We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chalet Inn

516 Sunset Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3122 (Formerly Fabulous Chalet Inn)
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine
    0.4 km
  • 2 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed yesterday
Awesome
The rooms are clean and staff is freindly. Room 201 is our... more
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 206: English reviews
Heflin, Alabama
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The rooms are clean and staff is freindly. Room 201 is our favorite. It's a beautiful place. We always get room 201, it has two bathrooms which is needed with Two girls. The beds are comfortable and always have enough towels and wash cloths.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
Fort Walton Beach
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hadnt been here in 20 years. Drapes are falling off windows and floor hasnt been mopped in forever! Be sure and take your flip flops you cannot walk around in sock feet here. Other than those things we love this location and it was super quiet and the view is amazing. Met two of the young guys that do the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review about your stay. The Chalet Inn is more of a rustic cottage type hotel. We are in the process of updating the property while trying to keep some of the original charm that it holds. Our housekeeping department has been made aware of the floors and of your kind words...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spread on bed was dirty from previous renters (you know what I mean). Lobby smelled like mildew. No ice in machine. I guess they want you to walk down the hill for ice too. The free breakfast was given in a area the size of an 8 x 8 room with about 4 tables. This was for two motels. Carpets...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol N
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at our Chalet Inn. This is an older hotel with more of a rustic, mountain feel to it's rooms. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our Chalet Inn does not offer a continental breakfast with your stay. I'm glad our sister property let you join them though. This...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took a church group to a conference and got placed in this hotel. The rooms are old and outdated. From the furniture, to the carpet, to the curtains. One of our rooms had mud stains on the carpet, two of them had dead bugs in them, they all had a musty smell, and one room had a leak when it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Abby C
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our Chalet Inn. On behalf of myself and our entire staff, we apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Chalet Inn is an older property with a rustic mountain lodge feel. It is not like most standard hotels. We are in the process of updating this property. Curtains have been ordered and...

Seminary, Mississippi
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Wonderful staff and awesome room.A room with a view overlooking GATLINBURG with the Space NEEDLE in great view. I would highly recommend this Chalet to everyone.It also has a nice fireplace to keep cozy!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for the wonderful rating. Chalet is an older property but it has a rustic charm. The fireplace rooms make for a very relaxing, cozy stay. They give you more of the mountain vacation feel. You are correct, the views are amazing from the Chalet Inn and...

Seminary, Mississippi
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

I have always wanted to stay here. I am so happy we did. My wife and I really loved it. It isn't too far off the beaten path but secluded enough for a little privacy. It overlooks GATLINBURG with the Space NEEDLE in great view. All the staff was superb and went out of their way to accommodate our needs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your review. Our location is a great asset for us being within walking distance to downtown but yet far enough away to enjoy the beautiful, peaceful scenery the Smokies have to offer. We are happy you and your wife enjoyed the views and we are glad our staff was accommodating. We are very proud of the staff we...

Woodstock, Georgia
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Water never warmed up . took shower at 7 am. Room was dirty- bugs in it lady bugs wasps. Carpet needs to be ripped up . Needs new bed spreads that was TOTALLY gross . Needs new furniture couch room smelled also . This room facing the building in the parking lot the right side top on the very end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monalisa6322
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Chalet Inn is an older property with rustic charm but I have already met with our housekeeping staff about the issues you mentioned in your review. We have made new procedures to follow so that these problems do not happen...

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 1 December 2016

I love the place !! Old but very charming , the only complaint would be that carpet needs to be replaced , it's very old ! View from the room was gorgeous . Stuff was very helpful and friendly I would stay again .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 865selmam
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Our Chalet Inn is an older property. You are correct it does have a charming rustic feel to it. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed it. We are also happy you were able to enjoy the views. They are amazing from this property. I will make...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Usually never write a review but thought I should share. Pros: Close proximity, inexpensive,walking distance, friendly staff Cons: Old and run down, bugs, needs updating, some appliances didn't work I will not be staying there again...very disappointing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed with our property. We still appreciate you review because it helps us identify issues that need to be corrected for other guests to be able to enjoy their future stays. Housekeeping has already been informed on the issues you mentioned with the cleanliness of the room. Extra procedures have been put in place so...

Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

We come to Gatlinburg every year for our anniversary. We have stayed at alot of different places in 8 years. But no more. We will definitely be staying here at Chalet Inn for now on. Great quiet location right off the strip. Very clean rooms. Breathtaking views. Love the fact that it use to be Ober Gatlinburg Ski Lodge. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow travelers. Our returning guests are very important to us. We would be happy to provide you the same superior stay year after year. You are correct, the views are amazing and the property is quite and relaxing being secluded up on the hill. Chalet Inn is...

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.6 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#19 of 78 in Gatlinburg
521 reviews
1.3 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#27 of 78 in Gatlinburg
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Quality Inn Creekside
Quality Inn Creekside
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
577 reviews
0.4 km away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
1.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#35 of 78 in Gatlinburg
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Resting majestically above the town, Chalet Inn maintains the kind of rustic elegance once known to all great smoky mountain resorts. The Inn's landscaped surroundings, mountain stone architecture and charming character-filled rooms make you feel a world away. Yet, the attractions of Gatlinburg are just a few blocks away. The Inn is just two blocks from Ober Gatlinburg Aerial Tramway, with Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies just 5 blocks away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chalet Inn

Address: 516 Sunset Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3122 (Formerly Fabulous Chalet Inn)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: $78 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabulous Chalet Hotel Gatlinburg
Best Western Gatlinburg
Fabulous Chalet Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chalet Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Chalet Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Romm 201 awesome”
 of 5 bubbles 131valeriew, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“do not stay in the top right room get a bigger hot water tank .”
 of 5 bubbles monalisa6322, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the panoramic room if its available. It looked neat and the balcony view is good.”
 of 5 bubbles sjccjones, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room sizes vary a lot. Some very spacious, some average.”
 of 5 bubbles jml2149, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The main building smelled musty, not sure what the other building was like. Open the balcony door for a while to let some fresh air in.”
 of 5 bubbles eezydivr, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5