We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chateau Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

709 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 670: English reviews
Start your review of Chateau Hotel
 Click to rate
Niceville, Florida
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here a couple of times several years ago. We thought we would try it again. WRONG The staff was very good. We arrived about 2:00 PM. Although we knew we could not check in, we were given access to the parking area which was adequate. That was great. Once we checked in and got settled for the night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank floridatraveler376
Chicago
Reviewed 1 week ago

French Quarter location and charming architecture are inviting. Avoid room 236. Environmental concern: seriously dripping shower head. Security issue: weak door lock that had to be slammed to close. Housekeeping situation: towels not consistently replaced. Continental breakfast items not replenished and empty or warm coffee. Bed was comfortable and the hotel is quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dekalbill
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dekalbill, I do apologize for the issues that you had during your stay. I assure you that they will be addressed. Thank you for your feedback. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss further. Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my second stay at the Chateau Hotel in two years, and I was somewhat disappointed. Firstly, don't believe them if they say that there might be a twin room available but that they can't guarantee it. They will give you a room with a single queen bed, no matter what. The bed is hard and so tall I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rita B
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rita B, I sincerely apologize for the unacceptable behavior and poor treatment. This is not the kind of experience we provide our guests. I really would like to discuss further. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so we may discuss further. Thank you for your feedback. I hope to hear from you soon. Regards

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for a week for a conference and stayed a few days afterwards. The location was great as I was travelling alone so I didn't have to walk far alone to get to Bourbon and the surrounding areas. The staff was always helpful. The room and hotel itself is an older building that has been modernized, so if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dayla89
Trisha L, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dayla89, thank you for your feedback. As we have only recently acquired this property there will be some changes to come, but don't worry, we plan to retain the charm and character that you enjoyed but repair the "wear and tear" that comes from a 200+ year old structure. We will welcome your return! Regards,

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there the Saturday before we left on a cruise it just so happened to be Mardi Gras so prices were inflated in the City. It worked fine for what my wife and I needed, The rooms are small and the beds are rock hard but we enjoyed the folks that work there. We also understand that the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregg M
Trisha L, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gregg m, thank you for your feedback. Sorry to read that you found the beds uncomfortable but I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the staff. I certainly agree that the location can't be beat! We look forward to your return, give us a try in the off-season, I'm sure you'll find things a little quieter. Regards,

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really feel sorry to have to give a negative review. In fact, I rarely do so, as I have been fortunate to find great accommodations when I travel. Unfortunately, I cannot say the same for my experience here. I will list the pros and cons. The most positive aspect is the property itself. It's gorgeous, lots of history and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anna V
Trisha L, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anna V, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience with both the front desk and management. This issue is being addressed. Regards,

Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a bit of a let down. Although the courtyard is beautiful there are many updates needed. The first night the bathroom flooded from upstairs. They asked us to pack back up and be ready to move, which we did. Then we were told the leak was fixed so we had to spend more of our vacation time unpacking....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jennifer D
Management response:

Dear JenniferD, thank you for your feedback. Your input is essential as we have only recently acquired this property and are in the process of making improvements. If you were promised a room move I do not understand why you were not moved, the housekeeping issues you mentioned are being addressed. That is a continental breakfast, as opposed to a...

Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I haven't slept in a room this small since I traveled Europe back in the 1980s! The bed is the room with very little space to walk around it. Our room did have balcony access. I think most rooms do. That was nice. The bathroom was roomy, though the shower curtain didn't quite reach the tub, which made a mess....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bucky D
Management response:

Dear Bucky, thank you for your feedback. Yes sir our continental breakfast is just enough to get you going on your day and there are plenty of hot breakfast choices nearby. Not all the rooms have a balcony, you were one of the lucky ones. We certainly look forward to your return! Regards,

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Love the history in this building!!! First and foremost, this is not a brand new building, so expect quirks and expect squeaks, noises, and imperfections in the building! The bed was comfy, the rooms are small, but I wasn't staying here to spend all my day in the room, this was to recharge, and sleep. The courtyard area was quaint,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya R
Management response:

Dear Tanya, thank you for your feedback. Yes indeed this property can be best described as "old world charm" because no it isn't flashy and modern it is quaint and classical. It sounds like that was exactly what you were looking for so we're glad you found your fit and we certainly look forward to your return. Regards,

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 30 January 2017

I booked this hotel for one night while in transit to another location on line where it states, "Credit card or cash deposit required," and I understand this is normal for any hotel. What surprised me, the amount they authorize is $150, almost double for what I paid for the room. The lady behind the check-in desk was extremely nice...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RolandoGomezPhotog
Management response:

Dear RolandoGomezPhotog, thank you for your feedback. Your input is essential as we have only recently acquired this property and are in the process of making improvements. The service you received from the lady is what we expect from all our agents, not what you received from the others. Rest assured, changes are coming. Regards,

509 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (304)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Full Room (23)
Viewed
Standard King Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#105 of 162 in New Orleans
452 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
2,191 reviews
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#87 of 162 in New Orleans
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#122 of 162 in New Orleans
270 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
1,301 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3299
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Price Range: $171 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chateau Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Chateau Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“see review”
 of 5 bubbles dekalbill, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“During Mardi Gras the outside rooms are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 195greggm, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are much better places in the French Quarter. Make sure you don't have an end room like mine as it faces street and is very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles RolandoGomezPhotog, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I'd say call but that didn't do any good.”
 of 5 bubbles bethnov21, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated courtyard room.”
  • Chartres Street from the balcony
 of 5 bubbles 391brucej, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5