We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Magnuson Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Magnuson Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 143: English reviews
Start your review of Magnuson Grand Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room is very well-appointed with a microwave refrigerator and coffee maker room is larger than most and is very quiet due to the layout the tub is large the bathroom is excellent everything was very clean the beds were above average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank President o
Ingrid R, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I'm thrilled your visit was such a hit! You can always count on us to provide an accommodating room with a comfortable bed. I really appreciate your support, and if you ever need a place to stay in the future I hope to have you back! All the best, Ingrid, Manager

Monroe, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a little couple's getaway. We chose this hotel because we it was close the casino and it had a whirlpool suite and they gave us $10 per person Rewards Play at the casino per day that we stayed. In the hotel lobby, they had both candles and incense burning. It kind of made me wonder what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tooshortgirl
Ingrid R, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Though I'm glad you enjoyed our location being so close to the casino as well as our whirlpool suite, I wish the rest of your stay was just as big of a hit. I'm so sorry our breakfast let you down. As you mentioned, a few of our breakfast machines were giving us trouble that week, and I apologize if...

Delavan, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great value and location at this value property. The price was exceptional and the room was very clean and comfortable. Two of my favorite room features included the fancy shower head and the comfortable mattress. I also enjoyed the fancy coffee maker and the fact that there was an in room refrigerator and microwave. The morning breakfast was also adequate....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
Ingrid R, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Bill! I am so happy to hear that your stay with us went well. Thank you so much for the feedback! Natasha Stankovich AGM/Sales Coordinator

Sparta, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Super experience. Clean, fresh smelling facility. Room was spacious and spotless. It's a quirk, but the towels matter to me and this hotel has nice thick ones that don't have that burned in the dryer smell that seems to accompany rooms at this rate level. Overall an A= experience. Nearby Road House had very good burgers and more friendly service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
Ingrid R, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gary! I am so happy to hear that your stay with us went well. We definitely hope you return in the future for another fabulous experience. Cornell is one of our most valued employees, and was recently promoted to Front Office Supervisor. We are very lucky to have Cornell, as well as guests like you! Thank you so much...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I recently stayed here for 1 full week an let me tell u I felt like I was at home. The staff was so friendly they went out of their way to tend to my needs. Very clean and professional environment. Hope you are hungry in the morning to because they have a breakfast spread to die for.. pancakes, sausage,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh P
IngridMag, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and time. we're glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment I was greeted walking in the door to check in I felt welcomed. The staff is great. Especially Cornell, he goes above & beyond to be sure every guest leaves with every intention to return in the future. Hotel has been doing a fabulous job with renovations. Great breakfast (pancakes are die for!) Also within walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sammy J
IngridMag, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. we.re glad you enjoyed your stay hope to see you soon

Portage, Wisconsin
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Booked last minute for a night out in Madison. We were impressed by this hotel. Good location off interstate, close to casino. Room was very spacious and clean. Nice Keurig coffee makers was a plus. Morning breakfast was good. Ice cold milk was a plus! It was great coming back to hotel after a nice out and being able to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank burnstad87
Ingrid R, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thrilled you enjoyed your stay! I'm so glad you found your room accommodating and comfortable. Always happy to help a guest out with their needs, even if it means heating up a pizza! Thanks for the kind words, and we look forward to having you back next time you're in town! All the best, Ingrid, Manager

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

You could travel the world staying in hotels every night and I doubt you'd find a worse front desk staff anywhere. The kid working the day shift is the worst I've ever seen and the night girl wasn't much better. This hotel obviously doesn't believe in cash, despite having things for sale, and when I voiced my frustration that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pearl3131
Ingrid R, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Though you enjoyed our location and bed, I'm sorry your customer service experience was not of the same caliber. I expect each and every guest to receive a welcoming and kind attitude from my team, and I'm disappointed we dropped the ball with you. I'll be sure to have a chat with my staff about this. Again, I apologize and...

McHenry, Illinois
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We were guests at your hotel on November 12, 2016. We stayed in Room 217 as part of a wedding party. At check out we mentioned to Anna that the toilet in the room did not work properly. She offered us a 20% discount on our next stay and we said that we wanted a discount on our current stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 444Reviewer
Ingrid R, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I understand your frustration, and I am so sorry it has taken us awhile to get your discount credited to you. I truly apologize for the miscommunication and will do everything I can to speed up the process. As for your book, I'm disappointed you haven't received it yet. I'll double check to make sure it was mailed out to...

Howards Grove
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This is the 4th year we held Our Family Christmas, at the Magnuson Grand Hotel in Madison WI. We were greeted by some new faces. Sherice greeted us as we checked -in and throughout or stay, she checked with us to make sure everything was okay. After checking- in, we met Ward. He assisted us with any needs we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueBobK
Ingrid R, Owner at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Words can't describe how much your feedback means to us. Thank you for noticing all the hard work we've put into our hotel in the last two years. We've always had our guests in mind, and I'm thrilled your experience has continuously improved since. Honored you've stuck with us over the past four Christmas seasons to celebrate with your family....

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
2.7 km away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#32 of 61 in Madison
438 reviews
2.0 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Madison
11.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
10.6 km away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
4.1 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Under new management and new renovations. A complimentary hot breakfast is served early each morning. In addition to indoor pool and hot tub, Magnuson Grand Hotel Madison provides 24-hour fitness room and business center with complimentary fax and copy service. Magnuson Grand Hotel Madison also features conference rooms and party rooms. Flat screen television in lobby. The property has a knowledgeable 24-hour front desk staff eager to help guests with any questions. Wine, champagne and beer available on site until 2am. Many packages available including golf packages and casino packages. Frequent stay program and discounts available upon request. Rate match guarantee program available upon request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel

Address: 3510 Millpond Road, Madison, WI 53718 (Formerly Grand Hotel Madison)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Price Range: $96 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Grand Madison
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay on the top floor if you can”
 of 5 bubbles lognshadow73, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the Cambria Suites for the same price were luxury vs. this abysmal dump.”
 of 5 bubbles 311marij, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles lindalA3112HY, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Staying again this weekend!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles gregoryb327, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Home wood suites is next door and much more modern. Wifi is super slow.”
 of 5 bubbles 346mariej, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5