We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rorke's Drift Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rorke\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rorke's Drift Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 228: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

First the access road /farm track . We had a VW Polo Vivo and negotiated the 5kms track easily. It was wet and had rained on and off for two days when we drove back on it but the base is solid. There are some bumps along the way but we enjoyed the drive . Yes our car made it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cyberjock
christine l, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this very useful review and thanks for taking the time to write it. Even though your visit was very wet - very unusual in the last year - we hope that it was enjoyable enough to lure you back again for another visit.

Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights. Overall very good and very friendly staff. Only complaint was the accommodation, it was really nice but not suitable for a 70+ couple. Lounge and dining area great. Bedroom "challenging". Separate from living area, up flight of stairs outside the building and shower room was accessed via a very precarious spiral staircase.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanmO5382ZS
christine l, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry you didn't see Michael Cain but he does occasionally leave for other commitments (wink, wink). Thank you too for highlighting the configuration of our unit Kubili. On our website we specifically recommend that this unit is not suitable for more senior guests. We always hope that our...

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

A great place for a stopover, especially for any historians!. Very friendly and knowledgeable hosts. Beautifully kept and nothing is any trouble. Beware of the long drive - not for the fainthearted. Make sure you order the meals at the Lodge as nothing else is around

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 809kareny
christine l, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. We hope that we will see you again sometime.

Herts
Reviewed 22 November 2016

This really is the most lovely place imaginable. Set well (very well) away from the main road it is in lovely countryside, peaceful and equipped to the highest possible standard. We were in Room 5 and it was like walking into a 5* hotel. The room is thoughtfully and tastefully decorated and the kitchen is fully equipped albeit in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Psmith50
christine l, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

What a super review. Thank you for taking the time to write it. We look forward to welcoming you back again for some more adventures.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Real people who care about what they do and do it very very well. The accommodation and service is of an excellent standard and the rural hillside setting is very unique. The cascading landscape and big sky offer amazing vistas that seem to carry on forever. There are trails to hike or bike and horses to ride. Lots of bird...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce A
christine l, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this fabulous review. So pleased you enjoyed yourself here. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We stayed 3 nights here and everything was fantastic. The food, the tours from both Paul (history) and Shane (birds), the location and the rooms were lovely. The view from the front of the property is particularly fantastic and even better if viewed from the back of a horse! Do take the advice about getting an appropriate car for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soh220
christine l, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this great review. We loved having you here and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Excellent 2 nights stay. Well looked after by the staff who served us high quality food in our well equipped rooms. Peaceful location with breathtaking views with lots of birds and wild life around. Very comprehensive battlefields tour with Paul will leave lasting memories. Overall a great way to experience this part of KZN. Would love to come back and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JHJoburg16
christine l, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review. We always hope our guests will be comfortable and enjoy their experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

London
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Lovely, warm & friendly place. Only stayed 1 night as husband wanted to see the area, but 2 nights would have been even better. Lovely comfortable apartment. They catered for me (gluten free) which was fab. Nice walks around the property too. Would have liked to have done the horse ride, maybe next time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 405paulineb
christine l, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review. A three day stay is probably the best minimum stay period. Then you can take in the Battlefields, take a walk or ride our great horses and maybe even catch glimpses of our 140 species bird count. We hope to see you soon again.

Salt Rock, South Africa
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We spent a night at the lodge after other business in the area What a great place, in the heart of Africa.......nature and silence surrounded by beauty The accommodation was great, with a little difference having to negotiate a spiral staircase to the ground floor bathroom. The idea of booking meals ahead is a great feature, and the presentation and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1wegbreek
christine l, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. This month we have also had some kudu appearing on the lawn early in the morning and the birds are absolutely revelling in the rain that has finally fallen. Thank you too for mentioning the road - it remains a problem in this area that is not easily solved. We hope when you return...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We (family of 4) stayed for two nights in Kune. The rooms were immaculate and clean and all amenities were provided ... there was nothing we needed. The staff were always on hand to help, provide advice, sort things out for us. I cannot praise the staff enough ... thank you! Fantastic all round from a place to stay .....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
christine l, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the review. And we are really sorry your car suffered on the drive. We do warn our guests that low slung vehicles are not suitable and that is what a BMW is - really low slung especially with its usual low profile tyres. Our bumps in the road are there to keep the road from washing...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rorke's Drift Lodge is perched above the Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana Battlefields where the mighty Zulu nation and British Empire came to blows in 1879. The Lodge caters to the historical enthusiast looking to immerse themselves in poignant tales of yesteryear. World class guided tours coupled with friendly South African hospitality,superb food and a taste of the African Bush make this an experience to remember forever. We also offer horseriding on the property and can arrange for hunting and bass fishing expeditions in the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rorke's Drift Lodge

Address: off the P195, Rorke's Drift 3016, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Price Range: $108 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rorke's Drift Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rorke's Drift Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rorke`s Drift Hotel Rorke`s Drift
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rorke's Drift Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rorke's Drift Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a lodge with a view”
Annian90, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Kune unit is the best”
paul15341, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you have restricted movements call”
jeoff42, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Kune Lodge was beautiful and we imagine the others were of similar quality.”
deec610, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is not a Hotel. It is primarily self-catering although we pre-ordered our food which is a great option to offer.”
Debohn88, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5