We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Heritance Tea Factory

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Heritance Tea Factory
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,897: English reviews
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We chose this hotel as our third stop on part of our Honeymoon to Sri Lanka. The hotel is an old Tea Factory but still used for tea leaf picking. I can echo the coments that rooms are small and a bit of a after thought. Very small and dated compared to previous places we stayed. Activities are run by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuberto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I visited this hotel this year and I visited it 10 years ago and nothing has changed .. unfortunately this hotel is plonked in the middle of a tea estate... hence the name but once you get there there is nothing to do ... It reminds me of an old haunted building ...very very old and creeky. The spread of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Heritance tea factory is one of the most amazing and beautiful hotels in Nuwara Eliya. From the check in to the rooms to the amenities, they did not put a single foot wrong throughout our stay. The hotel isn't in Nuwara Eliya proper, but a 45-minute or so drive from the main town along a very narrow and windy road.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melville G
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrival itself is a wonderful adventure to the Hotel. you have to go round and round to reach the hotel. enchanted surrounding and very courteous and friendly staff. they welcome us in unique and elegant manner. the hotel has been build by converting a traditional tea factory itself and they have done a wonderful job doing so. rooms, foods and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gihan85
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to see that you have had a special holiday at Heritance Tea Factory. It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the personlaized and touching service as well. We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place is STUNNING. Who cares it is isn't in the town - there is nothing to do there any way therefore just stay here - there is loads to do. Not only is the place beautiful but there are fun things to do here as well as relaxing. Definitely go and pick tea! This is super fun and really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holiday_junkie1984
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is nice to see that you all have enjoyed the serene and unique experience offered along with the breathtaking views. It saddened us to see that you have not happy with the bed linen; we have taken your constructive criticism very positively and will take measures from our end to enhance the facilities and product offerings.... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

After arriving by train from kandy which is an experience. We were greeted with tea. Lovely place going back to old England. Staff very attentive had a bath there which was a big bonus for me. We had dinner in the carriage well worth having we were the only couple in there very attentive the guard the food was heaven.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to see that you have had a special holiday at Heritance Tea Factory. It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the amazing service as well. We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

My second visit to this Tea Factory converted hotel gave me one of the most pleasant welcomes with a lovely warm towel and traditional hindu welcome. The staff were very supportive and quick to clarify and address to needs. The food was just great and had a good spread with variety of local and international cuisine. My room was quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rish M
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to see that you have had a special holiday at Heritance Tea Factory. It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the amazing service as well. We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived after a 4 hr wonderful train ride from Kandi, which while 4 hrs may seem a long time the views are stunning and the time flew by. The hotel has been tastefully restored and the staff make you feel extremely welcome. The walls are a little thin and you can here your neighbours. Luckily we had quiet ones.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tr0tties
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is nice to see that you all have enjoyed the serene and unique experience offered along with the breathtaking views. We are grateful of your high recommendation. Please pay another visit to us for a longer stay and we assure you some more enjoyable and pleasing experiences. Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Looking on the pictures I expected more, however the hotel is really interesting. Unfortunately it is located very far from the town (ca 30min by car) which means that you have no alternative in terms of dining. The ambience and decor provides memorable experience so it's worth to visit this place.

Helpful?
Thank Joanna O
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to see that you have had a special holiday at Heritance Tea Factory. It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences. We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with us when you are back on holiday. Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance... More 

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed for one night but loved every minute. We enjoyed the fact that it was a heritage building which had been sympathetically renovated yet retained some original features. The staff were very professional and food and service were excellent. It was the most unforgettable hotel of our trip. We would love to have stayed longer!!!

Helpful?
Thank tdthomas1
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to see that you have had a special holiday at Heritance Tea Factory. It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the amazing service as well. We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with... More 

2,059 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2042)
Viewed
Room/Suite (213)
Viewed
View from Room (175)
Viewed
Dining (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (655)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (782)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
7.8 km away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
1,294 reviews
8.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
1,729 reviews
8.3 km away
MountView Cottage
MountView Cottage
#15 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
106 reviews
8.1 km away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
589 reviews
8.2 km away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $355 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heritance Tea Factory staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Heritance Tea Factory staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room on the Executive (top) floor facing the valley”
 of 5 bubbles melvilleg2014, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“find a top floor room with mountain view.”
 of 5 bubbles Gihan85, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request for a spacious room with good view if you opt for the base category. Some rooms are slightly smaller compared to others.”
 of 5 bubbles 61irshadm, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room on the first floor was great.”
 of 5 bubbles tdthomas1, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for a first floor balcony room - but I am sure all rooms have an amazing view!”
 of 5 bubbles nicholam245, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay