We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

813 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 806: English reviews
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our stay the only issue was the parking. We were in the 2nd building and unfortunately parking is very tight and was very hard to get into your parking spot and then be able to get out of your car.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rbrock44
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It brings us happiness to see that you were able to enjoy of your visit with us. Please be advised that we would like to do anything to improve your stay; our entire resort staff is at hand to best cater to all of your needs. Availability permitting, we would happily provide...

Norwalk, CT
Reviewed 1 week ago

The River Terrace is a very large hotel a block away from the craziness of Gatlinburg. It has a restaurant, which we did not eat at. There is a laundry, which is good if you are traveling and need to wash clothing. The town itself is very honky tonk. Candy, souvenirs, barbecue places - typical tourist area outside Great Smoky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank viajera923
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. It brings us happiness to see that you were able to enjoy of our convenient Gatlinburg location. We aim to provide everything necessary for a worry-free vacation. It is our hope that we may have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future. Nat

Kennesaw, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked through Hotels.com, I called two days later to confirm with the hotel that they had our reservations for 4 nights New Year, they said yes and that they also had my parents reservation. After driving all day to get there room was gone and only king available, they suggested putting our teenager on the floor on a pallet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us. It disappoints us to see that there may have been some concerns regarding your bookings. We never intend to inconvenience you in any way, and are always at hand to assist should concerns arise. It is our hope that the party in which you booked with was...

Florida Panhandle, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

These people lie, give poor customer service, and basically ruined our stay in Gatlinburg on what was our final trip in our lifetime due to health issues. I made reservations for THREE rooms nearly 3 months in advance. Our room had a nasty looking tub (stained gray/black), the toilet ran constantly, we could not control the heat, and the tub...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tmsrmb2
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your review with us. We are disappointed to see that you may have initially experienced some concerns during your visit. We do understand that this was brought to the attention of our General Manager, and that she was able to assist with your concerns. After further looking into your multiple reservations, we...

Marion, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a trip for New Years and decided to stay here not really for sure what to expect! I had read some good and bad reviews but always try to keep an open mind for myself! The good parts, it's very close to everything so you don't have to worry about parking and traffic. You can walk to everything!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Williamhorn20
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with us. It brings us happiness to see that you were able to enjoy of all our amenities, cleanliness, prime location, and dining options. It is our hope that any possible concerns were brought to the attention of our staff's attention. We are working hard to better ourselves for our future guests, and your...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the near destruction it almost suffered they did a good job getting the smell out of rooms. Kept our reservations though fire was two weeks prior. Rooms were very clean and free of odor though fire came right up to building we were in. Property is a bit dated, lots of details lacking. Not a 5 star resort though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie K
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to see that you found satisfaction in our cleanliness and good location. Please be advised that we are working hard to better ourselves for our future guests. We aim to continue to improve a number of our resort's features. It would be a great pleasure...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was tired, carpet stained, did not receive housekeeping service twice (had to go to front desk to ask for coffee for next morning...), wifi and internet connection spotty at best, pool water was cold and dirty. Chose this establishment for location, which was great, but also expected some basic things such as daily housekeeping and specifically selected a place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathebrat
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are disappointed to learn that you may have had some concerns with your recent visit. Cleanliness is of priority, and our housekeeping team is in place to ensure that each unit is up to par prior to the arrival of our guests. We sincerely hope that our...

Reviewed 3 December 2016

This is an older hotel but relaxing. After all, with everything right there on main street for shopping etc..It is a lot to see and do. Free music and a variety of restaurants of your choice. You will not be in your room much any way. There is a restaurant on the property, it's nice. You can walk or catch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron J
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Westgate River Terrace Resort. We appreciate your comments and are glad you found us to be a great value. Also, we are glad that you found our location convenient to all of what you wanted to do in the Pigeon Forge area. We really appreciate you and we certainly look forward to your next stay...

Reviewed 27 November 2016

I gave myself some time to cool down before writing this. But I still feel the same almost 4 months later. We have had not only one bad experience with River Terrace Resort, but TWO! The first time (2016), my husband had made reservations for a queen room on the top floor that overlooked the river. He specifically chose that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jessica B
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways in which to improve our service standards. We are saddened to hear of any inconvenience experienced during check in and really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will work diligently with our resort staff and our booking partners to ensure a smoother check in process. We hope...

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Hard to get in and out of parking lot because of traffic but is in a great location to walk around Gatlinburg. The staff is friendly and the rooms are great. There are no carts for your luggage and coolers and the ramps are steep to get to rooms. Because the rooms are non smoking the smokers smoke on walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williesmit
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for feedback. We regret to hear that during your stay with us you experienced challenges with parking, smokers, and late night activities at the Westgate River Terrace. However, we were delighted to hear that you reported that our “staff is friendly and the rooms are great.” We would hope that you will return to our resort to allow...

342 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (326)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 km away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#20 of 78 in Gatlinburg
870 reviews
0.6 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#27 of 78 in Gatlinburg
430 reviews
1.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.8 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: $98 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from River Terrace Resort & Convention Center staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from River Terrace Resort & Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“confirm parking before accepting room key.”
 of 5 bubbles 33kimt, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors with a balcany”
 of 5 bubbles aaronj541, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Arrive very early if you hope to get what you reserved.”
  • Gross...
  • Dirty tub...
  • Dead cockroach on the floor outside our door.
  • Dead cockroach on the floor outside our door.
  • Everything but the tv was outdated.
  • Not so great compared to the river view we were supposed to get.
  • Dirty tub...
 of 5 bubbles H6353FMjessicab, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don not know if there is a good room. Maybe there is now.”
 of 5 bubbles damonf553, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“try to get a room in the high-rise part that has an elevator”
 of 5 bubbles juliaB4795CY, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay