We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Cortez

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Travelodge Cortez
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Cortez
See the most recent reviews
Showing 212: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We stayed overnight in 2 rooms. We got in late after a long day at Mesa Verde. Check in staff not professional at all. We stayed in the what seemed like the original section and the room was huge with a weird little room off to the side. A small bathroom for the size of the room. It was okay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank candc2016
Michael1678294, Manager at Travelodge Cortez, responded to this review

Hi candc2016, I'm sorry for the events that happened while you and your parents were here. Things like that should never happen. I would be upset if that happened to my family and I. I will read your review with my staff and work on how we can better treat our guests and be more friendly. If there is anything...

Englewood, Colorado
Reviewed 13 September 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P6809RPvictorias
Michael1678294, Manager at Travelodge Cortez, responded to this review

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Location: All the hotels in this town are in the same area. It's about 45 min away from Mesa Verde national park. Staff: Not the most professional atmosphere. We were having difficulty getting into our room as the key cards weren't working. We kept calling the front desk so we wouldn't have to trek back to the front desk. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne n
Michael1678294, Manager at Travelodge Cortez, responded to this review

Hi Anna N, I am sorry for the bad experience you had while staying with us. There is no excuse for the front desk not answering the phone either times. I will be doing some homework and talking with my staff about the issue. I would feel the same way if that happened to me. I am also sorry about...

Sylva, North Carolina
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

After a pleasant greeting from the desk clerk, there's nothing positive left to say. Words like "depressing" and "dirty" come to mind. The bathroom was especially gross - what were those black things on the floor behind the toilet? Dead bugs? Mouse poop? A previous guest's discarded bandage was easily identifiable near the bathtub. The experience was what I'd expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suelipton
Michael1678294, Manager at Travelodge Cortez, responded to this review

Hi suelipton, I am terribly sorry for those things that happened while you were staying with us. You have every right to be upset and dissatisfied. I would be too if I was in the situation you were in. Things like that should never happen. I do understand that there are some rooms that need new carpets and such, but...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We stayed 3 nights - 9/7, 9/8, and 9/9 Everything was fine until my wife and I arrived back to our room around midnight on the last night, 9/9. Both of our room keys no longer worked. Tired and frustrated, we proceeded to the front desk which appeared to be empty even though the door dinged on the way in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nvasilakes
Michael1678294, Manager at Travelodge Cortez, responded to this review

Hi nvasilakes, I am sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience. I did talk with our night clerk Diane and there was just a misunderstanding. She explained that she wasn't sure if she should make new key cards with out asking you for your ID's. She hadn't been in that kind of situation and would have hated to program keys...

Sun City, United States
Reviewed 9 September 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherryl H
Michael1678294, Manager at Travelodge Cortez, responded to this review

Orem, Utah
Reviewed 7 September 2016

What gets my goat about this place is that it was more expensive than the lovely hotel we stayed in once we arrived in Albuquerque. When we arrived the receptionist was outside smoking and there were cigarette butts all over the place. The beds in the room were rock hard and the room wasn't clean - there was pee under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
Michael1678294, Manager at Travelodge Cortez, responded to this review

Hi Jason M, I am sad to hear about the terrible experience you had while staying with us. There isn't much I can do about our cost verses the cost in Albuquerque. Rates always change depending on the time of week and how many different events are going on at each place. I would agree with you about arriving to...

Cortez, Colorado
Reviewed 7 September 2016

It was a bed to sleep on. Breakfast fruit was too old to be free for a homeless, much less a guest. Again.. title ... get what u paid 4

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 730margaritar
Michael1678294, Manager at Travelodge Cortez, responded to this review

Hi 730margaritar, I'm sorry for the bad experience you had while staying with us. I will check with our staff and the breakfast items they have been using, and see what might have happened while you were staying with us. If there is anything I could do personally to help, feel free to call me at 970-565-3761. Guest satisfaction is...

Spanish Fork, Utah
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

This motel is deffinately low quality. The rooms were in desperate need of updating, dirty and stained furniture, cheap mattresses and HORRIBLE pillows. The continental breakfast was the worst I've seen. Four cereals, muffins, toast, packet oatmeal and coffee, tea or juice to drink. There were some fruits too; small apples and bruised pears. I would spend a bit more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoben80
Michael1678294, Manager at Travelodge Cortez, responded to this review

Hi geoben80, I'm sorry about the bad experience you had while staying with us. I agree that our property is outdated and in need of some love. We do our best to keep the prices low so those traveling on a budget can still accomplish that. At the same time we have been in the process of updated each room...

Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We looked on line and read reviews, so chose the Travelodge for an overnight stay on our 4 night road trip. Checked in, got a basement level room with old, dirty carpet, filthy Windows, dusty, worn out furniture. Bathroom sink faucet so old it was hard to operate. Coffee pot in room was dirty, bedspread had burns on underside. Next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ktravelsforfun
Michael1678294, Manager at Travelodge Cortez, responded to this review

Hi Kippen L, I am sorry to hear that your stay wasn't very enjoyable. I would agree with you about the negative impression when checking into a room that had a dirty carpet, dirty windows, dusty, worn out furniture, broken sink faucet, dirty coffee pot, and unacceptable bed spread. I would leave the same review myself. I was hired on...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
0.5 km away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#12 of 17 in Cortez
83 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
2.7 km away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#9 of 17 in Cortez
182 reviews
1.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quiet property with immaculate, 100% non smoking rooms with smoking areas available outside. 9 miles from Mesa Verde National Park and walking distance to several restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Travelodge Cortez

Address: 1120 East Main Street, Cortez, CO 81321-3346 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Cortez)
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Price Range: $55 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Cortez 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Cortez Hotel Cortez
Cortez Rodeway Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Cortez staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Cortez staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ice Machine is way back towards end of Property”
 of 5 bubbles MonikaK850, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see your room chices some rooms are better than others.”
 of 5 bubbles sodawater, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Wifi does not really work, there are full time people living there, stay someplace else”
 of 5 bubbles 875deanc, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 107dougf, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
“very convenient to restaurants and grocery stores”
 of 5 bubbles Enterprise97, 29 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay