We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The World Backwaters

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The World Backwaters
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The World Backwaters
See the most recent reviews
Showing 308: English reviews
Anand, India
Reviewed 22 February 2016

I visited this resort as the first place on my Kerala trip with my wife recently and was pleasantly surprised with the warm welcome extended by the staff there. The room provided to us was spacious, clean with good sleep quality and beautiful view from the balcony. The food quality was good and some interesting dishes were included in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tejas1990
Worldbackwaters, Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to convey our sincere gratitude for your patronage and valuable time taken to write your polite and humble feedback on Trip Advisor. We hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you at The World Backwaters. Manager Operations The World Backwaters

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 21 February 2016

The place is good and natural. The food was delicious. They are a good and responsible host. I was given good space and privacy, and at the same time taken care of well. The lake intruding into the resort is the best part here for me. the environment was good with the gym and the ayurveda clinic all together with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoBen46
Worldbackwaters, Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to convey our sincere gratitude for your patronage and valuable time taken to write your polite and humble feedback on Trip Advisor. We hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you at The World Backwaters. Manager Operations The World Backwaters

Bhubaneswar, India
Reviewed 16 February 2016

I visited the place The World Backwaters and it was nice experience with boating,good environment. staff was attentive.Food served to us was testy and we liked it very much. We enjoyed our trip with family and we had lot of fun inside resort and in Alleppey beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuchismitaSahoo
Worldbackwaters, Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to convey our sincere gratitude for your patronage and valuable time taken to write your polite and humble feedback on Trip Advisor. We hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you at The World Backwaters. Manager Operations The World Backwaters

Bhubaneswar, India
Reviewed 15 February 2016

I stayed here last week off JANUARY 2016 with my family.really feel like a place were someone can relax and enjoy at the best. specially the staff were very friendly ready to assist you at any point of time . Most important thing is their cuisine specially North Indian . the evening is awesome, Whenever I sat near the lake...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sonu1978
Noida, India
Reviewed 7 February 2016

I came here for an overnight stay after my houseboat trip but I am really impressed with the rooms, resort facilities, greenery , pool, and their restaurant. We spent evening relaxing in room then late evening just went to the pool side and enjoyed the cool breeze from the lake. It was so romantic and relaxing between -those dull lights...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AkkshayG
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewed 22 January 2016

I stayed at the hotel with a group a couple of weeks ago. Overall it's a well maintained property in a good location. Rooms are spacious enough. Ours was business meeting coupled with some outdoor activities. Staff were very courtiers and they helped us in an exceptional manner.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 149joys
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

We were on our honeymoon and we had a horrible experience at the world backwaters, Alleppey. First of all, we were given a room which did not have a minibar and while we requested the staffs to arrange for one they promptly said that it was unavailable. Basic necessity like toilet paper was declined saying that they had none in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Deepanair1019
Worldbackwaters, Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to convey our sincere gratitude for your patronage and time taken to give your polite and humble feedback on Trip Advisor. I was disappointed and embarrassed to know that we were unable to provide you with our finest services. We shall do our best to correct our mistakes. I on behalf of all staff members...

Agra, India
Reviewed 18 January 2016

we were there from 26 to 28 dec. 2015. Amenities are not good. Restaurant head is very insensitive. we reached at 09 PM on 26 dec. we were 5 adults with one infant and two children.There were nio tea cattle after repeated request one tea cattle out of two room was provided at 11 PM. Every day forced to have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank agarwaldynamics
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for some good place and don't really want to stay in a houseboats then this would be a good place. We were travelling as a family group of 22 people with infant kids so preferred this over houseboats and this didn't disappoint us at all. They have a great staff along with their manager who kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kunal R
Jodhpur, India
Reviewed 10 January 2016

a must visit property is alleppey. super view, very nice rooms, friendly staff, nice food. hotel is having in house facilities like speed boat, Shikara etc and charges are reasonable as compare to other place in Alleppey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gb291987

413 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (340)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
20.1 km away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
23.3 km away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#9 of 67 in Alappuzha
653 reviews
17.3 km away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 67 in Alappuzha
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#7 of 67 in Alappuzha
324 reviews
18.8 km away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
338 reviews
14.6 km away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#3 of 67 in Alappuzha
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
THE WORLD BACKWATERS (formerly know as Ilona Lake resort) a 4 star Resort in West Kumarakam, Nestled amidst this scenic landscape of 'God's Own Country' and on the banks of Lake Vembanad, is the perfect getaway for every weary traveler. The resort renders you an unparalleled view of the seemingly boundless Vembanadu Lake with a panoramic spotting of a beautiful island called Pathiramanal. The resort is tucked right into the soul of a real village in Kerala called Kannankara; away from the hustle-bustle of the City, but yet close and accessible to all functional comforts and luxury of a classy resort. Local attractions include Thanneermokkom Bund, Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary,Pathiramanal in Vembnadnad Lake, Alleppey beach,Alleppey, musuem, Ambalapuzha sri krishna temple,Marari Beach, Vaikom Mahadeva Temple and Thirunakkara Mahadeva Temple services and facilities :Multi cuisine Restaurant|| Banquet /Conference hall || Board room || Lake side Swimming Pool || Lake side garden || Fish pond || water Stream || Gym || Ayurveda Treatment center || Gift shop || Free parking ||24 hrs Front desk || Daily Housekeeping in room || Round the clock security service || Kids play area || Travel Desk || Soft bar in room || Wi Fi || Backwater cruise || Paddle boat|| Cycling || ... more   less 

Additional Information about The World Backwaters

Address: Kannankara Post | Thanneermukkam, West Kumarakam, Alappuzha 688 527, India (Formerly Ilona Lake Resort)
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Price Range: $74 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The World Backwaters 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The World Backwaters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World Backwaters Kerala/Alappuzha
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#11 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The World Backwaters staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The World Backwaters staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a 2-bedroom villa rather than taking 2 individual rooms multiple couple or familty”
Kohli31, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are 4 kinds of rooms. Room with a pool was a good one”
KKG31, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for Executive Villa with Private Pool”
ShashinPande, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms offering lake view”
theavidtraveller90, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the lake view have exactly that on top, the view.”
ionelaa700, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5