We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Trevene Hotel

Agoda.comUS$34*
View Deal
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$71*
US$34*
Great Deal
US$71*
US$71*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Trevene Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Trevene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 205: English reviews
Kampen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very Friendly people and nice big familyroom for our family of 4. In the evening the fire was lit.We stayed for 2 nights. In the evening you can walk to the town (5 minutes) During the day we visited the tea factory an butifull waterfall's.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnnekeR575
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived here in the off season without warning to the hotel and few people appeared to be here. We saw one couple on each of the two nights we stayed. Perhaps this explained why there were no fires or heating given Nuwara Eliyas can get quite cold in June. A fire in our room was 700 SRP extra and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed here for two nights with a group of friends. The owner, Nisa, and her family were so welcoming and accommodating. We hadn't booked and Nisa took us in allowing us to share the two big family rooms at the front of the hotel. The rooms were lovely with a colonial feel and good big bathroom. We enjoyed a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H M
Singapore
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have to admit after reading reviews on here I was a bit wary about staying here. Travelling alone with 3 small children, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel totally at home. Toys were produced, cups of tea offered and good advice about where to eat dinner (they were not serving in the hotel that night)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louisa R
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We booked on the basis of the lonely planets review and are a bit disappointed. The place is reasonable enough and the owners friendly but it wasn't quite the cosy getaway wed been led to believe. The first night the fire was lit in the communal living room, which was a nice touch, but the second night it was colder...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob T
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked here for two nights. When I called to book, I asked for a pick up from the train station which was refused. I would've paid, wasn't expecting it to be free but it was a no. I had booked the room with a fireplace and ensuite bathroom. When I asked what was included, she said...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aproestakis
TheTrevene, Manager at The Trevene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our property. I must agree that we were painting the building and the door of your bathroom was also painted that morning, which was absolutely not a big deal as you only came in the afternoon when all the paint was dry but I admit the building had the...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This house is beautifully situated with a magnificent garden . The staff running this accommodation are very friendly and polite . We were sleeping in two connecting bedrooms with a shared bathroom . The rooms were really nicely presented however the bathroom was appalling ! Cleanliness seemed to be an issue here along with safety ! It's a first for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Deirdre O
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stopped in this hotel based on the recommendation we found in Lonely Planet's travel guide, which named Trevene as the top choice. Very misleading, I believe. Trevene is definitely not among the cheapest hotels in Nuwara Eliya, however the level of comfort and facilities is lower than in many of the HOSTELS I have stayed in before. We took...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank edge14
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Trevene is a sweet family house, clean, comfortable, and the food is simply the best I had during my trip. Recommended & will definitely be visiting again, lovely staff, helpful, polite, professional. A feel of home, thank you for the lovely stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiaDai
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Having stayed for 3 nights at the Trevene, I must say that the services were very good. As we arrived quite late in the night, it was nice to be welcomed by the hosts themselves. A place that embodies the colonial style and friendly sri lankan hospitality. The front garden is quite a spectacle with a view of the Victoria...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saabira M

324 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (218)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Other (135)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (106)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
2.2 km away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
213 reviews
2.0 km away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
251 reviews
1.2 km away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
633 reviews
0.6 km away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
752 reviews
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are an 150 years old British Colonial banglow, situated in front of the famous Victoria park at 150m walking distance to the central town. We have 10 rooms all with attach bathrooms which are with bathtubs or showers. Some of our rooms also has fire places or we provide heaters if needed. You can enjoy the evenings by one of the oldest fire places of Sri Lanka, that we light in our lobby. This is the most beautiful, coolest place of our country which you must see on your trip to Sri Lanka. If you are looking for a Budget property, you can also book our Park view guest house (5 minutes away) or if you are looking for romantique, new and comfortable rooms, you can also check our new property , just next to The Trevene Hotel at Panorama Green View Hotel Nuwara Eliya Please make sure to give us a CALL prior to your arrival to reserve any room with any of our properties. Don't forget to have a look at our Ella Guest house Ella Grand Peak Hotel . ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Trevene Hotel

Address: 17 Park Road | Next to the Good Shepherd convent, behind the Victoria Park, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $59 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trevene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Trevene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Trevene Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Shanghai, China
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Trevene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 104 and 103 in the front, part of the old colonial villa were the best!”
, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a front room with fire place”
FredericZo, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Wait for the urgently needed renovation”
461dd, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 105 which is at the back. I've heard the rooms at the front are much nicer.”
NaomiD697, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask a room with with fireplace”
sachira89, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$34* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$71
Orbitz.comUS$71
TripAdvisorUS$39
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates