We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Edgewater

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Edgewater
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

624 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Edgewater
See the most recent reviews
Showing 620: English reviews
Fort Atkinson, United States
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We needed a night away from home and chose to stay at The Edgewater. It was perfect. We had stayed there several times just after it opened but this time it was 100X better! Great guest service, experienced and knowledgeable staff - sometimes it's about the people who work there that make the experience so much better. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Connie B, Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your most recent visit to The Edgewater on the beautiful shores of Lake Mendota. Nothing pleases us more than to hear guests enjoyed all the wonderful aspects of our location on the lake and within such easy walking distance to the Capital, State Street,...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I attended a conference at The Edgewater in September 2016, and ended up in a 4th floor room in the building that houses the lobby/check-in. The good? I had a spacious and quiet room with a large bathroom, comfy king bed, and wall of windows. Despite being near the ice machine and housekeeping closet, I slept really well. (I do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minn_CaboFanatic
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Minn_CaboFanatic, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room and meals during your stay with the conference. I have made our staff aware of the noise issues you experienced during your stay in order to address immediately. When booking your next stay, please let our reservations staff know you would like a room...

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Never been treated so bad at a AAA 4 Diamond Hotel. Clueless staff, rude managers, extremely overpriced and the exterior still looks like it is the 1950's. Save your money and choose a better hotel that doesn't try to rip you off for everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SDT1972
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear SDT1972, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I have forwarded your response to our management team in order to address your concerns immediately. I apologize that you did not receive the level of service that every guest should receive from all levels of staff. Please contact me directly at 608-535-8200 if you would like to...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

For the price we paid for our room at the edge water, there should not have been lady bugs on the bathroom floor or spiders on the doors, drapes, and frames. We spoke with an employee and filled out a survey regarding this issue but we did not receive a response. At least an apology or someone to come clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
asupinmadison, Chief Operating Officer at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Valerie S, We truly apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. I will be forwarding your comments to our management team and head of housekeeping to ensure we remedy this matter and that future concerns are addressed immediately when reported to staff. We hope you will consider staying with us again in future and greatly appreciate you...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I had a room in the old section of the hotel which was very quiet and still had some nice views. Floor heating in the baths was a nice and unexpected touch. Frankly I am not sure how they make money on this deal they have spent to much on the place. Spa facilities were great. The charge $15 to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oibboy
asupinmadison, Chief Operating Officer at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear oibboy, Thank you for your review on your recent stay at The Edgewater. We are so pleased you utilized our car service during your stay, it is such a convenience to have easy transportation to all Downtown Madison has to offer! We hope you will visit us again soon on the shores of Lake Mendota. All Our Best, Amy...

Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Extremely comfortable (great bed and pillows!), very professional and courteous. Front desk service is efficient and friendly. This was my second stay here but I hope to return. There are beautiful walking paths along the lake in nice weather, but underground passages helped during the rain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nsiegel22
asupinmadison, Chief Operating Officer at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear nseigel22, Thank you for the wonderful review of you recent stay. We take great pride in giving our guests a friendly experience from check-in to check-out and ensuring a wonderfully relaxing stay. We look forward to welcoming you to The Edgewater again soon! All Our Best, Amy Supple, COO The Edgewater Team

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Amazing view over the lake easy access to state Street where the bars are at. The rooms are spacious. The showers and bathrooms brand new and clean. The king size bed was amazing. Lobby and the entire are around the hotel was amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivan Y
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Ivan Y, Thank you so much for your review of The Edgewater. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here! We love that we are just a quick hop from everything in downtown Madison. If you're feeling a little more classy and want to enjoy an evening by the Capitol or wanting to be...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 23 September 2016

My wife and I stayed three nights, mix of business and pleasure - including football game. Great location on Lake Mendota with fantastic views. Rooms were spacious. Great food options throughout. Service was terrific.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbuth
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear mbuth, Thank you for your review on your stay here at The Edgewater. I am glad that you had a relaxing time during your three night stay with us and was able to enjoy the football game here at well!! I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all the amenities that our hotel has to...

Tenafly, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 September 2016

It was our 1st official time visiting our freshman daughter at University of Wisconsin--Madison, and while this hotel came highly recommended by "reliable sources," it truly was a great place to stay! We loved the overall ambiance; it's in a convenient location; the room was perfect and the service was also great. We would definitely recommend the Edgewater and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonkon22
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear bonkon22, Thank you for your review on your recent stay here at The Edgewater. First I wanted to congratulate your daughter on such an amazing accomplishment and becoming apart of the Badger family. That aside, I am happy to hear that your friends/family that had recommended The Edgewater for your stay was well used. We can't wait for you...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

My child goes to university of Wisconsin and the Edgewater is our favorite place to stay when we visit. We have been there several times. The view is spectacular. Right on the lake. It is a short walk to the capital area or the campus. Rooms are very clean and nice. Recently on our stay we had issues with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 165vacationmom123
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear 165vacationmom123, Thank you so much for you review on your stay here at The Edgewater. First I'd like to thank you for your many stays here with us, but I will be forwarding this to our management team on how to move forward. I do apologize for any inconvenience and we will work on this for the future. Thank...

213 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.5 km away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.1 km away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
2.2 km away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#9 of 61 in Madison
624 reviews
0.9 km away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Statehouse
The Statehouse
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As Madison's first and only AAA Four Diamond property, The Edgewater is the proud revival of an historic hotel, right on the shores of Lake Mendota, adjacent to the University of Wisconsin and steps from the state Capitol, in the heart of downtown Madison. The restored property maintains the classic facade of its predecessor, now called The Langdon Building, and a new tower, The Wisconsin Building, all with completely new interiors, several restaurants, a magnificent spa, ballrooms, and a large plaza that connects both hotel guests and the public with the beautiful waters of the lake. The hotel has 202 guest rooms, the majority offering gorgeous lake views, including presidential suites and studios with kitchenettes. The Edgewater Spa provides fitness and personal training overlooking Lake Mendota, as well as full service, customized hair, makeup, nail services and relaxing massage. Restaurant options range from The Statehouse for distinctive dining, to The Boathouse, a bar and restaurant in the great Wisconsin tradition of casual waterfront spots, The Icehouse for very casual dining, and The Cafe, for coffee and lighter fare throughout the day. Meeting and banquet facilities range from The Grand Ballroom and Mendota Ballroom, both in the Wisconsin Building, to The Red Crown Club on top of the Langdon Building, offering versatility and spectacular views of Lake Mendota. The Plaza lies at the heart of The Edgewater between The Langdon Building and the Wisconsin Building, almost an acre, open to the public with regularly scheduled outdoor events, concerts and celebrations, converting in winter to a skating rink. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Address: 1001 Wisconsin Place, Madison, WI 53703-1302
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Price Range: $223 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Madison
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Edgewater staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from The Edgewater staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1181 Has outstanding views”
 of 5 bubbles 85bears4life730, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Can't go wrong at this place from what we saw”
 of 5 bubbles dions679, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“any room is good, the lake view king is awesome”
 of 5 bubbles adamf654, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for lake views if available.”
 of 5 bubbles sallyw638, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“choose the lakeview , you won't regret it!”
 of 5 bubbles ganshert2, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5