sarasota, Florida7 contributions
I booked through AAA. My AAA advisor and I looked at the website together, choosing this hotel for location, pet-friendliness, and the fact it had a pool because my kids wanted to be able to swim. I called the hotel from the car an hour before arriving. At that time, the manager, Beverly Sellers, informed me there was construction at the hotel. I was upset and asked why I hadn’t been notified in advance? I would not have booked a hotel under construction. Beverly told me their website indicated construction. Not true. I checked in and was handed a very stressful memo describing the “grinding” I may hear and other construction issues. Not the relaxing getaway I had imagined. I was initially told I could use the pool at the sister hotel across the street. Also not true, as that pool was closed too. Management informed me the owners forbid warning customers of the construction in advance. I find this deceitful. Potential customers should be made aware of construction so they can choose if they want to deal with it or not. Location of this hotel is great. Owner/management not so great. No honesty/integrity here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Soraya Johnson, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
Responded 2 weeks ago
I am afraid your feedback is posted on the wrong business page. We are located at the corner of Oglethorpe Avenue and MLK Boulevard, we are not on Bay Street. I am sorry you experienced issues at the other location. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$159 - US$304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn & suites savannah historic district hotel savannah, hampton inn and suites savannah historic district, hampton inn savannah, savannah hampton inn
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastSavannahYamacraw Village
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HAMPTON INN & SUITES SAVANNAH HISTORIC DISTRICT: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 518 Photos (GA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District?
Nearby attractions include Savannah Historic District (0.3 km), Pounce Cat Cafe (0.3 km), and First African Baptist Church (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jazz'd Tapas Bar, FraLi Gourmet, and Savannah Coffee Roasters.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Savannah.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Savannah Historic District (0.3 km), The Old Sorrel Weed House Museum & Tours (0.6 km), and Olde Pink House (0.8 km).
Is Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.